Streaming game development: https://www.twitch.tv/stabyourself Image

Editor Button Fixer Thingy [SE]

Mods, guides how to use and install mods go right in here.
MagicPillow
User avatar
Posts: 1234
Joined: 20 Jul 2013, 04:59
Reputation: 296
Contact:

Post » 31 Mar 2014, 23:45

This will fix the glitch where buttons are clicked outside of the menu.
All credit goes to Alesan99. They did everything in this mod.
Last edited by MagicPillow on 01 Apr 2014, 04:02, edited 1 time in total.

alesan99
User avatar
Posts: 1636
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Reputation: 265
Contact:

Post » 31 Mar 2014, 23:58


MagicPillow
User avatar
Posts: 1234
Joined: 20 Jul 2013, 04:59
Reputation: 296
Contact:

Post » 01 Apr 2014, 01:40

It doesn't seem to work...
Just in case I wasn't clear enough, I mean the random level selecting outside of the menu that makes you lose your work.

SauloFX
User avatar
Posts: 617
Joined: 26 Feb 2014, 02:52
Reputation: 84

Post » 01 Apr 2014, 02:25

oh yeah,i know what causes this,i wish i know coding to help you.

alesan99
User avatar
Posts: 1636
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Reputation: 265
Contact:

Post » 01 Apr 2014, 02:35

MagicPillow wrote:It doesn't seem to work...
Just in case I wasn't clear enough, I mean the random level selecting outside of the menu that makes you lose your work.

That's what it fixes. Works for me...
Did you replace it correctly?

MagicPillow
User avatar
Posts: 1234
Joined: 20 Jul 2013, 04:59
Reputation: 296
Contact:

Post » 01 Apr 2014, 03:02

I removed the old editor.lua and put the new one in it's place.
Image
The map changes whenever I click where a level select button would be.
Does this happen to anyone else with the new editor?

zorua7551
User avatar
Posts: 194
Joined: 10 Jul 2013, 04:23
Reputation: 5

Post » 01 Apr 2014, 03:07

MagicPillow wrote:I removed the old editor.lua and put the new one in it's place.
*Place Image Here*
The map changes whenever I click where a level select button would be.
Does this happen to anyone else with the new editor?


Nope, Doesn't happen to me. Also, in what way does the map change?
Does it switch to another map or map level? or do the tiles (or enemies) get screwed up?

MagicPillow
User avatar
Posts: 1234
Joined: 20 Jul 2013, 04:59
Reputation: 296
Contact:

Post » 01 Apr 2014, 03:09

zorua7551 wrote:
MagicPillow wrote:I removed the old editor.lua and put the new one in it's place.
*Place Image Here*
The map changes whenever I click where a level select button would be.
Does this happen to anyone else with the new editor?


Nope, Doesn't happen to me. Also, in what way does the map change?
Does it switch to another map or map level? or do the tiles (or enemies) get screwed up?

It switches to another level...
Is there a version of SE that I missed or something?

alesan99
User avatar
Posts: 1636
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Reputation: 265
Contact:

Post » 01 Apr 2014, 03:10

You seem to have replaced it wrong.
Try again and if that doesn't work for some reason then open up the editor.lua, go to line 1109 and replace the tab functions with these

Code: Select all

function maintab()
   if _G["from" .. editorstate .. "tab"] then
      _G["from" .. editorstate .. "tab"]()
   end

   editorstate = "main"
   for i, v in pairs(guielements) do
      v.active = false
   end
   for i, v in pairs(mapbuttons) do
      v.active = false
   end
   
   guielements["tabmain"].fillcolor = {0, 0, 0}
   guielements["tabtiles"].fillcolor = {63, 63, 63}
   guielements["tabtools"].fillcolor = {63, 63, 63}
   guielements["tabmaps"].fillcolor = {63, 63, 63}
   guielements["tabanimations"].fillcolor = {63, 63, 63}
   guielements["tabmain"].active = true
   guielements["tabtiles"].active = true
   guielements["tabtools"].active = true
   guielements["tabmaps"].active = true
   guielements["tabanimations"].active = true
   
