Streaming game development: https://www.twitch.tv/stabyourself Image

Mari0 SE Beta

TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4690
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 719
Contact:

Post » 23 Jan 2014, 06:28

TripleXero wrote:Know it's been done before, but now there's more possibilities.

I think you mean it's actually remotely possible now.
EDIT: I hatte quotes
Last edited by TurretBot on 23 Jan 2014, 22:51, edited 1 time in total.

alesan99
User avatar
Posts: 1682
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Reputation: 319
Contact:

Post » 23 Jan 2014, 14:40

I'm finishing the characters.
So far I finished luigi, he has changeable colors (luigi colors are default), portal gun and no portal gun sprites, big and small sprites, and hat offsets are working.
I believe this is why Maurice didn't finish them, they take a long time.

I'm just posting this so someone doesn't finish luigi because I already did.
I'll post the sprites once I get more done.

Jackostar10000
User avatar
Posts: 417
Joined: 17 Jun 2012, 12:06
Reputation: 17

Post » 23 Jan 2014, 15:40

TripleXero wrote:You could try to make a background image that has numbers every 16px. Also, I don't get how to set up animated tiles. I have an image of four frames all with properties and such, and a .txt file with the name name as the image that contains "0.12,0.12,0.12,0.12" and nothing is showing up. Help please?

You sound like my math teacher.

renhoek
User avatar
Posts: 4559
Joined: 11 Feb 2012, 10:04
Reputation: 215

Post » 23 Jan 2014, 15:54

Jackostar10000 wrote:
TripleXero wrote:You could try to make a background image that has numbers every 16px. Also, I don't get how to set up animated tiles. I have an image of four frames all with properties and such, and a .txt file with the name name as the image that contains "0.12,0.12,0.12,0.12" and nothing is showing up. Help please?

You sound like my math teacher.

You're math teacher doesn't do math and asks you for help?

OrbitalBlueprint
User avatar
Posts: 601
Joined: 08 Sep 2013, 20:11
Reputation: 309
Contact:

Post » 23 Jan 2014, 16:16



I made a small little chamber here demonstrating three things you can do with Mari0 SE.

1. The Cube Dispenser is actually dispensing hammers.
2. With animated tiles I've created panels which rise from the goo.
3. You can edit in-game textures.

HansAgain
User avatar
Posts: 1135
Joined: 03 Feb 2012, 18:51
Reputation: 266
Contact:

Post » 23 Jan 2014, 16:20

alesan99 wrote:I'm finishing the characters.
So far I finished luigi, he has changeable colors (luigi colors are default), portal gun and no portal gun sprites, big and small sprites, and hat offsets are working.
I believe this is why Maurice didn't finish them, they take a long time.

I'm just posting this so someone doesn't finish luigi because I already did.
I'll post the sprites once I get more done.


I hope you only did the nogun sprites, because i already did the big sprites (with the portal gun), and honestly i don't want that he haves another big sprite than this:
Hans1998 wrote:Luigi whit the original colors:
Image
and big Luigi:
Image


If you didn't read it, i understand why, the last post of that thread was in 2012.
Here the link.

PS: anything i said in that thread and i didn't did, it's in the past.

Jackostar10000
User avatar
Posts: 417
Joined: 17 Jun 2012, 12:06
Reputation: 17

Post » 23 Jan 2014, 17:29

renhoek wrote:
Jackostar10000 wrote:
TripleXero wrote:You could try to make a background image that has numbers every 16px. Also, I don't get how to set up animated tiles. I have an image of four frames all with properties and such, and a .txt file with the name name as the image that contains "0.12,0.12,0.12,0.12" and nothing is showing up. Help please?

You sound like my math teacher.

You're math teacher doesn't do math and asks you for help?

The FIRST sentence. :/

ChrisGin
User avatar
Posts: 208
Joined: 24 Mar 2013, 06:52
Reputation: 1
Contact:

Post » 23 Jan 2014, 18:13

So will somebody do atlas and p-body as characters?

HansAgain
User avatar
Posts: 1135
Joined: 03 Feb 2012, 18:51
Reputation: 266
Contact:

Post » 23 Jan 2014, 19:29

ChrisGin wrote:So will somebody do atlas and p-body as characters?

If someone does it, won't be me.

Maurice, the lifetime of the gel is too short. I think you should make something like stops the gel spawning when there is a certain quantity of gel (from that gel dispenser) in the screen, and do the gel an ETERNAL AND INMORTAL THING (i mean, it doesn't dispear until touching a wall).
This will be useful in test where you have to transport gel using excursion funnels.

