Streaming game development: https://www.twitch.tv/stabyourself Image

Turret's Additional Animations/other (Update 7!)

Mods, guides how to use and install mods go right in here.
TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4645
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 718
Contact:

Post » 09 Sep 2014, 23:56

Turret's Additional Animations/Other(name is totally not a pun off alesans extra entities not at all)
Did you ever want to do something with animations that wasn't possible?

Like this?
Image

Or this?
Image

And that's just the beginning, of course. There's so many new things you can do, with animations stuffs like...

Code: Select all

--[[ TURRET'S CHANGELOG:
release
ADDED: Condition - When player's growstate is x value
ADDED: Trigger - When specific key is being pressed
NEW FILES EDITED: animation.lua, animationguiline.lua

update 1
ADDED: Action -   Gives a mushroom/flower to player x (action)
ADDED: Action - Players use invisible jetpack aka swimming
REMOVED: 4 from dropdown in Growstate

update 2
ADDED: Trigger - Always on (for testing purposes)
ADDED: Action - Plays a sound
ADDED: Action - Goes to the next level
ADDED: Jump option to "key is pressed" (thx hans)
ADDED: Math to addcoins and addpoints (thx mm102)

update 3
ADDED: Action - Dends output, e.g. open doors
ADDED: Trigger - Playerxgreater/playerxless in one
ADDED: Trigger - Playerygreater/playeryless in one
ADDED: Math to changetime
FIXED: Addpoints
FIXED: Loadnext on 1-4 brings you to 2-1
CHANGED: Name from "add" to "change" in-game for addcoins/addpoints
NEW FILES EDITED: animationtrigger.lua, entity.lua

"secret" update:
ADDED: Jetpack has on/off option

update 4
ADDED: button to make new maps
NEW FILES EDITED: editor.lua

update 5
ADDED: Enemy properties for creating cubes (box.json included!)
ADDED: Intermission.json created on mappack creation (also included!)
ADDED: "+" button for specific levels on mappack screen
ADDED: Loading texts when loading levels (todo: make it optional)
ADDED: Action - Change spriteset ... I think???
ADDED: Action - Presses a key
ADDED: Action - SPAWN ENEMY AT PLACES! (thx magicpillow sort of)
ADDED: Actions - Animate to walk slow, animate to run
ADDED: Mapload trigger now has checkbox for if it's an intermission
ADDED: Converted intermissions to the animation format
ADDED: Current X/Y buttons on Player X/Y triggers (todo: put into actions)
FIXED: Vanilla player x/y greater/less properties don't work
FIXED: Using animations to go to sublevels didn't work
CHANGED: Format of my changelog (this is really meta)
NEW FILES EDITED: enemy.lua, levelscreen.lua, menu.lua, mario.lua, game.lua
--]]
Now that's a lot of things! Just think about how much fun you'll have messing around with them.
And also using them in your mappacks. Make sure you do that. You know how happy I'd be? Very happy.

Turret's Additional Love File - $49.95
Just the edited files - $19.87
Last edited by TurretBot on 09 Mar 2015, 22:36, edited 22 times in total.

MagicPillow
User avatar
Posts: 1237
Joined: 20 Jul 2013, 04:59
Reputation: 301
Contact:

Post » 11 Sep 2014, 03:21

Awesome!
Could you possibley add some animation actions, too?
something something jetpack something almost something something

TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4645
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 718
Contact:

Post » 18 Sep 2014, 03:08

Updated with two animation actions!
"Give Mushroom" does exactly what you think it does.
The other one is this:
MagicPillow wrote:[nopesize=50]something something jetpack something almost something something[/size]

This took a while to make, but it's in as well. Was this even a suggestion?

