Super Mario Bros. X (Share Levels, too!)

If it doesn't fit elsewhere, it should go here
User avatar
renhoek
Posts: 4545
Joined: 11 Feb 2012, 10:04

Post » 28 Jun 2012, 09:54

the problem is I live in Australia so most of the time everyone is either in bed or just waking up as I'm doing stuff in the middle of the day, I didn't have much patience I gave an hour and no one joined (I assumed that no one cared because no one commented) on Saturday I'll leave the server on all day to try and figure out a good time.

time can be a bitch sometimes.

User avatar
TurretBot
Posts: 4396
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18

Post » 28 Jun 2012, 18:17

LightningFire wrote:About the graphic pack...... well...... could use a little bit more effort?
Well, I use motherbucking paint, so it's not the effort that's bad.
All colors but Black and White get pixeled horrible when you make gifs with paint.
Also protip time:
• You can trick your computer into thinking a png is a gif, but not SMBX.
• Animated gifs don't work, SMBX will only show the first frame.

User avatar
idiot9.0
Posts: 1707
Joined: 09 Mar 2012, 10:28

Post » 28 Jun 2012, 21:57

Turret Opera wrote:Well, I use motherbucking paint.
And this sentence alone is your main problem. Paint is not good for this kind of stuff. Get gimp or paint.net or another free alternative.

User avatar
TurretBot
Posts: 4396
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18

Post » 28 Jun 2012, 22:17

{yuno.omfg}
I cant use either of those!
- GIMP crashes on start. (rules out gimp)
- I'm not an administrator. (rules out paint.net pretty much everything else)
Last edited by TurretBot on 17 Sep 2012, 22:22, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
idiot9.0
Posts: 1707
Joined: 09 Mar 2012, 10:28

Post » 28 Jun 2012, 22:19

Then just ask the administrator to install it for you. If they won't you're pretty much Shit outta luck.

User avatar
TurretBot
Posts: 4396
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18

Post » 28 Jun 2012, 22:39

Exactly
I'm pretty much poop out of luck.

User avatar
renhoek
Posts: 4545
Joined: 11 Feb 2012, 10:04

Post » 29 Jun 2012, 10:50

I'm normally lazy when I was editing graphics so I just used the palette of a block I could get my grubby little hands on.

User avatar
renhoek
Posts: 4545
Joined: 11 Feb 2012, 10:04

Post » 30 Jun 2012, 02:21

okay the server's going to be on all day,
it won't all ways be this long because this is just a test to see when people can join.
check the previous page.

EDIT: I couldn't handle it
I had one person come on spam stuff and wander why it was lagging.
a few hours later someone else joined did the same (except never talked)
if you guys can't be responsible I'm not going to host the server.

User avatar
TurretBot
Posts: 4396
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18

