[MOD] Ortho Robot Multiplayer

alesan99
User avatar
Posts: 1615
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Reputation: 253
Contact:

Post » 12 Nov 2013, 03:56

So I wanted to mod something besides Mari0 and wanted to make a unique mod not just more levels so this is what I got.
This Mod adds a second robot and one new music that plays randomly.

Robot 2 controls:
    i or w = up
    k or s = down
    j or a = left
    l or d = right
You can move player one with the arrow keys

Screenshot:
Image

There's a typo that the current version doesn't have.

Downloads
Hopefully I won't have to update this often
DROPBOX DOWNLOAD V.3

Oh, and before you ask "What is the point of adding multiplayer to a puzzle game?" I'll answer it, IDK I just felt like it :P
Last edited by alesan99 on 13 Nov 2013, 04:53, edited 6 times in total.

Mari0Maker
User avatar
Posts: 1347
Joined: 07 Apr 2012, 17:10
Reputation: 39
Contact:

Post » 12 Nov 2013, 04:10

This looks very nice! I'll have to try this out!
I did notice something, though. In the screenshot you took, it isn't spelled "yourselfs", it is supposed to be "yourselves."
Also, Mediafire seems to be a jerk and isn't working for me right now. :'(

alesan99
User avatar
Posts: 1615
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Reputation: 253
Contact:

Post » 12 Nov 2013, 04:12

Mari0Maker wrote:This looks very nice! I'll have to try this out!
I did notice something, though. In the screenshot you took, it isn't spelled "yourselfs", it is supposed to be "yourselves."
Also, Mediafire seems to be a jerk and isn't working for me right now. :'(

Thanks! I'll fix that typo.
Do you know any other sites I can upload files to (I never felt like trying dropbox)?

EDIT: UPDATED LINK Try the link now to see if it works
Last edited by alesan99 on 12 Nov 2013, 04:21, edited 1 time in total.

BobTheLawyer
User avatar
Posts: 2240
Joined: 01 May 2012, 21:00
Reputation: 53

Post » 12 Nov 2013, 04:20

alesan99 wrote:Robot 2 controls:
    i = up
    k = down
    j = left
    l = right
It's not the best controls but i couldn't find anything better that works on laptops.
Arrows and WASD keys are the standard player one and two keys.
Also, Dropbox is probably better than Mediafire. I used to only use MediaFire, but I feel you can do slightly more with Dropbox, despite the upload limit.

alesan99
User avatar
Posts: 1615
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Reputation: 253
Contact:

Post » 12 Nov 2013, 04:46

BobTheLawyer wrote:Arrows and WASD keys are the standard player one and two keys.
Also, Dropbox is probably better than Mediafire. I used to only use MediaFire, but I feel you can do slightly more with Dropbox, despite the upload limit.

1. I can't understand what you're trying to say. Are you saying that your controls move both players because it works fine for me.
2. I just installed Dropbox and it works great! I've heard that it is hard to use but that's not true.

Qcode
User avatar
Posts: 1464
Joined: 05 Feb 2012, 18:00
Reputation: 71
Contact:

Post » 12 Nov 2013, 04:49

Bob's trying to say that in most games player 1's keys are bound to the arrows, and player 2's keys are bound to WASD. Your controls are kind of unconventional.

BobTheLawyer
User avatar
Posts: 2240
Joined: 01 May 2012, 21:00
Reputation: 53

Post » 12 Nov 2013, 04:55

Qcode wrote:Bob's trying to say that in most games player 1's keys are bound to the arrows, and player 2's keys are bound to WASD. Your controls are kind of unconventional.

Plus, they are a lot closer to the arrows and create a more cramped environment.

alesan99
User avatar
Posts: 1615
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Reputation: 253
Contact:

Post » 12 Nov 2013, 05:00

BobTheLawyer wrote:
Qcode wrote:Bob's trying to say that in most games player 1's keys are bound to the arrows, and player 2's keys are bound to WASD. Your controls are kind of unconventional.

Plus, they are a lot closer to the arrows and create a more cramped environment.

Ok, Dropbox link is updated but not the mediafire one.

BobTheLawyer
User avatar
Posts: 2240
Joined: 01 May 2012, 21:00
Reputation: 53

Post » 12 Nov 2013, 05:02

You only need a dropbox link. The mediafire one isn't necessary.

HugoBDesigner
User avatar
Posts: 2091
Joined: 19 Sep 2012, 02:23
Reputation: 658
Contact:

Post » 13 Nov 2013, 02:21

Pretty cool, Alesan! You made a great work!
I wish there were maps were multiplayer would be needed to hit the goal...
Hmmm... Maybe I should make a mod to add them... Nah! It's too much work.
Now seriously, that was cool :)

alesan99
User avatar
Posts: 1615
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Reputation: 253
Contact:

Post » 13 Nov 2013, 02:36

HugoBDesigner wrote:Pretty cool, Alesan! You made a great work!
I wish there were maps were multiplayer would be needed to hit the goal...
Hmmm... Maybe I should make a mod to add them... Nah! It's too much work.
Now seriously, that was cool :)

Thanks!
I was thinking of adding buttons that a player has to hold that would allow for some multiplayer maps to be made but I found it hard to mod a 3D game.

BobTheLawyer
User avatar
Posts: 2240
Joined: 01 May 2012, 21:00
Reputation: 53

Post » 13 Nov 2013, 02:50

Yeah. Orthorobots code is not very modding friendly. I'd hope Orthorobot 2 will be easier to mod, however.

SantaMari0
Posts: 45
Joined: 16 Apr 2013, 18:49
Reputation: 14

Post » 09 Aug 2015, 21:12

This is awesome!
Works especially great with JoyToKey
You should look into online multiplayer, since not everyone has friends to test this with... forever alone :'(
I would be happy to help you if you need help, but this is fairly simple after reading it once or twice.

alesan99
User avatar
Posts: 1615
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Reputation: 253
Contact:

Post » 09 Aug 2015, 21:27

I'd love to add online multiplayer to it but it's too complicated and hard.
I know next to nothing about networking i don't even know how to set up a game with hamachi and if i did it would be time consuming to actually implement it into to game so it's synced with both players

I've already tried adding online to mari0 a few years ago but failed so the chances of me putting time into adding it to this mini-mod is even lower.

dennis
User avatar
Posts: 5
Joined: 22 Mar 2016, 01:16
Reputation: 3
Contact:

Post » 22 Mar 2016, 01:22

error of index field screen?

Technochips
User avatar
Posts: 681
Joined: 12 Mar 2015, 16:05
Reputation: 186
Contact:

Post » 22 Mar 2016, 01:54

you should know a rule about something with bumping old threads

DONG
PERMABANNED
Posts: 6
Joined: 22 Mar 2016, 00:49
Reputation: 0

Post » 22 Mar 2016, 01:59

dennis wrote:you should know a rule about something with bumping old threads

well said , dennis


Return to “Ortho Robot”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest