Mari0 Modding Help Thread

Mods, guides how to use and install mods go right in here.
User avatar
Mari0Maker
Posts: 1348
Joined: 07 Apr 2012, 17:10
Contact:

Post » 28 Sep 2013, 23:37

If you need help with modding Mari0, just post here!

You can also ask one of these users for help by posting here or PM'ing them. You can ask if you'd like to be on this list too. Problems solved so far
In order of appearance. This does not count for problems solved via PM.
  • ●Adding more music
    ●Changing single player portal colors
    ●Fixing title screen Mario when changing a character (without the Character Loader mod)
    ●Changing the title of the game (the title bar)
    ●intermission.ogg lagging the game (replace "static" with "stream")
    ●Changing single player Mario colors
    ●Changing default Portal colors
Last edited by Mari0Maker on 03 Nov 2013, 01:21, edited 14 times in total.

User avatar
HugoBDesigner
Posts: 2188
Joined: 19 Sep 2012, 02:23
Contact:

Post » 29 Sep 2013, 00:20

I think the colors are predefined in rgblist.lua, if I remember correctly.
To add more music to the editor, go to editor.lua and change this line:

Code: Select all

	guielements["musicdropdown"] = guielement:new("dropdown", 17, 110, 11, changemusic, musici, "none", "overworld", "underground", "castle", "underwater", "star", "custom")
And add to the list the musics you want AFTER "custom" (it's better add after "custom" so you don't have to do a giant work trying to change the custom music settings).
Add the musics you want to the "sounds" folder, and add it's name (without .ogg) to this list (on musicloader.lua):

Code: Select all

music:load{
	"overworld",
	"overworld-fast",
	"underground",
	"underground-fast",
	"castle",
	"castle-fast",
	"underwater",
	"underwater-fast",
	"starmusic",
	"starmusic-fast",
	"princessmusic",
}
Not sure if it'll work, but just in case (since custom musics are loaded as the 8th item of this list, even not being there), change it to this:

Code: Select all

music:load{
	"overworld",
	"overworld-fast",
	"underground",
	"underground-fast",
	"castle",
	"castle-fast",
	"underwater",
	"underwater-fast",
	"starmusic",
	"starmusic-fast",
	"princessmusic",
	"",
	"SOME OTHER(S) MUSIC(S) YOU WANT"
}

User avatar
Mari0Maker
Posts: 1348
Joined: 07 Apr 2012, 17:10
Contact:

Post » 29 Sep 2013, 00:27

Thanks, I'll test it out! :)
Another thing I'd like to fix: how can I remove the delay from the coinblock (? Block)?

User avatar
alesan99
Posts: 2335
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Contact:

Post » 29 Sep 2013, 00:53

Mari0Maker wrote:Thanks, I'll test it out! :)
Another thing I'd like to fix: how can I remove the delay from the coinblock (? Block)?
Variables.lua

Code: Select all

coinblocktime = 0.3
coinblockdelay = 0.5/30
I think you need to change this.

Fire Colors

Main.lua

Code: Select all

	starcolors[1] = {{  0,   0,   0}, {200,  76,  12}, {252, 188, 176}}
	starcolors[2] = {{  0, 168,   0}, {252, 152,  56}, {252, 252, 252}}
	starcolors[3] = {{252, 216, 168}, {216,  40,   0}, {252, 152,  56}}
	starcolors[4] = {{216,  40,   0}, {252, 152,  56}, {252, 252, 252}}
	
	flowercolor = {{252, 216, 168}, {216,  40,   0}, {252, 152,  56}}
Just change starcolors[3].

User avatar
Mari0Maker
Posts: 1348
Joined: 07 Apr 2012, 17:10
Contact:

Post » 29 Sep 2013, 00:59

alesan99 wrote:
Mari0Maker wrote:Thanks, I'll test it out! :)
Another thing I'd like to fix: how can I remove the delay from the coinblock (? Block)?
Variables.lua

Code: Select all

coinblocktime = 0.3
coinblockdelay = 0.5/30
I think you need to change this.
Made both "coinblockdelay" values 0, didn't change anything.

