[Tutorial] Making Mari0 Portable

General Mar0 discussion has been moved to this subforum!
Post Reply
User avatar
jmv3597
Posts: 198
Joined: 03 Feb 2012, 00:43

Post » 19 Mar 2012, 23:40

If you want to use Mari0 on a USB drive without storing information on you PC then follow these steps:

1) Copy all your Mari0 files to the folder you want on the drive, and create a folder within that directory called "appdata"

2) Go to where your appdata is stored if anywhere on your pc (For windows: go to run then type "%appdata%") then copy the folder called LOVE (from "%appdata%" into the folder that you created called appdata.

3) Then copy this code into notepad and call it anthing you want.bat. Make sure it ends in .bat.

CODE: @echo off
echo Loading Mari0...
SET APPDATA=%CD%\appdata
Start "Mari0" Mari0.exe

If your Mari0.exe is named anything different then just change it within the code :)

4) Run anthing you want.bat and its running portable YAY

If any of these steps are worded weird or you don't understand just ask.

User avatar
rokit
Posts: 2095
Joined: 03 Feb 2012, 00:47

Post » 19 Mar 2012, 23:41

Just use

Code: Select all

SET APPDATA=%CD%\appdata
Start "Mari0" Mari0.exe
Rest is useless.

Camewel
Posts: 2996
Joined: 02 Feb 2012, 21:32

Post » 19 Mar 2012, 23:43

Well no, the rest is also needed.

User avatar
rokit
Posts: 2095
Joined: 03 Feb 2012, 00:47

Post » 19 Mar 2012, 23:46

Camewel wrote:Well no, the rest is also needed.
The two lines:

Code: Select all

@echo off
echo Loading Mari0...
are to make it look pretty.
BTW. It doesn't have to be .bat, tested it on .cmd, it worked.

Camewel
Posts: 2996
Joined: 02 Feb 2012, 21:32

Post » 19 Mar 2012, 23:47

Oh, you're talking about in the actual bat file.

User avatar
jmv3597
Posts: 198
Joined: 03 Feb 2012, 00:43

Post » 19 Mar 2012, 23:48

rokit boy wrote:Just use

Code: Select all

SET APPDATA=%CD%\appdata
Start "Mari0" Mari0.exe
Rest is useless.

He is mostly right but im not sure because if never tested it without it all

my best suggestion is to just use all the code it doesnt hurt to use it

User avatar
rokit
Posts: 2095
Joined: 03 Feb 2012, 00:47

Post » 19 Mar 2012, 23:51

jmv3597 wrote:
rokit boy wrote:Just use

Code: Select all

SET APPDATA=%CD%\appdata
Start "Mari0" Mari0.exe
Rest is useless.

He is mostly right but im not sure because if never tested it without it all

my best suggestion is to just use all the code it doesnt hurt to use it
IT HURTS ME! I DON'T CARE ABOUT PRETTY PRETTY!

User avatar
jmv3597
Posts: 198
Joined: 03 Feb 2012, 00:43

Post » 19 Mar 2012, 23:52

thats fine you can do whatever the hell you want as long as it works

User avatar
Q Mark
Posts: 96
Joined: 12 Feb 2012, 05:10

Post » 26 Mar 2012, 02:25

Just in case no one have seen this yet, here is a real portable ver of Mari0 1.6 thanks in part to portableapps.com: http://portableapps.com/node/31646
You can copy & past your whole game over to it (mappacks and all) but I'm pretty sure it won't show up (your saved settings/ earned cheats). But I guess that's a small price to pay for having it portable.

note: To put your mari0 files in the portable (locate both on pc ex: drive C:\mari0)
for the mari0.exe folder in the portable: ...\Mari0Portable\App\Mari0
for the mappack folder in the portable: ...\Mari0Portable\Data\AppData\mappacks

User avatar
jmv3597
Posts: 198
Joined: 03 Feb 2012, 00:43

Post » 26 Mar 2012, 03:08

Q Mark wrote:Just in case no one have seen this yet, here is a real portable ver of Mari0 1.6 thanks in part to portableapps.com: http://portableapps.com/node/31646
You can copy & past your whole game over to it (mappacks and all) but I'm pretty sure it won't show up (your saved settings/ earned cheats). But I guess that's a small price to pay for having it portable.

note: To put your mari0 files in the portable (locate both on pc ex: drive C:\mari0)
for the mari0.exe folder in the portable: ...\Mari0Portable\App\Mari0
for the mappack folder in the portable: ...\Mari0Portable\Data\AppData\mappacks
that's cool but i think this method is easier because you dont lose any data

smb64
Posts: 30
Joined: 03 Mar 2012, 20:18

Post » 07 Jan 2013, 03:45

I got this error:

Error

main.lua:921: Could not set write directory.


Traceback

[C]: in function 'write'
main.lua:921: in function 'saveconfig'
main.lua:37: in function 'load'
[C]: in function 'xpcall'


I don't know that much about functions, but it seems that it couldn't find where to save at. Do you know how I can resolve this?

smb64
Posts: 30
Joined: 03 Mar 2012, 20:18

Post » 07 Jan 2013, 03:49

never mind, I just forgot to change the %CD% to %F% for my USB drive.

User avatar
TheHamster400
Posts: 91
Joined: 03 Jun 2012, 02:20

Post » 25 Jan 2013, 23:55

smb64 wrote:I got this error:

Error

main.lua:921: Could not set write directory.


Traceback

[C]: in function 'write'
main.lua:921: in function 'saveconfig'
main.lua:37: in function 'load'
[C]: in function 'xpcall'


I don't know that much about functions, but it seems that it couldn't find where to save at. Do you know how I can resolve this?
I have that same problem. Can someone help me?

HAPPYFACES
Posts: 524
Joined: 02 Jun 2012, 03:40

Post » 26 Jan 2013, 00:07

Change "%CD%" in the code to whatever drive your flash/portable drive is, like "%G%"

It's in the post above yours.

User avatar
TheHamster400
Posts: 91
Joined: 03 Jun 2012, 02:20

Post » 26 Jan 2013, 00:27

I did that already and it didn't work. Tell me if I did anything wrong in these pictures.
Image

Image

HAPPYFACES
Posts: 524
Joined: 02 Jun 2012, 03:40

Post » 26 Jan 2013, 01:06

I think appdata has to be on the root of your drive, instead of putting it in "Games"

Edit: Yeah, it does. But if you want to keep it in "Games", write the .bat file like

APPDATA=%E%\Games\appdata

Edit: Sorry for seeming so harsh... No sleep for the sleepless. Also, you're welcome!

User avatar
Sašo
Stabyourself.net
Posts: 1444
Joined: 06 Jan 2012, 12:07

Post » 26 Jan 2013, 17:03

Check if the folder even has write permissions. Additionally, you can try using %~dp0 instead of %CD%.

User avatar
TheHamster400
Posts: 91
Joined: 03 Jun 2012, 02:20

Post » 26 Jan 2013, 17:09

Thanks, it now works. Time to play mari0

Post Reply