Possible to use different tile sets in different stages?

General Mar0 discussion has been moved to this subforum!
MF064DD

Post » 17 Jan 2016, 20:11

I may have been making maps since 2014, (not a long time) and I'm still learning as I go.

I had migrated from SMBX to Mari0 when I had bought a Macintosh. That's because SMBX wasn't supported for Mac OS X.
With SMBX, you could use different GFX and SFX in different levels. It was until recently that I remembered this.

So that brings up the question: Possible to use different tile sets in different stages?
If this isn't possible, I apologize for making a useless topic.

EDIT: Problem Solved (For SE)

TurretBot wrote:And now for something completely different... AN EXPLOIT!

Make the first image graphics/smbtiles.png in your mappack, and the second one as both graphics/portaltiles.png and the normal tiles.png.
Congrats! Now you have like 4 tilesets worth of tileset to play with, and not even screwing up the SMB or Portal tilesets while you're at it.
Last edited by MF064DD on 17 Jan 2016, 21:53, edited 3 times in total.

HugoBDesigner

Post » 17 Jan 2016, 20:17

Just place all the tilesets together in a single tileset. I'm not too sure on what you mean, but I think it's about having different tileset files, not just different tiles.

MF064DD

Post » 17 Jan 2016, 20:42

HugoBDesigner wrote:Just place all the tilesets together in a single tileset. I'm not too sure on what you mean, but I think it's about having different tileset files, not just different tiles.
Well, this sorta answers my question. Thanks. I'll try that.

TurretBot

Post » 17 Jan 2016, 21:31

in SE you can replace the default SMB and portal tilesets
in tileset repositorium i devised a way to exploit this for more tilesets
TurretBot wrote:And now for something completely different... AN EXPLOIT!

Make the first image graphics/smbtiles.png in your mappack, and the second one as both graphics/portaltiles.png and the normal tiles.png.