User avatar
Qwerbey
Posts: 1280
Joined: 05 Oct 2012, 07:58
Contact:

Post » 29 Sep 2013, 01:00

Does anybody know how to change the single player portal colors?

User avatar
alesan99
Posts: 2335
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Contact:

Post » 29 Sep 2013, 01:02

Mari0Maker wrote:Made both "coinblockdelay" values 0, didn't change anything.
Maybe the variables are unused :/.

User avatar
alesan99
Posts: 2335
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Contact:

Post » 29 Sep 2013, 01:05

QwertymanO07 wrote:Does anybody know how to change the single player portal colors?
Easy

mario.lua lines 111-117
Change

Code: Select all

	if players == 1 then
		self.portal1color = {60, 188, 252}
		self.portal2color = {232, 130, 30}
	else
		self.portal1color = portalcolor[self.playernumber][1]
		self.portal2color = portalcolor[self.playernumber][2]
	end
to

Code: Select all

	if players == 1 then
		self.portal1color = portalcolor[self.playernumber][1]
		self.portal2color = portalcolor[self.playernumber][2]
	else
		self.portal1color = portalcolor[self.playernumber][1]
		self.portal2color = portalcolor[self.playernumber][2]
	end
If you meant changing the default colors then just change the RBG numbers.

User avatar
Mari0Maker
Posts: 1348
Joined: 07 Apr 2012, 17:10
Contact:

Post » 29 Sep 2013, 01:40

alesan99 wrote:
Mari0Maker wrote:Made both "coinblockdelay" values 0, didn't change anything.
Maybe the variables are unused :/.
Actually, I found out that it changes the speed of the coin popping out. :P

Also, how can I fix this bug? I changed my character (without the character loading mod), and this happens on the title screen:
Image
Anyone know how to fix this?

EDIT: How can I add title screen music?

EDIT 2: How can I add an entity from another mod?

EDIT 3 (D:): How can I change the name of the game (the title bar)?

User avatar
alesan99
Posts: 2335
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Contact:

Post » 29 Sep 2013, 01:58

Mari0Maker wrote:EDIT 3 (D:): How can I change the name of the game (the title bar)?
conf.lua

Code: Select all

function love.conf(t)
	t.author = "Maurice"
	t.identity = "mari0"
	t.console = false
	--t.screen = false
	t.modules.physics = false
	t.version = "0.8.0"
end
Change t.identity

User avatar
Mari0Maker
Posts: 1348
Joined: 07 Apr 2012, 17:10
Contact:

Post » 29 Sep 2013, 02:02

alesan99 wrote:
Mari0Maker wrote:EDIT 3 (D:): How can I change the name of the game (the title bar)?
conf.lua

Code: Select all

function love.conf(t)
	t.author = "Maurice"
	t.identity = "mari0"
	t.console = false
	--t.screen = false
	t.modules.physics = false
	t.version = "0.8.0"
end
Change t.identity
That just creates a new folder in "appdata" titled whatever you put in there.

User avatar
alesan99
Posts: 2335
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Contact:

Post » 29 Sep 2013, 02:13

Mari0Maker wrote: That just creates a new folder in "appdata" titled whatever you put in there.
Oops. change

main.lua line 42

Code: Select all

	love.graphics.setCaption( "Mari0" )

User avatar
Mari0Maker
Posts: 1348
Joined: 07 Apr 2012, 17:10
Contact:

Post » 29 Sep 2013, 02:16

alesan99 wrote:
Mari0Maker wrote: That just creates a new folder in "appdata" titled whatever you put in there.
Oops. change

main.lua line 42

Code: Select all

	love.graphics.setCaption( "Mari0" )
Thank you so much! :D
Now to get my other million problems solved...