B-Man99
So long, and thanks for all the fish.
Posts: 1922
Joined: 02 Jul 2012, 00:32
Reputation: 417
Contact:

Post » 18 Sep 2014, 03:18

That is fantastic! Not exactly sure what kind of suggestions you are taking, but I remembered a conversation in the SE ideas thread that might have something that fits.
alesan99 wrote:Animations suggestions:
Change background. Not the color but the image.
animate to run

B-Man99 wrote:Animation actions: Change gravity direction, add sublevel to "load level," play sound, trigger (x,y)

Seriously though, nice work so far. I'm glad to see things like this which would really help level creators.

search.php?keywords=animation&t=484 You can find a ton of stuff here that since they've already been suggested it could probably make a lot of people happy. I doubt some of them would be easy enough to mod but there's probably others which would work as good suggestions for this (some of them are already in this! :D)

TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4645
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 718
Contact:

Post » 18 Sep 2014, 03:58

B-Man99 wrote:Not exactly sure what kind of suggestions you are taking,

Just any animation you'd like to see in the mod
But read the todo first because I already have some planned

MagicPillow
User avatar
Posts: 1237
Joined: 20 Jul 2013, 04:59
Reputation: 301
Contact:

Post » 18 Sep 2014, 06:45

Maybe an animation to spawn an enemy at the player?
something something making custom fireballs something

Sergione
Posts: 217
Joined: 07 May 2014, 16:02
Reputation: 4
Contact:

Post » 18 Sep 2014, 13:54

Seem great these animations, but for now I'm not on the computer that is Mario SE, anyway congrats Turret! ;D

TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4645
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 718
Contact:

Post » 24 Sep 2014, 23:14

Oh by the way, there was an update yesterday
I didn't make a post about it though because brain plz

Mari0_Player
User avatar
Posts: 415
Joined: 23 Sep 2013, 00:48
Reputation: 49

Post » 04 Oct 2014, 05:41

Could you put "use" and "resetportals" as options for the keypressed trigger?

JohnHOne
User avatar
Posts: 347
Joined: 13 Jul 2014, 23:55
Reputation: 8

Post » 31 Oct 2014, 01:40

good joke of fake price
i still can download without mariocoins

Mari0_Player
User avatar
Posts: 415
Joined: 23 Sep 2013, 00:48
Reputation: 49

Post » 31 Oct 2014, 18:49

Bug report: loadnext, when used on World 1-4 and 1-3, brings me to World 2-0 and tells me that I have finished the mappack.
Request: Add growstate as an action, too (as "set power-up level") , so you can decide how buffed-up the player is (or just take away his mushroom).

TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4645
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 718
Contact:

Post » 31 Oct 2014, 21:45

Grow is already an action! It's "Give Mushroom", if I recall correctly.

Mari0_Player
User avatar
Posts: 415
Joined: 23 Sep 2013, 00:48
Reputation: 49

Post » 01 Nov 2014, 03:37

You can't take away his mushroom/flower though, can you?

TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4645
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 718
Contact:

Post » 01 Nov 2014, 03:42

Ooohhhh...yeah, that's true. I'll add that. :P

QwertymanO07
User avatar
Posts: 1312
Joined: 05 Oct 2012, 07:58
Reputation: 377
Contact:

Post » 01 Nov 2014, 05:53

Actually, you can just use kill.

TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4645
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 718
Contact:

Post » 07 Dec 2014, 04:19

Image
Did somebody say...update?
No, but that doesn't mean full I/O object control with animations isn't awesome!

The other thing in this update is:
Image
More dropdowns! (Just like this spoiler...sort of.)

Get the DLC: $2.99

EDIT:
Image
That doesn't look like an animation to me...

Squidish
User avatar
Posts: 806
Joined: 05 Apr 2014, 04:04
Reputation: 214
Contact:

Post » 07 Dec 2014, 04:30

Nice Mod! I love the additional worlds, and a neat way to make mappacks! ^.^

Mari0_Player
User avatar
Posts: 415
Joined: 23 Sep 2013, 00:48
Reputation: 49

Post » 07 Dec 2014, 05:59

Image
Using 9enemies_mapfix, this is what happens whenever I try to create a level.
Image
Same thing happens whenever I try to access that level after reopening Mari0.

TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4645
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 718
Contact:

Post » 07 Dec 2014, 07:06

I don't know about 9enemies_mapfix. It broke the levels in my mappack, so I stopped using it. It doesn't say what the nil value is, so I can't do anything without having 9enemies_mapfix...

Squidish
User avatar
Posts: 806
Joined: 05 Apr 2014, 04:04
Reputation: 214
Contact:

Post » 10 Dec 2014, 18:18

I dragged the .lua files into my mappacks folder, it won't come up. What am I doing wrong?

HansAgain
User avatar
Posts: 1135
Joined: 03 Feb 2012, 18:51
Reputation: 266
Contact:

Post » 10 Dec 2014, 20:00

You have to put them on the game folder(the folder with the name "mari0_se"), not your mappack's.

Turret said it on the first post:
TurretBot wrote:(where your mappack folder is)

Mari0_Player
User avatar
Posts: 415
Joined: 23 Sep 2013, 00:48
Reputation: 49

Post » 18 Dec 2014, 19:43

How exactly does the new output command work? How do I get it to trigger doors/etc.?

TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4645
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 718
Contact:

Post » 18 Dec 2014, 22:17

It's basically the same thing as the animation trigger: It sends an output to an animation trigger with the same ID.
In order for this to do anything you'll need to link other objects into an animation trigger.

Animation trigger IDs can be used for either an input or output!
For example you can create animation triggers that output both to an animation that later outputs this same trigger to a door/laser/etc.

TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4645
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 718
Contact:

Post » 23 Dec 2014, 02:50

bump
Don't worry I'm not dead
Image
I was working on this
Special thanks to Hugo for troubleshooting helping me out

EDIT: The new update is READY!!
Changelog for this update

Code: Select all

update 5
ADDED: Enemy properties for creating cubes (box.json included!)
ADDED: Intermission.json created on mappack creation (also included!)
ADDED: "+" button for specific levels on mappack screen
ADDED: Loading texts when loading levels (todo: make it optional)
ADDED: Action - Change spriteset ... I think???
ADDED: Action - Presses a key
ADDED: Action - SPAWN ENEMY AT PLACES! (thx magicpillow sort of)
ADDED: Actions - Animate to walk slow, animate to run
ADDED: Mapload trigger now has checkbox for if it's an intermission
ADDED: Converted intermissions to the animation format
ADDED: Current X/Y buttons on Player X/Y triggers (todo: put into actions)
FIXED: Vanilla player x/y greater/less properties don't work
FIXED: Using animations to go to sublevels didn't work
CHANGED: Format of my changelog (this is really meta)
NEW FILES EDITED: enemy.lua, levelscreen.lua, menu.lua, mario.lua, game.lua

That's a lot, some highlights:
- New mappacks tab format, lets you make sublevels (new levels will be clones of "base.txt" if you have one!)
- Weighted storage cube enemies and respective properties
- Converted intermissions to animation system

Be sure to add intermission.json to your mappacks or intermissions will not be customizable!
It should look like this by default:
Image

And of course you can edit it as much as you want :D
Have fun!
Last edited by TurretBot on 23 Dec 2014, 05:16, edited 1 time in total.

Mari0_Player
User avatar
Posts: 415
Joined: 23 Sep 2013, 00:48
Reputation: 49

Post » 23 Dec 2014, 04:43

So will other people need to download the mod for the grabbable enemies to work?

TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4645
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 718
Contact:

Post » 23 Dec 2014, 04:54

no I have a magical system where I modded the game so the mod is a virus that mods others' vanilla

...yes they will have to
wow that was rude

Mari0_Player
User avatar
Posts: 415
Joined: 23 Sep 2013, 00:48
Reputation: 49

Post » 01 Jan 2015, 19:12

Getting this error whenever I press esc since I got the new update, ok we get it you hate mapfix even after replacing the new files with the old ones. The mappack shown here doesn't even use any of the additional animations (yet).
Image

TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4645
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 718
Contact:

Post » 03 Jan 2015, 00:40

Okay so about your bug, I'm not sure
But I don't get that error so I made a .love version of this mod (although it's still a .zip so it's easy to ammend, but you can rename it)

So I recommend checking this version of the mod for any weird bugs you may have been getting *unsubtly looking upwards*: Turret's Additional Love File

Mari0_Player
User avatar
Posts: 415
Joined: 23 Sep 2013, 00:48
Reputation: 49

Post » 03 Jan 2015, 21:06

The additional love file works perfectly, though I'm guessing that's because it doesn't use mapfix.

Mari0_Player
User avatar
Posts: 415
Joined: 23 Sep 2013, 00:48
Reputation: 49

Post » 14 Jan 2015, 02:57

I really, really don't like the new intermission system... why?
1. Every map that wasn't made using Turret's Additional Animations has broken intermission levels
2. The animation exists by default whenever you create a mappack, and therefore trying to test your levels at all just has you walking to the right the whole until you delete the animation
3. If the player just wanted a custom intermission in vanilla SE, they could just check off the "Intermission" checkbox and use animations to simulate it.

TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4645
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 718
Contact:

Post » 14 Jan 2015, 03:41

I know its dumb. But it's better in the next update, I'll probably have it up tomorrowsince you reminded me. Chances are though, if you're using this mod you're probably using something incompatible with vanilla SE anyway
1. Yeah I know it's kind of bad. Its better in the next version because it only activates the custom intermission when your using a custom one, I dont know why I havent switched yet (there's probably some glaring crash I need to fix first so ill get to that)
2. Yeah for some reason checkboxes dont work EVEN THOUGH THEY WORKED WHEN I WAS MAKING THEM WHAT THE FUCK *couch* hey did i ever mention i hate gui elements. but anywyay fixed for next update
3. No shit, but I thought it would be cool to make. also I was wrong Actually, you can't really simulate the intermission accurately in vanilla SE (animate to walk is too fast). I get your point though

EDIT:
Just so you know because I didn't say it yet, in the next update, it's just a condition (intermission = true/false, and I'll probably do this for bonusstage and underwater, minus the disabling)
If you have it set to true, then it will disable the default intermission when it passes, in any other case it will use the default.

Mari0_Player
User avatar
Posts: 415
Joined: 23 Sep 2013, 00:48
Reputation: 49

Post » 24 Jan 2015, 02:53

Action: Disable Scrolling vertically/horizontally/completely
Condition: Time Left Is >/</= _ seconds
Would be cool to see in the mod.

HugoBDesigner
User avatar
Posts: 2121
Joined: 19 Sep 2012, 02:23
Reputation: 673
Contact:

Post » 24 Jan 2015, 03:05

Not sure if we have those, but:
Action: Set Scrolling X/Set Scrolling Y
Condition: Player is on scroll area (good for those "moving camera" levels where you die if you get too much before)

TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4645
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 718
Contact:

Post » 30 Jan 2015, 22:27

Okay I'm really sorry I forgot to update this like seven times!! D:

But here, I updated it with the most recent files:And I'll try to add the stuff you suggested soon!
X/Y Camera locking might be in this update because I remember making it for WillWare, but it's not in my changelog so, I dunno :|
There's also a single DLC mappack with an empty level.

Code: Select all

update 6
ADDED: Enemies bounce on blue gel (why wasn't this in already?)
ADDED: "Nogeleffects" property or something like that
ADDED: Custom mappack DLC that I have no mappacks for
ADDED: Intermissions are better in every way possible
FIXED: Mario goes left when getting a powerup during animate to walk/run

Mari0_Player
User avatar
Posts: 415
Joined: 23 Sep 2013, 00:48
Reputation: 49

Post » 07 Feb 2015, 18:59

Wait, how do you make sublevels with the new map interface?

TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4645
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 718
Contact:

Post » 08 Feb 2015, 04:19

There should be a little + button on a map you've already made, this will make a sublevel.

Mari0_Player
User avatar
Posts: 415
Joined: 23 Sep 2013, 00:48
Reputation: 49

Post » 08 Feb 2015, 16:19

Image
Don't see it...

Doormat
User avatar
Posts: 300
Joined: 20 Aug 2013, 02:33
Reputation: 67

Post » 08 Feb 2015, 17:45

I downloaded the .love, tried running it under 0.8.0, 0.9.0 and 0.9.1 and it wouldn't work. The latter two threw this error. Am I doing something wrong?

EDIT: Turns out it was because my mappacks used the beta 8 delimiters. I'm fine now.

Squidish
User avatar
Posts: 806
Joined: 05 Apr 2014, 04:04
Reputation: 214
Contact:

Post » 11 Feb 2015, 01:45

Very useful mod! Perhaps you could add disable jumping, throw fireball, and toggle gun?

TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4645
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 718
Contact:

Post » 11 Feb 2015, 02:36

PrincessKiller wrote:toggle gun?

What's this supposed to do?

Anyway, recently I added custom players, which is basically custom enemies with Mario. It's different from having custom character properties because it's specific to your mappack, and pretty much also doubles as custom variables.