   guielements["colorsliderr"].active = true
   guielements["colorsliderg"].active = true
   guielements["colorsliderb"].active = true
   for i = 1, #backgroundcolor do
      guielements["defaultcolor" .. i].active = true
   end
   
   guielements["autoscrollcheckbox"].active = true
   guielements["musicdropdown"].active = true
   guielements["spritesetdropdown"].active = true
   guielements["timelimitdecrease"].active = true
   guielements["timelimitincrease"].active = true
   guielements["portalgundropdown"].active = true
   guielements["savebutton"].active = true
   guielements["menubutton"].active = true
   guielements["testbutton"].active = true
   guielements["widthbutton"].active = true
   guielements["intermissioncheckbox"].active = true
   guielements["warpzonecheckbox"].active = true
   guielements["underwatercheckbox"].active = true
   guielements["bonusstagecheckbox"].active = true
   guielements["custombackgroundcheckbox"].active = true
   guielements["customforegroundcheckbox"].active = true
   guielements["scrollfactorscrollbar"].active = true
   guielements["fscrollfactorscrollbar"].active = true
   guielements["backgrounddropdown"].active = true
   guielements["foregrounddropdown"].active = true
   guielements["levelscreendropdown"].active = true
end

function tilestab()
   if _G["from" .. editorstate .. "tab"] then
      _G["from" .. editorstate .. "tab"]()
   end

   editorstate = "tiles"
   for i, v in pairs(guielements) do
      v.active = false
   end
   
   guielements["tabmain"].fillcolor = {63, 63, 63}
   guielements["tabtiles"].fillcolor = {0, 0, 0}
   guielements["tabtools"].fillcolor = {63, 63, 63}
   guielements["tabmaps"].fillcolor = {63, 63, 63}
   guielements["tabanimations"].fillcolor = {63, 63, 63}
   guielements["tabmain"].active = true
   guielements["tabtiles"].active = true
   guielements["tabtools"].active = true
   guielements["tabmaps"].active = true
   guielements["tabanimations"].active = true
   
   guielements["tilesscrollbar"].active = true
   
   guielements["tilesall"].active = true
   guielements["tilessmb"].active = true
   guielements["tilesportal"].active = true
   guielements["tilescustom"].active = true
   guielements["tilesanimated"].active = true
   guielements["tilesentities"].active = true
   guielements["tilesenemies"].active = true
   
   for i, v in pairs(mapbuttons) do
      v.active = false
   end
end

function toolstab()
   if _G["from" .. editorstate .. "tab"] then
      _G["from" .. editorstate .. "tab"]()
   end

   editorstate = "tools"
   for i, v in pairs(guielements) do
      v.active = false
   end
   
   guielements["tabmain"].fillcolor = {63, 63, 63}
   guielements["tabtiles"].fillcolor = {63, 63, 63}
   guielements["tabtools"].fillcolor = {0, 0, 0}
   guielements["tabmaps"].fillcolor = {63, 63, 63}
   guielements["tabanimations"].fillcolor = {63, 63, 63}
   guielements["tabmain"].active = true
   guielements["tabtiles"].active = true
   guielements["tabtools"].active = true
   guielements["tabmaps"].active = true
   guielements["tabanimations"].active = true
   
   guielements["selectionbutton"].active = true
   guielements["lightdrawbutton"].active = true
   guielements["edittitle"].active = true
   guielements["editauthor"].active = true
   guielements["editdescription"].active = true
   guielements["savesettings"].active = true
   
   guielements["livesdecrease"].active = true
   guielements["livesincrease"].active = true
   
   for i, v in pairs(mapbuttons) do
      v.active = false
   end
end

function mapstab()
   if _G["from" .. editorstate .. "tab"] then
      _G["from" .. editorstate .. "tab"]()
   end

   editorstate = "maps"
   for i, v in pairs(guielements) do
      v.active = false
   end
   
   guielements["tabmain"].fillcolor = {63, 63, 63}
   guielements["tabtiles"].fillcolor = {63, 63, 63}
   guielements["tabtools"].fillcolor = {63, 63, 63}
   guielements["tabmaps"].fillcolor = {0, 0, 0}
   guielements["tabanimations"].fillcolor = {63, 63, 63}
   guielements["tabmain"].active = true
   guielements["tabtiles"].active = true
   guielements["tabtools"].active = true
   guielements["tabmaps"].active = true
   guielements["tabanimations"].active = true
   guielements["mapscrollbar"].active = true
   