Post » 30 Jun 2012, 03:58

SMBX wrote:Connecting to 203.59.104.25 on port 25566.
Anonymous has connected.
<Anonymous> Hello?
<Anonymous> Ren?
<Renhoek> hello
<Anonymous> Turret Opera...
<Anonymous> Never used online before
<Renhoek> sorry I had to dissable sound because of lag so I can't hear anything when the message goes up
<Renhoek> oh damn... Didn't think anyone would pick luigi
<Anonymous> I can hear stuff when the message goes up
You have disconnected.
Connecting to 203.59.104.25 on port 25566.
TurretOpera has connected.
<TurretOpera> there we go!
<Renhoek> I get auto kicked when no one's on the level.
<TurretOpera> hey guess what
<Renhoek> I'm wandering if people can join while we're in game?
<TurretOpera> cheats work in the editor
<TurretOpera> but im not sure if they do in online
<TurretOpera> O.o
<Renhoek> just click the tabs on the bottom
<Renhoek> I always forget how to do that.
<TurretOpera> me cant edit...?
Renhoek has loaded lobby.lvl.
<Renhoek> you can.
<Renhoek> just remember to remove the lakitu once you spawn next time :P
<TurretOpera> (slow message board, sorry) Probably
<Renhoek> no it's because I live in australia and the server's australian based
You have timed out.
Connecting to 203.59.104.25 on port 25566.
TurretOpera has connected.
You have timed out.
Connecting to 203.59.104.25 on port 25566.
TurretOpera has connected.
<TurretOpera> what happened?
<TurretOpera> i disconnected
<TurretOpera> hey the message board works!
<TurretOpera> (properly)
<Renhoek> hey
<TurretOpera> hello!
Renhoek has loaded level1.lvl.
<Renhoek> npcs spawwn on my screen.
Renhoek has loaded level1.lvl.
Renhoek has loaded level1.lvl.
<TurretOpera> oh, sorry '3'
<TurretOpera> dangit chat borke
<Renhoek> ?
<TurretOpera> broke*
Renhoek has loaded level1.lvl.
<TurretOpera> trololololololololo
Renhoek has loaded level1.lvl.
<Renhoek> are you spawning at all?
Renhoek has loaded level1.lvl.
Renhoek has loaded dungeon1.lvl.
Renhoek has loaded dungeon1.lvl.
<Renhoek> wtf?
<TurretOpera> the game broke too
<Renhoek> I'll try the lobby<Renhoek> try reconnecting?
<TurretOpera> but the game is glitchy and npcs that i plae dont spawn
You have disconnected.
Connecting to 203.59.104.25 on port 25566.
You have disconnected.
Connecting to 203.59.104.25 on port 25566.
Last edited by TurretBot on 29 Dec 2012, 19:46, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
renhoek
Posts: 4545
Joined: 11 Feb 2012, 10:04

Post » 30 Jun 2012, 04:03

Turret Opera wrote:From my side...Yours, Ren?
Anyway, the game is very glitchy and NPCs i place dont spawn. T3T
(ps im also anonymous for whoever didnt know)
I told you repeatedly that npcs only spawn on my screen,
plus I saw your name when someone else joined and lagged the server.

I don't really want to do this because I constantly have to be on and if everyone's just gonna spam shit I quit.

User avatar
rokit
Posts: 2095
Joined: 03 Feb 2012, 00:47

Post » 30 Jun 2012, 04:18

is server up?
I'm connecting right now, takinjg ages

DiamondPhoenix
Posts: 107
Joined: 04 Mar 2012, 05:35

Post » 30 Jun 2012, 04:22

I apologize for lagging the server, i just wanted to try this feature out... and i am quite far from the router, but i didnt know it would lag this much, i mean, web pages and videos still loads pretty fast.
I tried to end this, but it would not close until a few minutes after i kept spamming the disconnect button. (i was one of the anonymous, that one that didnt talk.)

Again, sorry, i hope i didnt fuck up something... :P

User avatar
renhoek
Posts: 4545
Joined: 11 Feb 2012, 10:04

Post » 30 Jun 2012, 04:37

I'll start the server again then.

DiamondPhoenix
Posts: 107
Joined: 04 Mar 2012, 05:35

Post » 30 Jun 2012, 22:04

Guys, i have a question...
Can you tell me where all of your SMBX graphics folder are located?

Mine is in the SMBX folder in My Documents.

Of course, i know it will always be on the SMBX folder, but tell me where THAT folder is:
My folder is in My Documents.

If you cant find it anywhere, then check somewhere in the %appdata%.

Also, make sure you are using version 1.3 of SMBX, not anything older!
I would really appreciate it! And it will be worth it if you want to make custm graphics easier and WAY faster!
To know what i am talking about, look here for the program i am making. (link to my post in the first page of this topic)

EDIT: TIP: if you have a shortcut of SMBX on your desktop, rightclick on it, and click "Open containing Folder" or "Open file location"...
Please note that it might not say this in english, i just translated this from french... "Ouvrir l'emplacement du fichier"

User avatar
renhoek
Posts: 4545
Joined: 11 Feb 2012, 10:04

Post » 01 Jul 2012, 02:21

did you check the "worlds" folder and click on one of the pre made worlds?

User avatar
renhoek
Posts: 4545
Joined: 11 Feb 2012, 10:04

Post » 07 Sep 2012, 13:39

*bump of the centuary*

I've recently gotten back into smbx level making but I keep getting lag spikes whenever a sound is played.
Can anyone help me here? It get's extreamly annoying.