EDIT: Also, OH GOD HE MADE IT POSSIBLE, YOU CAN PUT GEL ON LIGHTBRIDGES!
EDIT2: Sadly, they only work horizontal lightbridges (the upper part only).

OrbitalBlueprint
User avatar
Posts: 601
Joined: 08 Sep 2013, 20:11
Reputation: 309
Contact:

Post » 23 Jan 2014, 19:49

Hans1998 wrote:EDIT2: Sadly, they only work horizontal lightbridges (the upper part only).

No, it depends on how the gel lands on the hard light bridge.

EDIT: Weeee

Image

This goes on forever and ever and ever and ever and...

I'm sure you get the point.

cbailey78
Posts: 27
Joined: 12 Sep 2012, 18:11
Reputation: 0

Post » 23 Jan 2014, 22:45

Hey Maurice, I am very glad that SE has been finally released! CONGRATULATIONS for your time and hard work into making this happen! Everybody is very excited to see you finally release the SE Beta. Here is a question, Are you gonna add the essential mods of Bob's Better Editor, Infinite Worlds and Square Screen? That would be awesome.

Keep up the great work, MAURICE!!!

Superjustinbros
User avatar
Posts: 2101
Joined: 29 Mar 2012, 20:39
Reputation: 133
Contact:

Post » 23 Jan 2014, 22:57

This is a beta, It's not the final release. And it's still littered with bugs and other things. Transitioning from the 1.6 editor that has Better Editor, Bob's Better Editor, and Infinite Worlds/Sublevels in play is a huge step downwards for me. I keep having the urge to hit Ctrl all the time since all those addons were very beneficial to making levels.

TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4690
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 719
Contact:

Post » 23 Jan 2014, 22:59

Didn't Maurice say he added the better editor to SE?

Superjustinbros
User avatar
Posts: 2101
Joined: 29 Mar 2012, 20:39
Reputation: 133
Contact:

Post » 23 Jan 2014, 23:18

TurretBot wrote:Didn't Maurice say he added the better editor to SE?

From the looks of it, no. Even on Macs where the Control key doesn't bring up the console.

alesan99
User avatar
Posts: 1682
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Reputation: 319
Contact:

Post » 23 Jan 2014, 23:27

Hans1998 wrote:I hope you only did the nogun sprites, because i already did the big sprites (with the portal gun), and honestly i don't want that he haves another big sprite than this:

I used your sprites (I knew where they were because I read almost every thread) and I made no gun sprites.

EDIT: Here's the completed luigi https://www.dropbox.com/s/0ahiptyhswyh7qf/luigi.zip
It has changeable colors and everythimg.
Sprites by hans
I did this so luigi could be finished, so I'd appreciate it if this gets put into SE.

TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4690
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 719
Contact:

Post » 24 Jan 2014, 00:16

Superjustinbros wrote:
TurretBot wrote:Didn't Maurice say he added the better editor to SE?

From the looks of it, no. Even on Macs where the Control key doesn't bring up the console.

I know he didn't, but I think he said he did.

TheSeek
User avatar
Posts: 486
Joined: 21 Mar 2012, 06:31
Reputation: 8

Post » 24 Jan 2014, 00:24

alesan99 wrote:EDIT: Here's the completed luigi https://www.dropbox.com/s/0ahiptyhswyh7qf/luigi.zip
It has changeable colors and everythimg.
Sprites by hans
I did this so luigi could be finished, so I'd appreciate it if this gets put into SE.

Maybe it's asking too much, but...would you mind doing some sort of small documentation about creating characters, so that even people who, like MM102 said,
MM102 wrote:have no idea what:
smalloffset is,
smallquadcenter is,
shrinkquadcenter is,
shrinkquadcenterY2 is,
shrinkoffset is,
growquadcenter is,and
duckquadcenter is

can create character easily?
I know you said to look at the files of existing characters to learn, but for people with little to zero knowledge about coding(like me) it's still hard to get what everything means and how to set it properly.

TripleXero
User avatar
Posts: 892
Joined: 08 Aug 2012, 00:23
Reputation: 27
Contact:

Post » 24 Jan 2014, 00:38

Does the scroll to Y work? I'm trying to lock the scrolling until Mario gets to a certain height and make it return all the way to the bottom when below that height and can't get it

alesan99
User avatar
Posts: 1682
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Reputation: 319
Contact:

Post » 24 Jan 2014, 00:59

TheSeek wrote:I know you said to look at the files of existing characters to learn, but for people with little to zero knowledge about coding(like me) it's still hard to get what everything means and how to set it properly.

OK
Custom Character Guide
In LOVE/mario_se make a folder named characters.
In that folder you make another folder. Name it what your character will be named.
Inside it make a .txt named "config", I'll tell you what to put inside it later.
Images
    NOTE: This will NOT tell you how to draw your character, look in the game's files for help.
    First, here are the things you will need, small sprites of you character and big sprites.
    Option 1
    Name your small sprite sheet "animations" and name your big sprite sheet "biganimations"
    That's it
    If you want to have no portal gun sprites then put 2 more images named the same as before with "nogun" at the beginning.
    Option 2
    If you want to get fancy and make the colors changeable grab your sprites and separate each color (Look in the game files for help) and recolor it to white then make a image with only the portal gun.
    Name the files like you do in option 1 but you put a number at the end of the name (0 is the portal gun).
    Now, you should know that the dot in your portal gun changes depending on what your portal color is. Make an image with only the portal gun dot and name it what you named the other files (without the number of course) and put "dot" at the end.
    You do the same for the no portal gun sprites but without the portal gun stuff.
Config.txt
    I'll just list all the things I found and tell you what the heck they are
    "colorables": [] things you can change color (EX: "hat", "hair", "skin"), don't put this if you didn't pick option 2
    "defaulthat": 1 the hat that is chosen for the character by default
    "defaultcolors": [] the colors the character has by default, you have to define it for all four player. Don't put this if you didn't pick option 2
    "smalloffsetX": 6 How much the image is moved in the x axis (for small)
    "smalloffsetY": 3 How much the image is move in the y axis (for small)
    "smallquadcenterX": 11 x center of the character's image, divide the frame width by 2 to find this (for small)
    "smallquadcenterY": 10 y center of the character's image, divide the frame height by 2 to find this (for small)
    "shrinkquadcenterX": 9
    "shrinkquadcenterY": 32
    "shrinkoffsetY": -3
    "shrinkquadcenterY2": 16
    "growquadcenterY": 4
    "growquadcenterY2": -2
    "duckquadcenterY": 22
    "duckoffsetY": 7
    "runframes": 3 How many run/walk frames your character has.
    "jumpframes": 1 How many jump frames your character has
    "customframes": 3 I have no idea what this is
    "smallquadwidth": 20 The width of all the frames
    "smallquadheight": 20 The height of all the frames
    "smallimgwidth": 240 Width of the entire image
    "smallimgheight": 80 Height of the entire image
    "bigquadcenterY": 20 These are the same but for the big form
    "bigquadcenterX": 9
    "bigoffsetY": -3
    "bigoffsetX": 6
    "bigquadwidth": 20
    "bigquadheight": 36
    "bigimgwidth": 240
    "bigimgheight": 144
    "hatoffsets": {} How much hats are moved
    "bighatoffsets": {} same as above, for big form
    Look in the game files for layout help
I'm so tired
Last edited by alesan99 on 24 Jan 2014, 03:14, edited 1 time in total.

Maurice
Stabyourself.net
Posts: 2142
Joined: 01 Feb 2012, 20:19
Reputation: 103

Post » 24 Jan 2014, 02:05

TurretBot wrote:
Superjustinbros wrote:
TurretBot wrote:Didn't Maurice say he added the better editor to SE?

From the looks of it, no. Even on Macs where the Control key doesn't bring up the console.

I know he didn't, but I think he said he did.

Stop spreading lies.

TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4690
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 719
Contact:

Post » 24 Jan 2014, 02:40

Okay, I went to the BLE thread, here's what I found:
pbalazs wrote:4. I won't work on this mod anymore, sorry. The best features will be included in SE.

MM102
User avatar
Posts: 1015
Joined: 11 May 2012, 06:08
Reputation: 498

Post » 24 Jan 2014, 03:07

@alesan99
which ones are required?

alesan99
User avatar
Posts: 1682
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Reputation: 319
Contact:

Post » 24 Jan 2014, 03:13

You need all of them.
If you didn't choose option 2 then you don't need to put the ones related to colors.