   for i, v in pairs(mapbuttons) do
      v.active = true
   end
end

function animationstab()
   if _G["from" .. editorstate .. "tab"] then
      _G["from" .. editorstate .. "tab"]()
   end

   editorstate = "animations"
   for i, v in pairs(guielements) do
      v.active = false
   end
   
   guielements["tabmain"].fillcolor = {63, 63, 63}
   guielements["tabtiles"].fillcolor = {63, 63, 63}
   guielements["tabtools"].fillcolor = {63, 63, 63}
   guielements["tabmaps"].fillcolor = {63, 63, 63}
   guielements["tabanimations"].fillcolor = {0, 0, 0}
   guielements["tabmain"].active = true
   guielements["tabtiles"].active = true
   guielements["tabtools"].active = true
   guielements["tabmaps"].active = true
   guielements["tabanimations"].active = true
   
   guielements["animationsscrollbarver"].active = true
   guielements["animationsscrollbarhor"].active = true
   guielements["animationsavebutton"].active = true
   guielements["animationselectdrop"].active = true
   guielements["animationnewbutton"].active = true
   
   generateanimationgui()
   
   for i, v in pairs(mapbuttons) do
      v.active = false
   end
end

MagicPillow
User avatar
Posts: 1234
Joined: 20 Jul 2013, 04:59
Reputation: 296
Contact:

Post » 01 Apr 2014, 03:24

Still no.
This is so weird...


MagicPillow
User avatar
Posts: 1234
Joined: 20 Jul 2013, 04:59
Reputation: 296
Contact:

Post » 01 Apr 2014, 03:33

It still doesn't work...
I am so confused...

alesan99
User avatar
Posts: 1636
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Reputation: 265
Contact:

Post » 01 Apr 2014, 03:35

Ok so the problem is that you can still press the map buttons even if the map menu isn't up, right?

MagicPillow
User avatar
Posts: 1234
Joined: 20 Jul 2013, 04:59
Reputation: 296
Contact:

Post » 01 Apr 2014, 03:43

Yes, that's the problem.
I've tried using the new editor.lua, replacing the text in the old one, and opening the new .love file.
I have no clue why this happens. It does it on every mappack.

The strange thing is that before, in previous SE versions, you could change the background color outside of the menu.
Now that doesn't happen. Maybe this has something to do with it?

alesan99
User avatar
Posts: 1636
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Reputation: 265
Contact:

Post » 01 Apr 2014, 03:51

Ohhh I see what's happening. You can't press the buttons when the editor menu is open but when it's closed you can.
Fixed
https://www.dropbox.com/s/19oqhehijd2eqrt/editor.lua

MagicPillow
User avatar
Posts: 1234
Joined: 20 Jul 2013, 04:59
Reputation: 296
Contact:

Post » 01 Apr 2014, 03:54

Uhh... The map now crashes whenever I try to edit a level...

alesan99
User avatar
Posts: 1636
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Reputation: 265
Contact:

Post » 01 Apr 2014, 03:58


SauloFX
User avatar
Posts: 617
Joined: 26 Feb 2014, 02:52
Reputation: 84

Post » 01 Apr 2014, 03:59

Maurice Just created:Master Glitch

But yeah,that's exactly what happens to me,at the same time were in any other tab,were in the map tab too,i suggest making a map preview made 2X2 so you have less chance in clicking in the map preview

MagicPillow
User avatar
Posts: 1234
Joined: 20 Jul 2013, 04:59
Reputation: 296
Contact:

Post » 01 Apr 2014, 04:01

THANK YOU!!!
Now I can finally continue working on my mappack without that annoying glitch...
I'll edit the first post so that anyone who wants the new editor can find it easily.

SauloFX
User avatar
Posts: 617
Joined: 26 Feb 2014, 02:52
Reputation: 84

Post » 01 Apr 2014, 04:03

Thank you Alesan!

Superjustinbros
User avatar
Posts: 2101
Joined: 29 Mar 2012, 20:39
Reputation: 132
Contact:

Post » 03 Apr 2014, 06:08

If I ever experiment with Mari0's editor, I'll be sure to download this.

Turtle95
User avatar
Posts: 1275
Joined: 21 Mar 2012, 21:48
Reputation: 122
Contact:

Post » 05 Apr 2014, 22:14

Well, since it's also annoying the editor crashes because the maps are not made until you open the editor/maps tab, here's a fix for that which includes Alesan's editor button fix:

http://www.mediafire.com/view/mjh8bbcey ... EBeta.love

MM102
User avatar
Posts: 1015
Joined: 11 May 2012, 06:08
Reputation: 498

Post » 05 Apr 2014, 22:34

does anyone else get the map reset bug when you use the ceiling entity?

Turtle95
User avatar
Posts: 1275
Joined: 21 Mar 2012, 21:48
Reputation: 122
Contact:

Post » 11 Apr 2014, 18:50

MM102 wrote:does anyone else get the map reset bug when you use the ceiling entity?


I don't think so. It could still be something else that is causing it.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/i138zmbn3svzt ... EBeta.love

I also fixed the link to the fix just now.

Danny
User avatar
Posts: 207
Joined: 26 Oct 2013, 05:22
Reputation: 5

Post » 26 Jul 2014, 21:27

i found the most annoying error, if you edit a level text file in any way (even if you revert to the old changes) the level you edited crashes upon load, even deleting the file and recreating the level doesnt fix this error

MagicPillow
User avatar
Posts: 1234
Joined: 20 Jul 2013, 04:59
Reputation: 296
Contact:

Post » 26 Jul 2014, 21:42

Danny wrote:i found the most annoying error, if you edit a level text file in any way (even if you revert to the old changes) the level you edited crashes upon load, even deleting the file and recreating the level doesnt fix this error

This is what's been happening to me too!
I find it's best to keep a backup of the mappack.

Danny
User avatar
Posts: 207
Joined: 26 Oct 2013, 05:22
Reputation: 5

Post » 26 Jul 2014, 21:45

MagicPillow wrote:
Danny wrote:i found the most annoying error, if you edit a level text file in any way (even if you revert to the old changes) the level you edited crashes upon load, even deleting the file and recreating the level doesnt fix this error

This is what's been happening to me too!
I find it's best to keep a backup of the mappack.



so its not just me then


i tried deleting the entire se folder and nothing changed, i have deleted the level files themselves and still crashes

MagicPillow
User avatar
Posts: 1234
Joined: 20 Jul 2013, 04:59
Reputation: 296
Contact:

Post » 26 Jul 2014, 21:50

Hmm... well I don't know. If you deleted the level txt file and it still crashes, it's probably something else making it crash.

Danny
User avatar
Posts: 207
Joined: 26 Oct 2013, 05:22
Reputation: 5

Post » 26 Jul 2014, 22:15

maybe, what do you think it is?

GreenScreenBot
User avatar
Posts: 12
Joined: 02 Aug 2014, 15:30
Reputation: 0

Post » 03 Aug 2014, 03:55

alesan99 wrote:Replace the editor.lua with this
https://www.dropbox.com/s/19oqhehijd2eqrt/editor.lua

Image
And that?!?

MagicPillow
User avatar
Posts: 1234
Joined: 20 Jul 2013, 04:59
Reputation: 296
Contact:

Post » 03 Aug 2014, 04:01

Why would you try to use a mod that fixes the level editor in the version where the level editor isn't broken?

JohnHOne
User avatar
Posts: 347
Joined: 13 Jul 2014, 23:55
Reputation: 8

Post » 30 Oct 2014, 23:45

GreenScreenBot wrote:
alesan99 wrote:Replace the editor.lua with this
https://www.dropbox.com/s/19oqhehijd2eqrt/editor.lua

Image
And that?!?

problem? you are not using love 0.9.0(you can use love 0.9.1 too)
if its still happening,try turtle's fix of the crash(includes alesan's fix)


Return to “Modding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron