How Do I Make Custom Stuff?

General Mar0 discussion has been moved to this subforum!
Mari0Maker

Post » 07 Apr 2012, 17:46

Hello, I am new to this, and I was wondering how you add custom stuff. Does anyone know how you add custom hats, backgrounds, and tiles?

Zlmpery

Post » 07 Apr 2012, 17:57

Backgrounds:
The screen of Mari0 is 400x224 pixels.
The portal background is the standard custom background, you can overwrite it by doing the following:
Place “background1.png” inside your mappack folder.
You can keep adding consecutive numbers to add more than 1 background (background2.png, background3.png, etc) for parallax scrolling. Adjust the scroll factor slider (main tab) to control the speed of parallax scrolling.
This standard background can be overwritten by each map individually by putting “1-1background1.png” (for world 1-1) inside the folder. Also supports multiple backgrounds.
For sublevels, use “1-1_1background1.png”.
Then check the “Custom Background” box in the main tab of the editor.

Music:
Place “music.mp3” or “music.ogg” inside your mappacks folder, preferably ogg. Then select “custom” from the music list in the editor. You’ll need to have the track in the folder BEFORE loading the mappack.

Tiles:
Place tiles.png in the mappack folder you want to have it.

Hats:
1. Download the latest LÖVE Beta at the bottom of https://love2d.org/builds/
2. Download the Mari0 source at the bottom of http://www.stabyourself.net/mari0#download
3. Open the .Love file with WinRAR or an equivalent.
4. Open hatconfigs.lua with notepad or an equivalent.
5. Paste the hat code provided at the bottom of the document.
6. Open bighatconfigs.lua with notepad or an equivalent.
7. Past the bighat code provided at the bottom of the document.
8. Drag the big hat picture into graphics/SMB/bighats/
9. Drag the hat picture into graphics/SMB/hats/
10. Run the .love file.

I only wrote the hats tutorial and the tiles tutorial! The others are from the homepage.