DiamondPhoenix
Posts: 107
Joined: 04 Mar 2012, 05:35

Post » 08 Sep 2012, 04:34

Yeah, get a better computer.

Is it doing the same thing if a music is currently playing? Because when no music plays, and i jump, each time i just it pauses a tiny bit. if i got music then it doesnt.

User avatar
renhoek
Posts: 4545
Joined: 11 Feb 2012, 10:04

Post » 08 Sep 2012, 05:22

if I mute it, it doesn't lag at all.

User avatar
BobTheLawyer
Posts: 2232
Joined: 01 May 2012, 21:00

Post » 16 Oct 2012, 01:45

I just got this game.
It is amazing!
Is it easy to do online play?

User avatar
LightningFire
Posts: 1829
Joined: 10 Mar 2012, 17:24

Post » 16 Oct 2012, 01:48

Not really. Also, please don't bump a month old thread again.

User avatar
BobTheLawyer
Posts: 2232
Joined: 01 May 2012, 21:00

Post » 16 Oct 2012, 01:51

Well, I guess I wasn't really trying to bump it... I am just really interested. Anyways, if I figure multiplayer out, I'd like to try it with someone...

User avatar
LightningFire
Posts: 1829
Joined: 10 Mar 2012, 17:24

Post » 16 Oct 2012, 01:56

I would play with you if I could. Bet you're really good at playing.

User avatar
BobTheLawyer
Posts: 2232
Joined: 01 May 2012, 21:00

Post » 16 Oct 2012, 03:04

LightningFire wrote:I would play with you if I could. Bet you're really good at playing.
I am not that great...
I just play casually.
The only Mario skills I have are from playing Mari0 (Before that, I was a lot worse...)

EDIT: Can't you play? I thought you got that laptop back...

User avatar
TurretBot
Posts: 4396
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18

Post » 16 Oct 2012, 21:48

I can play, just have to find a download somewhere.

User avatar
BobTheLawyer
Posts: 2232
Joined: 01 May 2012, 21:00

Post » 17 Oct 2012, 00:23

Turret Opera wrote:I can play, just have to find a download somewhere.
http://www.mtsapd.com/smbx-game-download

User avatar
Mari064
Posts: 156
Joined: 15 Jul 2012, 18:40

Post » 18 Oct 2012, 00:46

i am screwed i cant load the game...

User avatar
BobTheLawyer
Posts: 2232
Joined: 01 May 2012, 21:00

Post » 18 Oct 2012, 03:06

It takes a while to load on any computer (unless you have some over the top, fast computer)
I would give it 5 min if you have a slow computer. If it still doesn't load, yeah, you are in trouble.

User avatar
Mari064
Posts: 156
Joined: 15 Jul 2012, 18:40

Post » 18 Oct 2012, 13:26

Ok well it turned white and stopped responding

User avatar
BobTheLawyer
Posts: 2232
Joined: 01 May 2012, 21:00

Post » 18 Oct 2012, 20:45

Oh.
Get a better computer.

User avatar
eraykaan
Posts: 144
Joined: 12 Feb 2012, 15:54

Post » 21 Oct 2012, 12:49

i dont have smbX. where can i download it?

User avatar
Jorichi
Moderator
Posts: 964
Joined: 11 Feb 2012, 02:08

Post » 21 Oct 2012, 12:53

http://www.mtsapd.com/ If I'm not mistaking.

User avatar
Legend_of_Kirby
Posts: 748
Joined: 14 Oct 2012, 05:37

Post » 23 Nov 2012, 05:11

Ive heard of this game but sadly i'm a macintosh User can't play. Any suggestion on how i could run this on mac?

User avatar
TheJonyMyster
Posts: 1795
Joined: 03 Sep 2012, 05:12

Post » 23 Nov 2012, 06:21

Get a pc emulator. BTW: I couldn't play this back when I had a PC!

User avatar
BobTheLawyer
Posts: 2232
Joined: 01 May 2012, 21:00

Post » 25 Nov 2012, 02:45

TheJonyMyster wrote:Get a pc emulator. BTW: I couldn't play this back when I had a PC!
Wine cost money.
Sorry...
I don't think you can do it free...

Get linux. They have free emulators.