Currently I've added these (in addition to already existing stuff like his mask or fastest running speed):
  • "CantSwim": Not affected by water tiles or underwater levels.
  • "Bouncy": Acts like everything is covered in blue gel.
  • "CustomPortalColors": Uses the custom portal colors in single-player.
Obviously the first two make more sense as character properties, so loading properties from characters will probably happen too (but only on maps that allow it.)

I'll still be adding more as I go through mario.lua but I'd love to hear your ideas too!
also yes i finaly fixed intermision godamit

HugoBDesigner
User avatar
Posts: 2121
Joined: 19 Sep 2012, 02:23
Reputation: 673
Contact:

Post » 11 Feb 2015, 02:53

When he said "toggle gun" I think he meant setting the portal gun on and off, which would actually be something pretty amazing if you could do...

TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4645
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 718
Contact:

Post » 11 Feb 2015, 02:58

Actually, that is genius and is definitely getting in.

Squidish
User avatar
Posts: 806
Joined: 05 Apr 2014, 04:04
Reputation: 214
Contact:

Post » 11 Feb 2015, 02:59

TurretBot wrote:Actually, that is genius and is definitely getting in.

Glad I could help :3

Mari0_Player
User avatar
Posts: 415
Joined: 23 Sep 2013, 00:48
Reputation: 49

Post » 20 Feb 2015, 19:42

Mari0_Player wrote:Wait, how do you make sublevels with the new map interface?

I'd still like to know this because I'm making a map and chances are it's gonna have sublevels in it. I don't see any + next to World 1-1, though...

Squidish
User avatar
Posts: 806
Joined: 05 Apr 2014, 04:04
Reputation: 214
Contact:

Post » 20 Feb 2015, 19:46

TurretBot wrote:I added custom players

This literally made my day. It's a feature I've been DYING to see in Mari0 SE but I couldn't put it in words. You, sir, are a genius.

TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4645
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 718
Contact:

Post » 21 Feb 2015, 01:46

Mari0_Player wrote:
Mari0_Player wrote:Wait, how do you make sublevels with the new map interface?

I'd still like to know this because I'm making a map and chances are it's gonna have sublevels in it. I don't see any + next to World 1-1, though...

Screenshot? Also, have you updated to the latest version blah blah

MM102
User avatar
Posts: 1015
Joined: 11 May 2012, 06:08
Reputation: 498

Post » 21 Feb 2015, 01:57

theres no way to do it currently you just need to copy a level file and rename it to 1-1_1 or something
but thats not related to the mod so this is a bit off topic
carry on now

Mari0_Player
User avatar
Posts: 415
Joined: 23 Sep 2013, 00:48
Reputation: 49

Post » 21 Feb 2015, 03:11

TurretBot wrote:
Mari0_Player wrote:
Mari0_Player wrote:Wait, how do you make sublevels with the new map interface?

I'd still like to know this because I'm making a map and chances are it's gonna have sublevels in it. I don't see any + next to World 1-1, though...

Screenshot? Also, have you updated to the latest version blah blah

Image
redownloaded Turret's Additional Love File to make sure it's the latest version and still

TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4645
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 718
Contact:

Post » 21 Feb 2015, 03:41

Mari0_Player wrote:
TurretBot wrote:
Mari0_Player wrote:I'd still like to know this because I'm making a map and chances are it's gonna have sublevels in it. I don't see any + next to World 1-1, though...

Screenshot? Also, have you updated to the latest version blah blah

Image
redownloaded Turret's Additional Love File to make sure it's the latest version and still

Image

you must be doing something wrong??????????????

Mari0_Player
User avatar
Posts: 415
Joined: 23 Sep 2013, 00:48
Reputation: 49

Post » 21 Feb 2015, 17:10

TurretBot wrote:
Mari0_Player wrote:
TurretBot wrote:Screenshot? Also, have you updated to the latest version blah blah

Image
redownloaded Turret's Additional Love File to make sure it's the latest version and still

Image

you must be doing something wrong??????????????

Apparently. Redownloaded it 2 times and still doesn't work... neither does "Spawn enemy at places", "Change spriteset", "Animate to walk slow", or "Animate to run" though.


Return to “Modding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron