Mari0: Community Edition

Mods, guides how to use and install mods go right in here.
User avatar
TheFriskiestFrisk
Posts: 6
Joined: 20 Feb 2019, 18:06
Contact:

Post » 21 Feb 2019, 16:22

I LÖVE LUA wrote:Could you show the content of the console? Also, which version of LÖVE were you using?
Hello again,

I am using LÖVE 11.1. Here is the console's content when I run CE using lovec.exe.
Image

User avatar
I LÖVE LUA
Posts: 222
Joined: 12 Aug 2013, 13:19

Post » 21 Feb 2019, 22:10

Looks like a LÖVE bug caused by the window being resized (because of the " [C]: in function 'setMode' " line). And since it indicates a shader problem, that's probably why there's just a white square on black background (just speculation, I don't really know how shaders work).

Does it also happen with another LÖVE game that resizes the window?

User avatar
TheFriskiestFrisk
Posts: 6
Joined: 20 Feb 2019, 18:06
Contact:

Post » 21 Feb 2019, 22:18

I LÖVE LUA wrote:Does it also happen with another LÖVE game that resizes the window?
Hello again,

I, honestly, have never played any other LÖVE games. Mari0 is the only one I have played. As such, I cannot know. However, I will look into how to fix it (i'm quite good at modifying code).

Thank you.

Small update:
After a small bit of toying around, it seems the problem lies specifically with rule 1650:

Code: Select all

love.window.setMode(width*16*scale, height*16*scale, {fullscreen=fullscreen, vsync=vsync--[[, fsaa=fsaa]]}) --25x14 blocks (15 blocks actual height)
I will look further into it.

Small update 2: Electric Boogaloo:
After more toying around, it seems that if I force the game to open as fullscreen (by copy-pasting the fullscreen script over the windowed script), the same issue arises.

User avatar
HugoBDesigner
Posts: 2189
Joined: 19 Sep 2012, 02:23
Contact:

Post » 22 Feb 2019, 01:03

Hi, could you tell us how you got the screen to resize? Looking at the error, it seems like your computer can't handle shaders. But perhaps there's some setting we're missing? Maybe some setting in your options.txt file?

User avatar
TheFriskiestFrisk
Posts: 6
Joined: 20 Feb 2019, 18:06
Contact:

Post » 22 Feb 2019, 15:56

Hello,

Before I forget (for the second time) to say it, my PC is able to run the latest non-SE version of Mari0.
HugoBDesigner wrote:Hi, could you tell us how you got the screen to resize?
If you mean forcing it into fullscreen, I modified the code of main.lua.
More specifically, I copied the instructions of "what to do if startup size = fullscreen" over the instructions of "what to do if startup size = not fullscreen".
HugoBDesigner wrote:Looking at the error, it seems like your computer can't handle shaders.
It would be weird if it couldn't, as, if i'm right, the original, vanilla, non-SE Mari0 also has shaders, and my PC can run that one perfectly fine without any issues.
It could be that if Mari0 CE has any shaders that aren't in the original non-SE Mari0, that those are the ones bringing issues.

(Edit: I've replaced the Mari0 CE Shaders folder with the Mari0 1.6 Shaders folder, and the issue hasn't changed at all. That can't be it.)
HugoBDesigner wrote:But perhaps there's some setting we're missing? Maybe some setting in your options.txt file?
Would it work if I deleted options.txt? If i'm right, Mari0 just generates a new one if the old one is missing.

User avatar
TheFriskiestFrisk
Posts: 6
Joined: 20 Feb 2019, 18:06
Contact:

Post » 22 Feb 2019, 18:03

Major Update:

It seems that while the Mari0 1.6 .exe file (from it's official download) works completely fine, running the source code into LÖVE raises the exact same issue: the shaders fail to link.

Image

I swear, just what am I doing wrong?

User avatar
I LÖVE LUA
Posts: 222
Joined: 12 Aug 2013, 13:19

Post » 22 Feb 2019, 23:23

I don't think you did something wrong (except running Mari0 1.6 with LÖVE 11.1, as it needs 0.8.0, so it would give an error anyway). I really think the problem lies in LÖVE itself, maybe your PC doesn't support a change they did between 0.8.0 and 11.1 (since the exe "works completely fine").

If you can,
  • Create an empty folder
  • Create a file in it called main.lua
  • Paste this piece of code in it

    Code: Select all

    function love.draw()
    	love.graphics.print("hello world")
    end
  • Launch the "game"
  • Tell us if it still has the graphical issues and "failed to link shaders" message in the console

User avatar
TheFriskiestFrisk
Posts: 6
Joined: 20 Feb 2019, 18:06
Contact:

Post » 23 Feb 2019, 12:45

I LÖVE LUA wrote:If you can,
  • Create an empty folder
  • Create a file in it called main.lua
  • Paste this piece of code in it

    Code: Select all

    function love.draw()
    	love.graphics.print("hello world")
    end
  • Launch the "game"
  • Tell us if it still has the graphical issues and "failed to link shaders" message in the console
I did your instructions, and launched the folder via lovec.exe.
Here's the result.
Image
The folder is named "test", with as only file in it the main.lua you told me to make, with the given code in it.

User avatar
I LÖVE LUA
Posts: 222
Joined: 12 Aug 2013, 13:19

Post » 23 Feb 2019, 13:30

Well, that confirms it. Your PC really doesn't like LÖVE 11.1 (sadly).
I think you should report your problem to LÖVE's issues page or on LÖVE forums (and/or try to update your drivers).

Mistah Jorge
Posts: 6
Joined: 14 Feb 2019, 00:41

Post » 08 Mar 2019, 01:33

Oy, i'm trying to finish chell character because i want to contribute by finishing characters.
I've aligned her hat positions now and i'm trying to iron out some odd stuff, is this death sprite on the left better?
Image

Curtis09
Posts: 4
Joined: 20 Feb 2019, 00:40

Post » 09 Mar 2019, 01:20

I was playing the game and it crash and now I can never play it again I re downloaded the game file but it still crashes.

User avatar
HugoBDesigner
Posts: 2189
Joined: 19 Sep 2012, 02:23
Contact:

Post » 09 Mar 2019, 18:46

@Mistah Jorge: I prefer the one on the right. Thanks for contributing!

@Curtis09: Could you send us a screenshot of the error message you get? If you're not getting an error message, try navigating to %appdata%/LOVE/mari0_se and delete "options.txt".

User avatar
Technochips
Posts: 608
Joined: 12 Mar 2015, 16:05
Contact:

Post » 13 Mar 2019, 15:58

Mari0: CE is apparently on the linux snap store

https://snapcraft.io/mari0-ce

Curtis09
Posts: 4
Joined: 20 Feb 2019, 00:40

Post » 13 Mar 2019, 21:05

for some reason my computer just take a screenshot of the window behind it so ill just type it out.
FLAGRANT SYSTEM ERROR
Mari0 Over.
Crash = Very Yes.
Mari0 1107 , LOVE 11.2 running on Windows
Graphics: OpenGL 3.3.0 - Build 20.19.15.4531 (inte(R)HD Graphics 4600 ,Intel)
textenity.lua:21: attempt to index field 'text' (a number value)
Traceback
main.lua:117: in function 'handler'
textenity.lua:21: in function 'init'
middleclass.lua:111: in function 'new'
game.lua:3430 : in function 'loadmap'
menu.lua:1258 : in function 'loadbackround'
menu.lua:1193 : in function 'loadbackroundsafe'
menu.lua:60 : in function 'menu_load'
intro.lua:27 : in function "intro_update"
main.lua:1087 :in function 'update'
main.lua:27 : in function <main.lua:26>
[C]: in function 'xpcall'
[C]: in function 'xpcall'

Curtis09
Posts: 4
Joined: 20 Feb 2019, 00:40

Post » 13 Mar 2019, 21:05

jeez that took a bit to type out

User avatar
HugoBDesigner
Posts: 2189
Joined: 19 Sep 2012, 02:23
Contact:

Post » 13 Mar 2019, 22:05

Hi, thanks for the report. Can you tell us what you were doing when the crash happened? What version of Mari0:CE were you using? (we really gotta add the version number to crash reports)
I just tried running the latest release version (1.4) with LÖVE 11.2 (the version you're playing) and it worked fine.

Curtis09
Posts: 4
Joined: 20 Feb 2019, 00:40

Post » 14 Mar 2019, 00:25

i was using the latest version of it.i was using the text tool and trying to make a sort of person with text for a level

User avatar
leosefcik
Posts: 1
Joined: 23 Apr 2019, 19:15
Contact:

Post » 23 Apr 2019, 19:23

Where should i put my 1.6 mappacks to convert them?

User avatar
I LÖVE LUA
Posts: 222
Joined: 12 Aug 2013, 13:19

Post » 23 Apr 2019, 20:34

You need to place them in the "toconvert" folder inside the "mari0_se" folder

Mistah Jorge
Posts: 6
Joined: 14 Feb 2019, 00:41

Post » 20 Sep 2019, 12:08

I've finished Chell (As best as i could...)
ImageImage
ImageImage

I think it might need some clean up but i really can't do better
http://www.mediafire.com/file/mps7kmvi6 ... l.zip/file
Technochips wrote:
13 Mar 2019, 15:58
Mari0: CE is apparently on the linux snap store

https://snapcraft.io/mari0-ce
Can we get a tux custom character to celebrate or something?

User avatar
Technochips
Posts: 608
Joined: 12 Mar 2015, 16:05
Contact:

Post » 22 Oct 2019, 20:34

that link is not official, and they're probably not gonna put a tux character in just because you could easily download it on linux for 7 months

MinDC
Posts: 81
Joined: 17 Aug 2021, 00:47

Post » 12 Sep 2021, 12:22

V1.5 pretty good, keep working
I have two suggestions:
1. Make the shell give more points and 1-ups
2. Make the star don't give more points and 1-ups any more
easy, right?
Also, you should make the none sprites for raccoon character.

MinDC
Posts: 81
Joined: 17 Aug 2021, 00:47

Post » 19 Sep 2021, 11:16

I really really don't want double posts, but have any one listen to me?

User avatar
HugoBDesigner
Posts: 2189
Joined: 19 Sep 2012, 02:23
Contact:

Post » 19 Sep 2021, 17:06

Sorry, I must have missed it the first time around. I've opened an issue on the repository with this bug. If you have more information to describe the current incorrect behavior and the desired correct behavior, that'd be of great help :)

MinDC
Posts: 81
Joined: 17 Aug 2021, 00:47

Post » 20 Sep 2021, 03:32

OK, thanks for answer my question, but I have one more:
Why mirror is doesn't work?

Some time I use the star and it don't give me more points and 1-up(weird)

User avatar
HugoBDesigner
Posts: 2189
Joined: 19 Sep 2012, 02:23
Contact:

Post » 20 Sep 2021, 14:10

I made an issue regarding the mirror tile issue.

I just ask you to please post further issues in the repository. It's easy to miss them if they're posted as comments here, I get email notifications about issues posted on the repository, and anyone can help try to fix the issue or implement the feature through pull requests and forks :)

MinDC
Posts: 81
Joined: 17 Aug 2021, 00:47

Post » 20 Sep 2021, 15:07

Very sorry, HugoB. I didn't khow :(
Now I will post on Github any issues I have find in this mod(and the way to fix issues if I khow)
Your mod is the best! :)

Mistah Jorge
Posts: 6
Joined: 14 Feb 2019, 00:41

Post » 21 Sep 2021, 06:06

Okay, so i found this very interesting glitch, which let's you double jump when you catch a power up mid-air.
Normally i would just make an issue on the github tracker (I'll still do it), but I decided make map pack centered around what you can do with this glitch.
Features:
  • A tutorial level with a skip-able end-section (it's really hard and isn't the focus of)
  • 2 Example levels
https://www.mediafire.com/file/7p1zodrz ... p.zip/file
Some more stuff to note:
  • Can only reproduce with keyboard
  • Does not work with fire mario

User avatar
Qwerbey
Posts: 1282
Joined: 05 Oct 2012, 07:58
Contact:

Post » 21 Sep 2021, 07:25

That's actually a feature, in order to replicate a bug in Super Mario Brothers. I remember Maurice posting something about it, but I can't seem to find it.

User avatar
HugoBDesigner
Posts: 2189
Joined: 19 Sep 2012, 02:23
Contact:

Post » 22 Sep 2021, 20:26

Just released version 1.6 of CE (whoo, same number as vanilla Mari0!). It's only a bugfix version though, with some small tweaks here and there. No new features or anything major:

https://github.com/Mari0-CE/Mari0-Commu ... es/tag/1.6

MinDC
Posts: 81
Joined: 17 Aug 2021, 00:47

Post » 23 Sep 2021, 08:01

Cool, I will try it now :)

MinDC
Posts: 81
Joined: 17 Aug 2021, 00:47

Post » 25 Sep 2021, 11:39

Qwerbey wrote:
21 Sep 2021, 07:25
That's actually a feature, in order to replicate a bug in Super Mario Brothers. I remember Maurice posting something about it, but I can't seem to find it.
Here:
https://blog.stabyourself.net/post/2454 ... -changelog

User avatar
kriptopsix
Posts: 28
Joined: 14 Jan 2024, 13:33

Post » 01 Feb 2024, 00:10

Please tell me why in CE, unlike SE, the Rainbow Dash character does not fly? I am attaching a screenshot from SE
4.jpg
4.jpg (175.9 KiB) Viewed 6030 times

User avatar
BlooKidandPoppy
Posts: 76
Joined: 16 Feb 2023, 00:25
Contact:

Post » 02 Feb 2024, 18:57

kriptopsix wrote:
01 Feb 2024, 00:10
Please tell me why in CE, unlike SE, the Rainbow Dash character does not fly? I am attaching a screenshot from SE
4.jpg
 Original UserName Is AstroFlare idk how to change username.... 

Character properties.. (meaning that there hasn't been any custom moves implemented with the character.

Also, don't bump this thread plz..

WilliamFrog
Posts: 229
Joined: 21 Jul 2020, 20:10
Contact:

Post » 12 Feb 2024, 07:17

SE or CE does not have custom moves, there are just a couple built in settings. It's probably a change made by CE for balance, and not a bug, but I don't actually know.

User avatar
HugoBDesigner
Posts: 2189
Joined: 19 Sep 2012, 02:23
Contact:

Post » 16 Feb 2024, 10:31

Please DO bump this thread. CE is still open to contributions on GitHub if anyone wants to help. I haven't been able to do much on my own because I've been busy with other projects and life, but if people want to continue reporting bugs/issues, and if people still want to contribute/bugfix stuff, please do so!

User avatar
Sky
Posts: 1283
Joined: 08 Mar 2012, 04:35
Contact:

Post » 17 Feb 2024, 23:11

WilliamFrog wrote:
12 Feb 2024, 07:17
It's probably a change made by CE for balance, and not a bug, but I don't actually know.
if i recall correctly, and i may be recalling incorrectly...
the double jump property was added in an SE beta, and removed in a later SE beta. CE simply never added it back

so my wager is that the version of SE shown in the screenshot is older than Beta 9

and yes, to reiterate, this is a pinned thread so "bumping" it is perfectly fine

Post Reply