User avatar
Qcode
Posts: 1479
Joined: 05 Feb 2012, 18:00
Contact:

Post » 29 Sep 2013, 03:29

...
Last edited by Qcode on 21 Oct 2021, 18:41, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
HugoBDesigner
Posts: 2188
Joined: 19 Sep 2012, 02:23
Contact:

Post » 29 Sep 2013, 05:43

Qcode wrote:I also think a good addition to this would have a list of people (similar to the criticism and question mega threads in Twatter) who would be comfortable with answering modding questions. Like if someone wanted some one on one help, or if they wanted to ask a modder how they achieved a certain effect in their mod, they can be asked here.
I'd be willing to be added to the list if you were to create it.
I'm not as good as Qcode with lua, but I've already made a mod with customizable stuff and new entities and a game from scratch, so I think I'd be qualified to this list too :)

User avatar
Automatik
Posts: 1073
Joined: 20 Jul 2012, 17:54
Contact:

Post » 29 Sep 2013, 09:26

alesan99 wrote:

Code: Select all

	if players == 1 then
		self.portal1color = portalcolor[self.playernumber][1]
		self.portal2color = portalcolor[self.playernumber][2]
	else
		self.portal1color = portalcolor[self.playernumber][1]
		self.portal2color = portalcolor[self.playernumber][2]
	end
Shorter:

Code: Select all

	self.portal1color = portalcolor[self.playernumber][1]
	self.portal2color = portalcolor[self.playernumber][2]

User avatar
Mari0Maker
Posts: 1348
Joined: 07 Apr 2012, 17:10
Contact:

Post » 29 Sep 2013, 19:29

@Qcode and HugoBDesginer

I'll make a list.
If anyone else is willing to be on the list, then just post here or PM me.

In that case, I'll ask Qcode this.
Mari0Maker wrote:Also, how can I fix this bug? I changed my character (without the character loading mod), and this happens on the title screen:
Image
Anyone know how to fix this?

How can I add an entity from another mod?
How can I remove the delay from the Coin Block (? Block)?

User avatar
Qcode
Posts: 1479
Joined: 05 Feb 2012, 18:00
Contact:

Post » 29 Sep 2013, 19:56

...
Last edited by Qcode on 21 Oct 2021, 18:41, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Mari0Maker
Posts: 1348
Joined: 07 Apr 2012, 17:10
Contact:

Post » 29 Sep 2013, 20:02

The first problem is that I changed the character from Mario, to Luigi (without the Character Loading mod), and the sprite stays as Mario, with the hat above his head, and an invisible space in the center of his body.
The delay problem is this: I'm adding the NSMB Coin Block as the texture, and it looks weird with the delay. There is a delay on the main sprite of the Coin Block (the first texture from the left of the coinblock).

And I'll try the entity trick. :)

User avatar
Mari0Maker
Posts: 1348
Joined: 07 Apr 2012, 17:10
Contact:

Post » 29 Sep 2013, 22:08

New problem. If I change the music for "intermission.ogg", the game doesn't boot up. The intermission music I chose is a lot longer than the original.

User avatar
Qcode
Posts: 1479
Joined: 05 Feb 2012, 18:00
Contact:

Post » 29 Sep 2013, 22:33

...
Last edited by Qcode on 21 Oct 2021, 18:52, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Mari0Maker
Posts: 1348
Joined: 07 Apr 2012, 17:10
Contact:

Post » 29 Sep 2013, 22:36

Qcode wrote:I can't reproduce your intermission.ogg problem. I changed it to the underworld music and it still booted up. It would help if you posted a .love file.
Try it with this file:
*link removed*
Last edited by Mari0Maker on 29 Sep 2013, 23:08, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Qcode
Posts: 1479
Joined: 05 Feb 2012, 18:00
Contact:

Post » 29 Sep 2013, 23:01

...
Last edited by Qcode on 21 Oct 2021, 18:52, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Mari0Maker
Posts: 1348
Joined: 07 Apr 2012, 17:10
Contact:

Post » 29 Sep 2013, 23:12

Here ya go.
*link removed*
Last edited by Mari0Maker on 29 Sep 2013, 23:30, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Qcode
Posts: 1479
Joined: 05 Feb 2012, 18:00
Contact:

Post » 29 Sep 2013, 23:28

...
Last edited by Qcode on 21 Oct 2021, 18:52, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Mari0Maker
Posts: 1348
Joined: 07 Apr 2012, 17:10
Contact:

Post » 29 Sep 2013, 23:31

Qcode wrote:Lagged a bit for me on start, then settled out fine.
Try using this compressed version https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/804 ... ission.ogg
Lagged for me at the start for about 20secs, but then booted up.
I think that'll be fine. Thanks!

User avatar
Mari0Maker
Posts: 1348
Joined: 07 Apr 2012, 17:10
Contact:

Post » 30 Sep 2013, 03:31

How can I make this feature: when you enter the Konami Code, it has the possibility of playing one song, or another, or another different one.
And I don't want to use songs already included in Mari0, I want it to use new ones I add to the game.

User avatar
HugoBDesigner
Posts: 2188
Joined: 19 Sep 2012, 02:23
Contact:

Post » 30 Sep 2013, 03:56

Mari0Maker wrote:How can I make this feature: when you enter the Konami Code, it has the possibility of playing one song, or another, or another different one.
And I don't want to use songs already included in Mari0, I want it to use new ones I add to the game.
Like playing a random sound? Easy (I think).

First of all: put the sounds you want in the "sounds" folder.

Go to main.lua, to the function love.load.
Add to the music lists the musics you want. If you call them with something like konami1sound, konami2sound, konami3sound and so on, they'll be easier to be loaded in the future.
They are loaded like this:

Code: Select all

	konamisound = love.audio.newSource("sounds/konami.ogg", "static");konamisound:setVolume(0);konamisound:play();konamisound:stop();konamisound:setVolume(1)
So add the file name of your sounds there.

Later, add them to the sound list:

Code: Select all

	soundlist = {jumpsound, jumpbigsound, stompsound, shotsound, blockhitsound, blockbreaksound, coinsound, pipesound, boomsound, mushroomappearsound, mushroomeatsound, shrinksound, deathsound, gameoversound,
				fireballsound, oneupsound, levelendsound, castleendsound, scoreringsound, intermissionsound, firesound, bridgebreaksound, bowserfallsound, vinesound, swimsound, rainboomsoud, 
				portal1opensound, portal2opensound, portalentersound, portalfizzlesound, lowtime, konamisound, pausesound, stabsound, bulletbillsound}
On the love.keypressed function, change this:

Code: Select all

		if key == konami[konamii] then
			konamii = konamii + 1
			if konamii == #konami+1 then
				if konamisound:isStopped() then
					playsound(konamisound)
				end
				gamefinished = true
				saveconfig()
				konamii = 1
			end
		else
			konamii = 1
		end
To this:

Code: Select all

		if key == konami[konamii] then
			konamii = konamii + 1
			if konamii == #konami+1 then
				if konamisound:isStopped() then
					local randomsound = math.random(THE NUMBER OF SOUNDS YOU HAVE FOR THIS)
					playsound(_G["konami" .. tostring(randomsound) .. "sound"])
				end
				gamefinished = true
				saveconfig()
				konamii = 1
			end
		else
			konamii = 1
		end
In this example, you'd have 3 sounds, so it'd be like this:

Code: Select all

		if key == konami[konamii] then
			konamii = konamii + 1
			if konamii == #konami+1 then
				if konamisound:isStopped() then
					local randomsound = math.random(3)
					playsound(_G["konami" .. tostring(randomsound) .. "sound"])
				end
				gamefinished = true
				saveconfig()
				konamii = 1
			end
		else
			konamii = 1
		end
I hope that's what you want, and I hope it works :)

User avatar
Mari0Maker
Posts: 1348
Joined: 07 Apr 2012, 17:10
Contact:

Post » 30 Sep 2013, 22:41

HugoBDesigner wrote:
Mari0Maker wrote:How can I make this feature: when you enter the Konami Code, it has the possibility of playing one song, or another, or another different one.
And I don't want to use songs already included in Mari0, I want it to use new ones I add to the game.
Like playing a random sound? Easy (I think).
*code_oh_goodness_please_help*
Yep, I think that is what I want. I'll try it out, and say if it worked or not.

EDIT: Does anyone know the bitrate (kbps) of the sounds in Mari0?

Maurice
Stabyourself.net
Posts: 2145
Joined: 01 Feb 2012, 20:19

Post » 02 Oct 2013, 09:51

All sounds went through audacity at default quality, which is roughly 160 kbps. http://wiki.audacityteam.org/wiki/OGG

User avatar
Mari0Maker
Posts: 1348
Joined: 07 Apr 2012, 17:10
Contact:

Post » 03 Oct 2013, 03:32

Maurice wrote:All sounds went through audacity at default quality, which is roughly 160 kbps. http://wiki.audacityteam.org/wiki/OGG
Thanks Maurice!

EDIT: For adding the multiple Konami code sounds, I got this:
http://i.imgur.com/YdFAfVO.png
Image
The name of my other konami sound is "konami2", and for the value of the random sounds, I put "2".
This is what I mean by the value of the random sound:

Code: Select all

local randomsound = math.random(2)
I also added "love.audio.Stop()" after this line for title screen music purposes:

Code: Select all

playsound(_G["konami" .. tostring(randomsound) .. "sound"])

User avatar
HugoBDesigner
Posts: 2188
Joined: 19 Sep 2012, 02:23
Contact:

Post » 03 Oct 2013, 04:38

Mari0Maker wrote: EDIT: For adding the multiple Konami code sounds, I got this:
http://i.imgur.com/YdFAfVO.png
Image
The name of my other konami sound is "konami2", and for the value of the random sounds, I put "2".
This is what I mean by the value of the random sound:

Code: Select all

local randomsound = math.random(2)
I also added "love.audio.Stop()" after this line for title screen music purposes:

Code: Select all

playsound(_G["konami" .. tostring(randomsound) .. "sound"])
This is what you made wrong:

Code: Select all

playsound(_G["konami" .. tostring(randomsound) .. "sound"])
Suppose it got the number 2 on the randomizer.
Translating the code above: Play the sound named "konami2sound";

It cannot find this sound because:
Mari0Maker wrote:The name of my other konami sound is "konami2" [...]
You can either rename the "konami2" to "konami2sound" or change this:

Code: Select all

playsound(_G["konami" .. tostring(randomsound) .. "sound"])
...to this:

Code: Select all

playsound(_G["konami" .. tostring(randomsound)])
Also, have you added/changed the already existing konami sound to be "konami1sound"? Because if not then the game might crash again...

User avatar
TripleXero
Posts: 892
Joined: 08 Aug 2012, 00:23
Contact:

Post » 03 Oct 2013, 04:41

I need help doing something based on time, and I can not figure out how to do it at all. Not os.date things, like doing something after a certain amount of time passes

User avatar
HugoBDesigner
Posts: 2188
Joined: 19 Sep 2012, 02:23
Contact:

Post » 03 Oct 2013, 05:08

TripleXero wrote:I need help doing something based on time, and I can not figure out how to do it at all. Not os.date things, like doing something after a certain amount of time passes
Why not use love.update(dt) then?
Dt adds 1 to a certain value on each second, so, to get the amount of time passed, just add to love.update(dt):
timepassed = timepassed + dt

But don't forget to add timepassed = 0 to love.load(). I'm not sure if it is necessary, but it is better if you add:
dt = math.min(.1/6, dt)

User avatar
TripleXero
Posts: 892
Joined: 08 Aug 2012, 00:23
Contact:

Post » 03 Oct 2013, 05:55

Thank you, I couldn't figure out how dt even worked before. One more thing, is there a way to cut off decimals without rounding it up? Like 132.9432552 to 132

Camewel
Posts: 2996
Joined: 02 Feb 2012, 21:32

Post » 03 Oct 2013, 06:13

math.floor
it's like you're not even trying

User avatar
TripleXero
Posts: 892
Joined: 08 Aug 2012, 00:23
Contact:

Post » 03 Oct 2013, 06:24

The time thing I honestly had no clue, with math.floor, I did try that and thought it wasn't working, but it had been because of something I changed earlier and didn't realize would affect it

Maurice
Stabyourself.net
Posts: 2145
Joined: 01 Feb 2012, 20:19

Post » 04 Oct 2013, 11:35

Then you should learn how to debug.
ie throw print()'s all over your code. It's what I do at least.

Camewel
Posts: 2996
Joined: 02 Feb 2012, 21:32

Post » 04 Oct 2013, 12:51

or use love.graphics.print if you're on some awful OS that doesn't allow the console

User avatar
alesan99
Posts: 2335
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Contact:

Post » 04 Oct 2013, 23:25

How to make 2 walking frames for the goomba. This isn't answering a question asked here but it is asked in some other places.

SHOW TUTORIAL
1.Make the Image (Or use the one below)
Image
Put in Mari0 (Duh)

2. Change Main.lua
You have to change it so LOVE can detect the image's new width and number of frames.
Main.lua Line 362

Code: Select all

	goombaimage = love.graphics.newImage("graphics/" .. graphicspack .. "/goomba.png")
	goombaquad = {}
	
	for y = 1, 4 do
		goombaquad[y] = {}
		for x = 1, 2 do
			goombaquad[y][x] = love.graphics.newQuad((x-1)*16, (y-1)*16, 16, 16, 32, 64)
		end
	end
Change "for x = 1, 2" to "for x = 1, 3" because that's the amount of frames there are horizontally.
Then change "((x-1)*16, (y-1)*16, 16, 16, 32, 64)" to "((x-1)*16, (y-1)*16, 16, 16, 48, 64)" because that's the amount of pixels horizontally.
It should end up like this:

Code: Select all

	goombaimage = love.graphics.newImage("graphics/" .. graphicspack .. "/goomba.png")
	goombaquad = {}
	
	for y = 1, 4 do
		goombaquad[y] = {}
		for x = 1, 3 do
			goombaquad[y][x] = love.graphics.newQuad((x-1)*16, (y-1)*16, 16, 16, 48, 64)
		end
	end
3.Change goomba.lua.
Goomba.lua Line 111

Code: Select all

			if self.t == "goomba" then
				if self.animationdirection == "left" then
					self.animationdirection = "right"
				else
					self.animationdirection = "left"
				end
change that to

Code: Select all

			if self.t == "goomba" then
				if self.quad = goombaquad[spriteset][1] then
					self.quad = goombaquad[spriteset][2]
				else
					self.quad = goombaquad[spriteset][1]
				end
Then Change
Goomba.lua Line 171

Code: Select all

function goomba:stomp()--hehe goomba stomp
	self.dead = true
	self.active = false
	self.quad = goombaquad[spriteset][2]
end
to

Code: Select all

function goomba:stomp()--hehe goomba stomp
	self.dead = true
	self.active = false
	self.quad = goombaquad[spriteset][3]
end
YOU ARE DONE BUT IF YOU WANT IT TO FLIP WHEN IT TOUCHES A WALL THEN...
Change
Goomba.Lua Line 198

Code: Select all

	if self.t == "spikey" then
		self.animationdirection = "left"
	end
and
Goomba.Lua Line 212

Code: Select all

	if self.t == "spikey" then
		self.animationdirection = "right"
	end
to

Code: Select all

	self.animationdirection = "left"
and

Code: Select all

	self.animationdirection = "right"

User avatar
Mari0Maker
Posts: 1348
Joined: 07 Apr 2012, 17:10
Contact:

Post » 05 Oct 2013, 18:09

How do I change the default Mario colors?

User avatar
alesan99
Posts: 2335
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Contact:

Post » 05 Oct 2013, 18:15

Mari0Maker wrote:How do I change the default Mario colors?
Main.lua Line 1103

Code: Select all

	mariocolors[1] = {{224,  32,   0}, {136, 112,   0}, {252, 152,  56}}
	mariocolors[2] = {{255, 255, 255}, {  0, 160,   0}, {252, 152,  56}}
	mariocolors[3] = {{  0,   0,   0}, {200,  76,  12}, {252, 188, 176}}
	mariocolors[4] = {{ 32,  56, 236}, {  0, 128, 136}, {252, 152,  56}}

User avatar
Mari0Maker
Posts: 1348
Joined: 07 Apr 2012, 17:10
Contact:

Post » 05 Oct 2013, 18:28

alesan99 wrote:
Mari0Maker wrote:How do I change the default Mario colors?
Main.lua Line 1103

Code: Select all

	mariocolors[1] = {{224,  32,   0}, {136, 112,   0}, {252, 152,  56}}
	mariocolors[2] = {{255, 255, 255}, {  0, 160,   0}, {252, 152,  56}}
	mariocolors[3] = {{  0,   0,   0}, {200,  76,  12}, {252, 188, 176}}
	mariocolors[4] = {{ 32,  56, 236}, {  0, 128, 136}, {252, 152,  56}}
Thanks!

User avatar
Mari0Maker
Posts: 1348
Joined: 07 Apr 2012, 17:10
Contact:

Post » 25 Oct 2013, 04:55

Is it possible to change the default colors of the Portal colors? Like for example, set Player 1's portals to Blue and Green, Player 2's to Orange and Yellow, etc.

User avatar
Automatik
Posts: 1073
Joined: 20 Jul 2012, 17:54
Contact:

Post » 25 Oct 2013, 10:01

Yes it's possible:
Go to about Line 1099 in main.lua
You have this:

Code: Select all

	-------------------
	-- PORTAL COLORS --
	-------------------
	
	portalhues = {}
	portalcolor = {}
	for i = 1, 4 do
		local players = 4
		portalhues[i] = {(i-1)*(1/players), (i-1)*(1/players)+0.5/players}
		portalcolor[i] = {getrainbowcolor(portalhues[i][1]), getrainbowcolor(portalhues[i][2])}
	end
You have to modify the assignment of portalhues, given that it must be a value between 0 and 1 and:
0: red
0.125: orange
0.175: orange
0.25: light green
0.375: green
0.5: cyan
0.675: blue
0.75: purple
0.875: pink
(You can try in-between value, these are just examples)
So for example:

Code: Select all

	-------------------
	-- PORTAL COLORS --
	-------------------
	
	portalhues = {}
	portalcolor = {}
	for i = 1, 4 do
		local players = 4
		portalhues[i] = {(i-1)*(1/players), (i-1)*(1/players)+0.5/players}
		if i==1 then portalhues[i]={0.675,0.375} end -- Player 1 blue & green
		if i==2 then portalhues[i]={0.125,0.175} end -- Player 2 orange & yellow
		portalcolor[i] = {getrainbowcolor(portalhues[i][1]), getrainbowcolor(portalhues[i][2])}
	end

User avatar
Mari0Maker
Posts: 1348
Joined: 07 Apr 2012, 17:10
Contact:

Post » 27 Oct 2013, 21:22

Thank you, Auto!

User avatar
Mari0Maker
Posts: 1348
Joined: 07 Apr 2012, 17:10
Contact:

Post » 03 Nov 2013, 02:36

How can I make music loop from a certain point? For example, a song has a intro. This way, the song can loop properly.
A good example of this would be Mario Kart Wii.

User avatar
BobTheLawyer
Posts: 2232
Joined: 01 May 2012, 21:00

Post » 03 Nov 2013, 15:30

Mari0Maker, I'd make it into two music clips. Where the intro would start repeating, instead, go to the new clip, which then repeats.
I can't give you the code atm.
Are you looking at Bowser's Castle? We might be looking at the same music.

User avatar
HugoBDesigner
Posts: 2188
Joined: 19 Sep 2012, 02:23
Contact:

Post » 03 Nov 2013, 20:48

Mari0Maker wrote:How can I make music loop from a certain point? For example, a song has a intro. This way, the song can loop properly.
A good example of this would be Mario Kart Wii.
Make 2 sound sources:

Code: Select all

introsound = love.audio.newSource("[sound].ogg")
loopsound = love.audio.newSource("[sound 2].ogg")
introplaying = false
(introplaying is to check when the looping sound should be playing)

When you wanna play it:

Code: Select all

love.audio.play(introsound)
introplaying = true
and later, to check when intro music is finished (put it in love.update):

Code: Select all

if introsound:isStopped() and introplaying then
    introplaying = false
    loopsound:setLooping(true)
    love.audio.play(loopsound)
end
This should work, but if it doesn't, then try putting the loopsound:setLooping(true) under the love.audio.play(loopsound).

To stop the looping music just put a love.audio.stop(loopsound) where you want it to stop :)

User avatar
TripleXero
Posts: 892
Joined: 08 Aug 2012, 00:23
Contact:

Post » 03 Nov 2013, 21:30

I'm glad that question was asked, I might need it, too

Post Reply