Mari0 SE Beta

General Mar0 discussion has been moved to this subforum!
User avatar
HansAgain
Posts: 1111
Joined: 03 Feb 2012, 18:51
Contact:

Post » 20 Mar 2014, 01:57

In SMW, there is a ghost that transforms into a block (solid) when Mario looks at it.
Saulo, i thought you were talking about them.

User avatar
zorua7551
Posts: 193
Joined: 10 Jul 2013, 04:23

Post » 20 Mar 2014, 02:05

There was something like a ghost block in NSMBW & NSMBU in the ghost houses, It's disguised as a normal block but when the player gets near it's range, The block gets covered in purple aura. Then homes at the player but breaks like a glass cup or window, ect. If it hits something.

User avatar
SauloFX
Posts: 556
Joined: 26 Feb 2014, 02:52

Post » 20 Mar 2014, 02:07

Hans1998 wrote:In SMW, there is a ghost that transforms into a block (solid) when Mario looks at it.
Saulo, i thought you were talking about them.
well,this would be a enemy.

User avatar
zorua7551
Posts: 193
Joined: 10 Jul 2013, 04:23

Post » 20 Mar 2014, 02:11

SauloFX wrote:
Hans1998 wrote:In SMW, there is a ghost that transforms into a block (solid) when Mario looks at it.
Saulo, i thought you were talking about them.
well,this would be a enemy.

Would be a challenge to make though, (Enemy to tile)

User avatar
SauloFX
Posts: 556
Joined: 26 Feb 2014, 02:52

Post » 20 Mar 2014, 02:13

zorua7551 wrote:
SauloFX wrote:
Hans1998 wrote:In SMW, there is a ghost that transforms into a block (solid) when Mario looks at it.
Saulo, i thought you were talking about them.
well,this would be a enemy.

Would be a challenge to make though, (Enemy to tile)
Agree. Maurice should add this possibility

User avatar
zorua7551
Posts: 193
Joined: 10 Jul 2013, 04:23

Post » 20 Mar 2014, 02:16

Indeed.

User avatar
alesan99
Posts: 2335
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Contact:

Post » 20 Mar 2014, 04:06

Image
Parameters shown

Code: Select all

"staticwhenlookedatbyplayer": boolean   (becomes static when player faces the enemy)
"transformtriggerenemycollide": string   (transfroms when it collides with an enemy)
"roatatetowardsplayer": boolean   (faces player in all directions)

User avatar
SauloFX
Posts: 556
Joined: 26 Feb 2014, 02:52

Post » 20 Mar 2014, 04:07

alesan99 wrote:Image
Parameters shown

Code: Select all

"staticwhenlookedatbyplayer": boolean   (becomes static when player faces the enemy)
"transformtriggerenemycollide": string   (transfroms when it collides with an enemy)
"roatatetowardsplayer": boolean   (faces player in all directions)
Those 3 coding are in the new enemy.lua?

User avatar
alesan99
Posts: 2335
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Contact:

Post » 20 Mar 2014, 04:10

SauloFX wrote:Those 3 coding are in the new enemy.lua?
Those three parameters and many more will be in the next enemy.lua I release.

User avatar
SauloFX
Posts: 556
Joined: 26 Feb 2014, 02:52

Post » 20 Mar 2014, 04:17

alesan99 wrote:
SauloFX wrote:Those 3 coding are in the new enemy.lua?
Those three parameters and many more will be in the next enemy.lua I release.
I'm waiting for the release..........................

() ()
-----

User avatar
MM102
Posts: 970
Joined: 11 May 2012, 06:08
Contact:

Post » 20 Mar 2014, 04:49

"marioproxy": array
preforms action when mario is within proximity of the enemy
array is set up like custom timer array + transform into action

"marionotproxy": array
like "marioproxy" but when mario is not within proximity of the enemy (no shet relly?)

"mariofacing": array
preforms action when mario is facing the enemy
array is set up like custom timer array + transform into action
This seems much more versatile than just being static

"marionotfacing": array
I think you get it

"proxytimeroverride": boolean
If true, custom timer actions stop while mario is/isn't in proximity zones
along with the other variations of this parameter where the first trigger overrides the next,
"proxyfacingoverride"
"facingtimeroverride"
"facingproxyoverride"
"timerfacingoverride"
"timerproxyoverride"

HAPPYFACES
Posts: 524
Joined: 02 Jun 2012, 03:40

Post » 21 Mar 2014, 07:56

Heh, might wanna change "proxy" to "prox". I thought when I first read the top idea, it was going to be something about representing Mario as a separate entity as in a proxy. Think, the clay clone from the original Tomb Raider that mirrored all of your movements. That would be a proxy. :P

User avatar
alesan99
Posts: 2335
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Contact:

Post » 21 Mar 2014, 15:05

MM102 wrote: "mariofacing": array
preforms action when mario is facing the enemy ..
.. This seems much more versatile than just being static
There's a transform trigger for this so if you want your enemy to jump when the player faces it make it transform into an enemy that does that.

User avatar
SauloFX
Posts: 556
Joined: 26 Feb 2014, 02:52

Post » 21 Mar 2014, 17:55

alesan,i have a great idea that you should add in the next enemy.lua, "copyplayermovements":

The enemy must face the player,when you jump he jumps,when you run he runs,simple,but coding this may be a little hard...

User avatar
alesan99
Posts: 2335
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Contact:

Post » 21 Mar 2014, 18:09

It won't be that hard to add. It may be fun to play around with for a while but I don't find it useful.

User avatar
Flutter Skye
Posts: 1690
Joined: 08 Apr 2012, 17:54
Contact:

Post » 21 Mar 2014, 18:30

If you would add that, a "Reverseplayermovements" would be useful, you move left, the enemy moves right, we could do a Fake Mario battle using that.

User avatar
SauloFX
Posts: 556
Joined: 26 Feb 2014, 02:52

Post » 22 Mar 2014, 00:06

Flutter Skye wrote:If you would add that, a "Reverseplayermovements" would be useful, you move left, the enemy moves right, we could do a Fake Mario battle using that.
That's what i was talking about,this would be useful for some puzzles,but the level should be in the default size.

User avatar
MagicPillow
Posts: 1108
Joined: 20 Jul 2013, 04:59
Contact:

Post » 22 Mar 2014, 00:31

alesan99 wrote:It won't be that hard to add. It may be fun to play around with for a while but I don't find it useful.
Well if you made the camera only move horizontal, you could basically have a custom character.

bunny123
Posts: 22
Joined: 09 Jul 2013, 22:21

Post » 22 Mar 2014, 01:07

Found a bug. If you open the SMB pack in the editor, erase an entity then try to save, it will change the world and discard the changes before saving. There are a few other things that can trigger this, but I couldn't figure out how I made them occur.

User avatar
TurretBot
Posts: 4413
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Contact:

Post » 22 Mar 2014, 01:08

alesan99 wrote:It won't be that hard to add. It may be fun to play around with for a while but I don't find it useful.
double cherry

User avatar
MM102
Posts: 970
Joined: 11 May 2012, 06:08
Contact:

Post » 22 Mar 2014, 01:22

"kicksshells" boolean

User avatar
Superjustinbros
Posts: 2119
Joined: 29 Mar 2012, 20:39
Contact:

Post » 22 Mar 2014, 13:35

TurretBot wrote:
alesan99 wrote:It won't be that hard to add. It may be fun to play around with for a while but I don't find it useful.
double cherry
I find it ironic that I was just discussing how boring the Double Cherry is with my cousin the prior night and then the following day it gets mentioned on the forums.

Does anyone remember Super Paper Mario's Bit Army item? The items in that game are quite unloved even today.

User avatar
Sunset_Moth
Posts: 781
Joined: 02 Sep 2012, 23:22
Contact:

Post » 22 Mar 2014, 17:01

You mean the Pal Pills?
Yeah, those were neat. So was the Mega Star. (Like 50% of that game's power-ups involved 8-bit.)

User avatar
MagicPillow
Posts: 1108
Joined: 20 Jul 2013, 04:59
Contact:

Post » 22 Mar 2014, 17:47

I have to ask - Do/will enemies retain thier current health when they transform?

User avatar
alesan99
Posts: 2335
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Contact:

Post » 22 Mar 2014, 17:57

MagicPillow wrote:I have to ask - Do/will enemies retain thier current health when they transform?
Nothing gets passed over when an enemy transforms (and i'll keep it that way).

User avatar
MissingWorld
Posts: 230
Joined: 06 Jan 2014, 01:45

Post » 23 Mar 2014, 00:30

bubba_nate wrote:(Like 50% of that game's power-ups involved 8-bit.)
Actually, the game in general seemed to like squares quite a bit. But this is getting off focus.

User avatar
SauloFX
Posts: 556
Joined: 26 Feb 2014, 02:52

Post » 23 Mar 2014, 18:55

I have a question,if i create a mappack in beta 9,anyone that download the mappack,will play him with no problems?

because i downloaded beta 9,and is glitchy as hell.

User avatar
MagicPillow
Posts: 1108
Joined: 20 Jul 2013, 04:59
Contact:

Post » 23 Mar 2014, 19:02

They'll have the same glitches as you...

User avatar
SauloFX
Posts: 556
Joined: 26 Feb 2014, 02:52

Post » 23 Mar 2014, 19:05

MagicPillow wrote:They'll have the same glitches as you...
I Know,but in gameplay,may the entire map dissapear?

A Glitchy meteor crash on the entire mappack?

Evil-Pac-Man start eating stuff?

Majora mask posses my computer?

User avatar
MagicPillow
Posts: 1108
Joined: 20 Jul 2013, 04:59
Contact:

Post » 23 Mar 2014, 19:24

It depends.
Does that stuff happen to you?

User avatar
alesan99
Posts: 2335
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Contact:

Post » 23 Mar 2014, 19:29

SauloFX wrote:I Know,but in gameplay,may the entire map dissapear?

A Glitchy meteor crash on the entire mappack?
Mappacks should be fine.
The smb mappack does disappear though.

User avatar
SauloFX
Posts: 556
Joined: 26 Feb 2014, 02:52

Post » 23 Mar 2014, 19:36

when i'm in a specific level of SMB Mappack,it crashes.

i think is 45-23,i dunno.
alesan99 wrote: The smb mappack does disappear though.
gemwrecker posted a fix for this.
Last edited by SauloFX on 23 Mar 2014, 19:47, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
alesan99
Posts: 2335
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Contact:

Post » 23 Mar 2014, 19:47

SauloFX wrote:
alesan99 wrote: The smb mappack does disappear though.
gemwrecker posted a fix for this.
Yeah I know, just saying it's the only mappack that disappears.

User avatar
SauloFX
Posts: 556
Joined: 26 Feb 2014, 02:52

Post » 23 Mar 2014, 19:51

I Can't find beta 8 ( or it doesn't exists)

Beta 9 have a lot of glitches:

-if you create a custom tile or an animated tile in the first slot,all changes you made dissapear and you receive another tile.

- SMB 5-3 = CRASH

- Custom coin blocks transform into default coin blocks.

- ''n'' stuff

User avatar
alesan99
Posts: 2335
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Contact:

Post » 23 Mar 2014, 20:02

SauloFX wrote:Beta 9 have a lot of glitches
Well it's a beta what did you expect.

User avatar
SauloFX
Posts: 556
Joined: 26 Feb 2014, 02:52

Post » 23 Mar 2014, 20:04

alesan99 wrote:
SauloFX wrote:Beta 9 have a lot of glitches
Well it's a beta what did you expect.
well,beta 7 have 79% less bugs

i thought beta 9 would have 92%less bugs.But i don't blame Maurice for that.

Maurice should let someone test a beta before he release it.

User avatar
Firaga
Posts: 931
Joined: 02 Jul 2012, 16:05
Contact:

Post » 23 Mar 2014, 20:06

SauloFX wrote:test a beta
Don't like it, don't use it.

User avatar
HansAgain
Posts: 1111
Joined: 03 Feb 2012, 18:51
Contact:

Post » 23 Mar 2014, 20:06

SauloFX wrote:Maurice should let someone test a beta before he release it.
WE are testing the beta, so the next version will have less bugs.

User avatar
alesan99
Posts: 2335
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Contact:

Post » 23 Mar 2014, 20:07

SauloFX wrote:test a beta before he release it.
This ruins the whole point of a beta you know.

User avatar
SauloFX
Posts: 556
Joined: 26 Feb 2014, 02:52

Post » 23 Mar 2014, 20:09

Firaga wrote:
SauloFX wrote:test a beta
Don't like it, don't use it.
i would not use this beta,but he fixed my animated tile bug(i was annoying everyone bcz of this) but anyway,he fixed this bug,so i want to  create another mappack similar to Journey but better without shitty stuff that you hated(i hated too) 

so,i'm F orked 

User avatar
MagicPillow
Posts: 1108
Joined: 20 Jul 2013, 04:59
Contact:

Post » 23 Mar 2014, 21:27

Not sure I this is intentional or not, but you can hit an invisible block if you're standing inside it.
Also, in the original smb, you could stomp a squid if you weren't swimming, but not in Mari0.

User avatar
TurretBot
Posts: 4413
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Contact:

Post » 23 Mar 2014, 22:00

MagicPillow wrote:Not sure I this is intentional or not, but you can hit an invisible block if you're standing inside it.
Also, in the original smb, you could stomp a squid if you weren't swimming, but not in Mari0.
make a new squid
"stompable": true
put it in the not swimming level
win

User avatar
SauloFX
Posts: 556
Joined: 26 Feb 2014, 02:52

Post » 23 Mar 2014, 22:17

TurretBot wrote:
MagicPillow wrote:Not sure I this is intentional or not, but you can hit an invisible block if you're standing inside it.
Also, in the original smb, you could stomp a squid if you weren't swimming, but not in Mari0.
make a new squid
"stompable": true
put it in the not swimming level
win
Image

User avatar
MagicPillow
Posts: 1108
Joined: 20 Jul 2013, 04:59
Contact:

Post » 23 Mar 2014, 22:22

TurretBot wrote:
MagicPillow wrote:Not sure I this is intentional or not, but you can hit an invisible block if you're standing inside it.
Also, in the original smb, you could stomp a squid if you weren't swimming, but not in Mari0.
make a new squid
"stompable": true
put it in the not swimming level
win
I know you can do this, it just bothers me that it's not a perfect recreation...
Also, has anyone else noticed that the timer won't go down if controls are disabled?

User avatar
SauloFX
Posts: 556
Joined: 26 Feb 2014, 02:52

Post » 23 Mar 2014, 23:21

SauloFX wrote: - SMB 5-3 = CRASH
Fixed!

open the SMB mappack in level editor

find two floating coins and a moving platform(in the end of the level)

the first platform will have the width setted to 0.00,set it to 2.00

User avatar
SauloFX
Posts: 556
Joined: 26 Feb 2014, 02:52

Post » 24 Mar 2014, 02:03

Sorry by double post.

Can anyone fix the Beta 9 level designer?

Is being such a nigthmare try create a level in it,if i  create my mappack  in beta 7,he will not be fun,anyone,please?

BTW

i made some progress,i will make a thread for it later.

User avatar
MagicPillow
Posts: 1108
Joined: 20 Jul 2013, 04:59
Contact:

Post » 24 Mar 2014, 02:19

SauloFX wrote:Can anyone fix the Beta 9 level designer?
What do you mean?

User avatar
SauloFX
Posts: 556
Joined: 26 Feb 2014, 02:52

Post » 24 Mar 2014, 02:21

MagicPillow wrote:
SauloFX wrote:Can anyone fix the Beta 9 level designer?
What do you mean?
Modz

User avatar
MagicPillow
Posts: 1108
Joined: 20 Jul 2013, 04:59
Contact:

Post » 24 Mar 2014, 02:22

SauloFX wrote:
MagicPillow wrote:
SauloFX wrote:Can anyone fix the Beta 9 level designer?
What do you mean?
Modz
But what exactly do you want to be fixed about it?

User avatar
HansAgain
Posts: 1111
Joined: 03 Feb 2012, 18:51
Contact:

Post » 24 Mar 2014, 02:24

Well, he doesn't know what he is saying.
He means that someone should mod "levels" tab, to make it add new levels and stuff.

EDIT: It's "mods", moron.

Locked