How do i play Mari0 with a PS3 controller?

Problems running games? Right in here.
User avatar
RumblezMan
Posts: 153
Joined: 12 Feb 2012, 00:20

Post » 04 Mar 2012, 20:37

My friend wants to play with ps3 controller with me, but we cant "move the sticks" as they asked in 2 player setup in mari0

Maurice
Stabyourself.net
Posts: 2143
Joined: 01 Feb 2012, 20:19

Post » 04 Mar 2012, 22:12

Then your PS3 controller might be connected wrong.
Check in the game pad control of Windows if the stick is properly recognized as an axis.

Camewel
Posts: 2996
Joined: 02 Feb 2012, 21:32

Post » 04 Mar 2012, 22:13

I can confirm PS3 controllers do work fine in Mari0, I got mine working.

Maurice
Stabyourself.net
Posts: 2143
Joined: 01 Feb 2012, 20:19

Post » 04 Mar 2012, 23:01

Yeah me too. Both of them.

User avatar
RumblezMan
Posts: 153
Joined: 12 Feb 2012, 00:20

Post » 04 Mar 2012, 23:59

We got it working, it wasnt broken, just a program error, but you (maurice) should slow down the portal gun "turning" for gamepads

Camewel
Posts: 2996
Joined: 02 Feb 2012, 21:32

Post » 05 Mar 2012, 00:05

I like how you put Maurice in brackets just in case I felt some obligation to jump into action.
He can't slow down the portal gun turning, it turns in whatever direction you move the analog stick.

Maurice
Stabyourself.net
Posts: 2143
Joined: 01 Feb 2012, 20:19

Post » 05 Mar 2012, 00:09

RumblezMan wrote:you should slow down the portal gun "turning" for gamepads
what the hell

User avatar
Raicuparta
Posts: 535
Joined: 04 Feb 2012, 02:07

Post » 05 Mar 2012, 00:27

It doesn't turn, it points to where the analog is pointing.

User avatar
RumblezMan
Posts: 153
Joined: 12 Feb 2012, 00:20

Post » 05 Mar 2012, 01:11

Yeah but its too fast :P test it.
ALSO maurice should add an "reset colors" to player skin

Camewel
Posts: 2996
Joined: 02 Feb 2012, 21:32

Post » 05 Mar 2012, 01:17

Sorry, what do you want it to do?

User avatar
RumblezMan
Posts: 153
Joined: 12 Feb 2012, 00:20

Post » 05 Mar 2012, 01:39

Camewel wrote:Sorry, what do you want it to do?
Reset to defaults button on the character skin edit screen.

Maurice
Stabyourself.net
Posts: 2143
Joined: 01 Feb 2012, 20:19

Post » 05 Mar 2012, 01:58

There's a "reset settings" option that does this, and your argument about joypad aiming is invalid.

TiagoTiago
Posts: 101
Joined: 05 Mar 2012, 07:44

Post » 06 Mar 2012, 16:48

I use Tamamy Ikesu's driver with my DS3, works just fine (WinXP here).

pillowtalk
Posts: 9
Joined: 11 Mar 2012, 21:06

Post » 11 Mar 2012, 21:14

can someone help me?
I cannot get my sixaxsis to work with Windows 7 32bit. I've tried a couple different thing but none work.
I've tried MotionJoy: controller doesn't even show up.

and I've tried this
dl.qj.net/playstation-3/tools-and-utilities/sixaxis-driver-for-pc.html
No go

TiagoTiago
Posts: 101
Joined: 05 Mar 2012, 07:44

Post » 11 Mar 2012, 22:10

Btw, Tamamy's site is http://tamamyikesu.web.fc2.com/ (use somthing like Google's or Yahoo's translator to see what each link means if you can't figure out yourself)

pillowtalk
Posts: 9
Joined: 11 Mar 2012, 21:06

Post » 11 Mar 2012, 23:02

Tamamy's driver seem to only be for Vista. or can I use them with 7

TiagoTiago
Posts: 101
Joined: 05 Mar 2012, 07:44

Post » 11 Mar 2012, 23:10

I'm using them on WinXP; dunno about 7, sorry

pillowtalk
Posts: 9
Joined: 11 Mar 2012, 21:06

Post » 12 Mar 2012, 00:15

thanks for trying. I'll just need to keep looking, I guess

TiagoTiago
Posts: 101
Joined: 05 Mar 2012, 07:44

Post » 12 Mar 2012, 01:33

Are you sure it won't work on Win7? Even if you use that virtual XP mode thing?

pillowtalk
Posts: 9
Joined: 11 Mar 2012, 21:06

Post » 12 Mar 2012, 02:10

well, I gave it a go. but I don't really know what I'm doing. the read me file say to "choose a thing call USB\VID_054C&PID_0268"

Code: Select all

 Connect SIXAXIS/DUALSHOCK3 Controller to USB port.
   - Select 'USB Human Interface Device' from Device Manager.
     At this time, choose a thing including 'USB\VID_054C&PID_0268' as
     Device Instance ID of Details tab of Properties.
problem is I can't find such a thing "USB\VID_054C&PID_0268"

is any of the familiar to you?

TiagoTiago
Posts: 101
Joined: 05 Mar 2012, 07:44

Post » 12 Mar 2012, 02:17

I think it means you should select the device with that VID and PID in the Device Manager to change that thing's driver

pillowtalk
Posts: 9
Joined: 11 Mar 2012, 21:06

Post » 12 Mar 2012, 03:11

there were only one with "HID compliant game controller" and "usb input device.

pillowtalk
Posts: 9
Joined: 11 Mar 2012, 21:06

Post » 12 Mar 2012, 03:13

I went with the HID controller. but Widows doesn't seem to like that the driver lacks a digital signature. I could disable the signature enforcement, but I'm not sure I should

TiagoTiago
Posts: 101
Joined: 05 Mar 2012, 07:44

Post » 12 Mar 2012, 03:23

The thing with the signature is developers need to pay big bucks to M$ to have their drivers signed; so hobbyists are left with either being rich or releasing unsigned drivers.

pillowtalk
Posts: 9
Joined: 11 Mar 2012, 21:06

Post » 12 Mar 2012, 04:52

so I disabled the signature enforcement. click through both warnings. and still got a message saying something went a muck. I still get the little yellow sign and my PS3 controller doesn't even show up in "game controllers" as it did earlier

Image Image

TiagoTiago
Posts: 101
Joined: 05 Mar 2012, 07:44

Post » 12 Mar 2012, 05:00

Which files did you download? In the page it does say it works with Win7...

pillowtalk
Posts: 9
Joined: 11 Mar 2012, 21:06

Post » 12 Mar 2012, 05:05

ds3drv_dx_1.04.1.17
SIXAXIS / DUALSHOCK3 Device Driver DX version 1.4.1.17 (32bit Windows XP / Server 2003 / Vista / 7 / (x64))
I'm also a bit lost as to why it says it for 32bit, then says x64. as opposed to x86

I got and tried a driver from a playstation site(likely from the same source) that seems to have the same problem

TiagoTiago
Posts: 101
Joined: 05 Mar 2012, 07:44

Post » 12 Mar 2012, 06:22

Are you sure you selected the right device in device manager, the VID and PID match? And are you sure you completly disabled the signature checks and things like that? (i think there is somthing called "testing mode" on Win7 that bypasses the need for signature, not sure; i don't really got much experience with Win7)


The guy is Japanese, perhaps over there they just call it 32bits; and the order there is probably not all that important, IMO it looks like he meant it works both on 32 and in 64 bits

pillowtalk
Posts: 9
Joined: 11 Mar 2012, 21:06

Post » 12 Mar 2012, 16:32

I think it's the right one. it's appears only when the controller is plugged in, and disappears when disconnected

I believe your talking about temporary disabling of signature enforcement, by pressing F8 during booting. I might try that tonight. I disabled it semi-permanently through 'command prompt'(run as administrator). I did get a new warning when trying to install after doing so. I believe it was something this, which didn't even show up before disable
Image