MM102
User avatar
Posts: 1015
Joined: 11 May 2012, 06:08
Reputation: 498

Post » 24 Jan 2014, 05:17

Image

Maurice
Stabyourself.net
Posts: 2142
Joined: 01 Feb 2012, 20:19
Reputation: 103

Post » 24 Jan 2014, 13:52

TurretBot wrote:Okay, I went to the BLE thread, here's what I found:
pbalazs wrote:4. I won't work on this mod anymore, sorry. The best features will be included in SE.

I offered that he'd work on the editor in SE.
Then he disappeared.

Turtley3
User avatar
Posts: 651
Joined: 28 Mar 2013, 16:16
Reputation: 22

Post » 24 Jan 2014, 16:15

Congrats to Maurice having 2004 posts!

On topic: There isn't anything about the Better Level Editor.......

Maurice
Stabyourself.net
Posts: 2142
Joined: 01 Feb 2012, 20:19
Reputation: 103

Post » 24 Jan 2014, 18:08

I couldn't give less fucks about my postcount and your attempt to be "On topic" is laughable at best.

I'm gonna add some of the features of the "better" level editor that I find good and then I'm going to remove 1 feature every time someone complains about something missing.

MM102
User avatar
Posts: 1015
Joined: 11 May 2012, 06:08
Reputation: 498

Post » 24 Jan 2014, 18:17

Image
For Flutter Skye

chrdov
User avatar
Posts: 2
Joined: 24 Jan 2014, 18:15
Reputation: 0

Post » 24 Jan 2014, 18:39

How would I open the game in command line form since I can't open it by double clicking it, and it does not show up in the list even when I select love.exe in the "Open with" Option?

Maurice
Stabyourself.net
Posts: 2142
Joined: 01 Feb 2012, 20:19
Reputation: 103

Post » 24 Jan 2014, 19:00

love.exe "C:\Whatever\you\want.love"

Mari0Maker
User avatar
Posts: 1347
Joined: 07 Apr 2012, 17:10
Reputation: 39
Contact:

Post » 24 Jan 2014, 19:41

MM102 wrote:Image

MM102 wrote:Image
For Flutter Skye

Apparently I didn't think about clicking the link to see these were custom characters.
Anyways, they look really good, MM102. Nice job!

Superjustinbros
User avatar
Posts: 2101
Joined: 29 Mar 2012, 20:39
Reputation: 133
Contact:

Post » 24 Jan 2014, 19:54

One feature of the Better Editor I really enjoyed was selecting multiple tiles by holding Control and highlighting over a group of tiles (it even works while scrolling the screen with the arrow keys), complete with Cut/Copy/Paste/Delete commands. As it stands so far, you can select multiple entities, but that's about it.

When editing tiles, holding Control then dragging the cursor would select tiles, but when editing entities, it'd select entities instead. Ctrl+A would select every tile or entity currently in the level, Ctrl+S would save the current selection of tiles to a "objects.txt" file ala the Better Editor where they could be called up later, and finally Ctrl+Z would be the undo (while Ctrl+Y is redo).

The mouse wheel should still scroll through available tiles/ententies (with the Q key swapping between the two) and the entity deletion tool could be on the enemy palette to save a bit of time flipping between the entity and enemy tabs.

Hopefully once SE nears completion the editor won't be able to eat up so much memory to the point where it slows down on my current Macintosh (which is a five-year-old OS that could run 1.6's editor with no major problems).

shotgiy12
User avatar
Posts: 49
Joined: 09 Jan 2014, 00:12
Reputation: 0

Post » 24 Jan 2014, 22:23

i made custom charitar does is workz
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/vrhojuug1j95psr/GG__hoiRKg

Mari0Maker
User avatar
Posts: 1347
Joined: 07 Apr 2012, 17:10
Reputation: 39
Contact:

Post » 24 Jan 2014, 22:25

shotgiy12 wrote:i made custom charitar does is workz
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/vrhojuug1j95psr/GG__hoiRKg

It appears invisible ingame for me.
I don't know how to make custom characters though, so I can't help. I'm sure someone else can.
I think it doesn't work because it needs more images.

Superjustinbros
User avatar
Posts: 2101
Joined: 29 Mar 2012, 20:39
Reputation: 133
Contact:

Post » 24 Jan 2014, 23:43

I'm not a fan of your cursor skipping tiles if you happen to draw really fast, and how your cursor can no longer draw while it's offscreen.