User avatar
TheSeek
Posts: 486
Joined: 21 Mar 2012, 06:31

Post » 25 Nov 2012, 04:27

BobTheLawyer wrote: Wine cost money.
Sorry...
I don't think you can do it free...
Wine is absolutely free, i dunno where you read it's not.
Also, he could use a Virtual Machine like VirtualBox, which is also free.
BobTheLawyer wrote: Get linux. They have free emulators.
there are very few commercial emulators, most of them are free for any OS, not just Linux.

User avatar
BobTheLawyer
Posts: 2232
Joined: 01 May 2012, 21:00

Post » 25 Nov 2012, 15:40

Wine isn't free on Mac...
At least not when I checked...

User avatar
Legend_of_Kirby
Posts: 748
Joined: 14 Oct 2012, 05:37

Post » 25 Nov 2012, 16:12

0_0 Ummm I found a way to port it but whatever

User avatar
TheSeek
Posts: 486
Joined: 21 Mar 2012, 06:31

Post » 26 Nov 2012, 00:03

BobTheLawyer wrote:Wine isn't free on Mac...
At least not when I checked...
from the wiki of the official Wine site: "Wine enables Linux, Mac, FreeBSD, and Solaris users to run Windows applications without a copy of Microsoft Windows. Wine is free software under constant development. Other platforms may benefit as well."

User avatar
BobTheLawyer
Posts: 2232
Joined: 01 May 2012, 21:00

Post » 26 Nov 2012, 01:24

Hmmm...
That isn't what the comments on a youtube video about it said...

User avatar
TheSeek
Posts: 486
Joined: 21 Mar 2012, 06:31

Post » 26 Nov 2012, 03:11

Well, I'd trust the official Wine site rather than the comments about it on youtube...

User avatar
TheJonyMyster
Posts: 1795
Joined: 03 Sep 2012, 05:12

Post » 02 Dec 2012, 08:40

Well I use VMware fusion, But I don't drink wine.
(I know, I know)

User avatar
BobTheLawyer
Posts: 2232
Joined: 01 May 2012, 21:00

Post » 05 Dec 2012, 21:55

Does anyone know where I can find the Red Kuribo's Shoe in The Invasion 2? (without cheating)

User avatar
Mariobros2
Posts: 293
Joined: 03 May 2012, 20:10

Post » 05 Dec 2012, 22:40

BobTheLawyer wrote:Does anyone know where I can find the Red Kuribo's Shoe in The Invasion 2? (without cheating)
If I remeber correctly, it's in one of the first levels in the desert world before the pyramid.

User avatar
Mari0Maker
Posts: 1346
Joined: 07 Apr 2012, 17:10

Post » 06 Dec 2012, 00:16

Where can I download the first Invasion? Or is there not even a first Invasion... :P

User avatar
Firaga
Posts: 931
Joined: 02 Jul 2012, 16:05

Post » 06 Dec 2012, 01:03

I played this game, and I must say - coming from someone who plays Terraria on a regular basis - this game is pretty good. Andrew sure seems to like pixely games. Though, it's either me sucking at games or I can't beat the 2nd castle.

User avatar
HuperHardBros
PERMABANNED
Posts: 34
Joined: 09 Dec 2012, 04:31

Post » 10 Dec 2012, 23:59

this is blah get away we play mari0

User avatar
renhoek
Posts: 4545
Joined: 11 Feb 2012, 10:04

Post » 11 Dec 2012, 00:02

HuperHardBros wrote:this is blah get away we play mari0
Well that post didn't make you seem like a jerk at all.

User avatar
Legend_of_Kirby
Posts: 748
Joined: 14 Oct 2012, 05:37

Post » 17 Dec 2012, 05:34

HuperHardBros wrote:this is blah get away we play mari0
Anyone else have this dude on the FOES list?

User avatar
BobTheLawyer
Posts: 2232
Joined: 01 May 2012, 21:00

Post » 17 Dec 2012, 13:59

I don't use my foes list. I want to be able to see everyone's post. Even TO has his good post, this guy could too.

User avatar
TurretBot
Posts: 4396
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18

Post » 17 Dec 2012, 14:30

BobTheLawyer wrote:TO has his good post.
just one? >=(