Smear-Gel
User avatar
Posts: 297
Joined: 23 Oct 2012, 18:49
Reputation: 4

Post » 25 Jan 2014, 00:38

Am I the only one that feels everything moving way faster than it did for 1.6? More responsive controls is nice but takes a tiny bit of getting used to.

alesan99
User avatar
Posts: 1682
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Reputation: 319
Contact:

Post » 25 Jan 2014, 00:48

I think it's because LOVE 0.9.0 runs faster.

MissingWorld
User avatar
Posts: 230
Joined: 06 Jan 2014, 01:45
Reputation: 9

Post » 25 Jan 2014, 01:10

Probably not the best place to post this, but out of all the animated platform codes available, is when standing on it one of them? Because I'm trying to do a fading platform like in Giana Sisters that only starts crumbling when stood on but stays on its current frame when moved off of.

WillWare
User avatar
Posts: 1222
Joined: 08 Mar 2012, 04:35
Reputation: 267
Contact:

Post » 25 Jan 2014, 01:44

Image
Wheeeeee

idiot9.0
User avatar
Posts: 1713
Joined: 09 Mar 2012, 10:28
Reputation: 198
Contact:

Post » 25 Jan 2014, 01:49

How in the hell. I love that.

Mari0Maker
User avatar
Posts: 1347
Joined: 07 Apr 2012, 17:10
Reputation: 39
Contact:

Post » 25 Jan 2014, 01:52

It seems WillWare makes the best SE GIFs.
Very cool.

Maurice
Stabyourself.net
Posts: 2142
Joined: 01 Feb 2012, 20:19
Reputation: 103

Post » 25 Jan 2014, 02:01

Love it.

TheSeek
User avatar
Posts: 486
Joined: 21 Mar 2012, 06:31
Reputation: 8

Post » 25 Jan 2014, 02:01

I'm gonna take a guess...animated tile with foreground property in second(and following?) frame(s), activated only when coming from right to left, using a region trigger placed on the right of the mushroom.

Superjustinbros
User avatar
Posts: 2101
Joined: 29 Mar 2012, 20:39
Reputation: 133
Contact:

Post » 25 Jan 2014, 02:06

TheSeek wrote:I'm gonna take a guess...animated tile with foreground property in second(and following?) frame(s), activated only when coming from right to left, using a region trigger placed on the right of the mushroom.

I have a feeling one of us is gonna do a Sonic CD Metallic Madness 3 and make a level with areas blocked by some kind of wall with holes in it.

WillWare
User avatar
Posts: 1222
Joined: 08 Mar 2012, 04:35
Reputation: 267
Contact:

Post » 25 Jan 2014, 02:12

Superjustinbros wrote:
TheSeek wrote:I'm gonna take a guess...animated tile with foreground property in second(and following?) frame(s), activated only when coming from right to left, using a region trigger placed on the right of the mushroom.

I have a feeling one of us is gonna do a Sonic CD Metallic Madness 3 and make a level with areas blocked by some kind of wall with holes in it.

sshhh I'm not making a mappack out of this

mindnomad
User avatar
Posts: 367
Joined: 21 Mar 2012, 14:43
Reputation: 351
Contact:

Post » 25 Jan 2014, 03:03

After trying this out for a while, I realize that I think Mario is ALWAYS running even while I'm not hold my run button (shift). Am I the only one with this?

WillWare
User avatar
Posts: 1222
Joined: 08 Mar 2012, 04:35
Reputation: 267
Contact:

Post » 25 Jan 2014, 03:04

mindnomad wrote:After trying this out for a while, I realize that I think Mario is ALWAYS running even while I'm not hold my run button (shift). Am I the only one with this?

Now that you mention it, I'm getting that too.

BobTheLawyer
User avatar
Posts: 2240
Joined: 01 May 2012, 21:00
Reputation: 55

Post » 25 Jan 2014, 03:14

MM102 wrote:Image
For Flutter Skye

In the Gif, it looks like she has a mustache....
Also, can you do twilight?

Turtley3
User avatar
Posts: 651
Joined: 28 Mar 2013, 16:16
Reputation: 22

Post » 25 Jan 2014, 03:27

By putting enemies in ? Blocks, you can have a Syobon Action gimmick, by hitting that block and a enemy comes out.

mindnomad
User avatar
Posts: 367
Joined: 21 Mar 2012, 14:43
Reputation: 351
Contact:

Post » 25 Jan 2014, 03:35

So, I made a simple one level map with this. I didn't feel that it would make sense to make a thread just for the one level, so I'll share it here: https://www.mediafire.com/?3azf9c3z83f4s4m


Return to “Mari0”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron