[TINY-UPDATE] Alesan99's Entities (Tiny Goombas, & more!)

Mods, guides how to use and install mods go right in here.
Eden GT
User avatar
Posts: 234
Joined: 13 Jun 2015, 08:52
Reputation: 71
Contact:

Post » 26 Jan 2017, 06:03

alesan99 wrote:
Eden GT wrote:Thanks.
Request: Which worlds Bowser will throw hammers.

Do you want an option to change which worlds?
In case you just want the worlds, its currently world 6 and above.


Well, if you want to. Would be quite convenient when it comes to easy/difficult mappacks created with the mod.
Another common problem in mari0: When set to "Intermission", Mario stops while stepping on a springboard, etc.

jermboy27
Posts: 56
Joined: 28 Oct 2012, 02:16
Reputation: 4

Post » 05 Feb 2017, 02:05

alesan99 wrote:[center]0.10.0 UPDATE #7.1
DOWNLOADS (current version: 0.10.0 v7.1)
LATEST:
--->Windows (.exe) <---
--->OSX (.app) (slightly outdated)<---
--->Linux (.love) (slightly outdated)<---
--->Source (LOVE 0.10.0) <---

Speaking of downloads. Where's the online multiplayer version?

Technochips
User avatar
Posts: 681
Joined: 12 Mar 2015, 16:05
Reputation: 186
Contact:

Post » 05 Feb 2017, 04:51

look at the date of the post announcing multiplayer

Isosceles
User avatar
Posts: 6
Joined: 16 Feb 2017, 01:22
Reputation: 1
Contact:

Post » 17 Feb 2017, 06:13

I'd like to say adhesion gel is very fun on platform tiles...

(What I don't understand is why putting another platform in the way slows Mario down.)

Also I can't seem to place the single gel entity, I have to use a dropper. When I place it on any surface, regardless of the gel id, it doesn't show up.

Technochips
User avatar
Posts: 681
Joined: 12 Mar 2015, 16:05
Reputation: 186
Contact:

Post » 17 Feb 2017, 15:14

have you tried right clicking the gel entity, and checking any direction? i think that's how you do it, not sure tho

QwertymanO07
User avatar
Posts: 1249
Joined: 05 Oct 2012, 07:58
Reputation: 315
Contact:

Post » 17 Feb 2017, 22:28

Ah dingy dangus, it doesn't work in SE:
Image

HugoBDesigner
User avatar
Posts: 2091
Joined: 19 Sep 2012, 02:23
Reputation: 658
Contact:

Post » 18 Feb 2017, 00:52

Deceased Mari0:HEC is guilty too:
Image

QwertymanO07
User avatar
Posts: 1249
Joined: 05 Oct 2012, 07:58
Reputation: 315
Contact:

Post » 18 Feb 2017, 04:29

I just wonder if this could be used to simulate VVVVVV.

Isosceles
User avatar
Posts: 6
Joined: 16 Feb 2017, 01:22
Reputation: 1
Contact:

Post » 18 Feb 2017, 07:28

Technochips wrote:have you tried right clicking the gel entity, and checking any direction? i think that's how you do it, not sure tho

The only thing I can change is the gel id. (I'm barely starting to simply understand Lua, but the gel problem could be due to the fact that I stuck the latest .love into the latest OSX app. It might have also messed up some other entities but I'm not entirely sure on which. I can live with it)

QwertymanO07 wrote:I just wonder if this could be used to simulate VVVVVV.

I could see this. It'd probably be a pain to set up and platforms being solid on top might prove to be a problem. Though i'd love to see VVVVV entities like the gravity flipper... line thing? does that even have an official name?

alesan99
User avatar
Posts: 1615
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Reputation: 253
Contact:

Post » 18 Feb 2017, 17:17

Isosceles wrote:The only thing I can change is the gel id. (I'm barely starting to simply understand Lua, but the gel problem could be due to the fact that I stuck the latest .love into the latest OSX app. It might have also messed up some other entities but I'm not entirely sure on which. I can live with it)

I updated the app. I don't know if it works.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/rpjbpcn6xgqunwx/alesan99s_entities_0-10-0_7-1_osx.zip?dl=1

Isosceles
User avatar
Posts: 6
Joined: 16 Feb 2017, 01:22
Reputation: 1
Contact:

Post » 22 Feb 2017, 03:04

:/ Still had the same problems. I'm in an odd situation with my Mac so its very possible its because of something on my end. Thank you for updating the Mac .app though!

Edit:
I...
Image

alesan99
User avatar
Posts: 1615
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Reputation: 253
Contact:

Post » 25 Feb 2017, 17:55

Isosceles wrote::/ Still had the same problems. I'm in an odd situation with my Mac so its very possible its because of something on my end. Thank you for updating the Mac .app though!

Oh, are you placing the gel on the tile? That could be the problem. Otherwise I have no idea...
Image

Isosceles wrote:Edit:
I...
Image

May or may not be an easter egg that changes sprites.

DLF, The Meme Lord
Posts: 2
Joined: 26 Feb 2017, 20:18
Reputation: 0
Contact:

Post » 27 Feb 2017, 21:59

doea this work on mari0 special edition

alesan99
User avatar
Posts: 1615
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Reputation: 253
Contact:

Post » 28 Feb 2017, 01:14

DLF, The Meme Lord wrote:doea this work on mari0 special edition

I'm not quite sure what you mean.
This mod is seperate from SE, it runs on its own. It does have a lot of SE features though, its just not compatible with SE maps.

DLF, The Meme Lord
Posts: 2
Joined: 26 Feb 2017, 20:18
Reputation: 0
Contact:

Post » 28 Feb 2017, 16:16

ok

yellowX3
Posts: 2
Joined: 26 Feb 2017, 00:25
Reputation: 0
Contact:

Post » 03 Mar 2017, 00:51

It crashed when I (accidently) started a 2-player game:

Error

main.lua:2159: attempt to index a nil value


Traceback

main.lua:2452: in function '__index'
main.lua:2159: in function 'getHat'
game.lua:5326: in function 'downkey'
mario.lua:1648: in function 'update'
game.lua:550: in function 'game_update'
main.lua:1214: in function 'update'
[C]: in function 'xpcall'

alesan99
User avatar
Posts: 1615
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Reputation: 253
Contact:

Post » 04 Mar 2017, 02:59

yellowX3 wrote:It crashed when I (accidently) started a 2-player game:


EDIT: I fixed multiplayer in the source download. controllers wont work but it wont crash anymore
Download: https://www.dropbox.com/s/np3r3u9nbmsrx ... .love?dl=1

yellowX3
Posts: 2
Joined: 26 Feb 2017, 00:25
Reputation: 0
Contact:

Post » 24 Mar 2017, 12:23

Is it possible to change the mushroom cursor on the title screen with the custom graphics tab? I can't find it in the list.

Squidish
User avatar
Posts: 803
Joined: 05 Apr 2014, 04:04
Reputation: 210
Contact:

Post » 25 Mar 2017, 16:25

yellowX3 wrote:Is it possible to change the mushroom cursor on the title screen with the custom graphics tab? I can't find it in the list.

No, unfortunately.

Hyperfenix
User avatar
Posts: 14
Joined: 14 Apr 2017, 08:20
Reputation: 1

Post » 15 Apr 2017, 07:30

So, if this bumps then R.I.P. but I have an issue, where if I try to add more than one tile, the game glitches. My first tile will be smooshed to combine both tiles if sideways (have test vertical because yeah) and the second tile will be a clone of the original. Any reason why?

EDIT: So basically I just have to have a 17x(anything * 17) tileset. using anything with a width greater than 17 destroys everything.

alesan99
User avatar
Posts: 1615
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Reputation: 253
Contact:

Post » 15 Apr 2017, 16:15

Hyperfenix wrote:So, if this bumps then R.I.P. but I have an issue, where if I try to add more than one tile, the game glitches. My first tile will be smooshed to combine both tiles if sideways (have test vertical because yeah) and the second tile will be a clone of the original. Any reason why?

Please post your tileset so I know whats going on.

You could try using a template though: Image

Hyperfenix
User avatar
Posts: 14
Joined: 14 Apr 2017, 08:20
Reputation: 1

Post » 15 Apr 2017, 17:56

This is was my image: Image
and it would give me the error, however I did make one update to that one. the spikes now have collision (I don't know why that would affect it)

mariOLover63
Posts: 7
Joined: 10 Apr 2017, 01:35
Reputation: 0

Post » 15 Apr 2017, 23:57

Could you help with adding custom characters? Just a quick tutorial would be nice

alesan99
User avatar
Posts: 1615
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Reputation: 253
Contact:

Post » 16 Apr 2017, 00:45

Hyperfenix wrote:This is was my image: Image
and it would give me the error, however I did make one update to that one. the spikes now have collision (I don't know why that would affect it)

It works just fine for me.
Are you sure you're adding it correctly? In the level editor go to the "custom" tab and click on "tiles". Drag the image file in the window and see if it works.

mariOLover63 wrote:Could you help with adding custom characters? Just a quick tutorial would be nice

Use this template and place it in the characters folder: https://www.dropbox.com/s/bfe08lgq2sn7e ... e.zip?dl=1
Select it with the [ and ] keys in the options

mariOLover63
Posts: 7
Joined: 10 Apr 2017, 01:35
Reputation: 0

Post » 18 Apr 2017, 00:36

Thank you. Also I already had the template.
Last edited by mariOLover63 on 22 Apr 2017, 21:16, edited 1 time in total.

The Snivy
User avatar
Posts: 30
Joined: 15 Jul 2016, 02:43
Reputation: 10
Contact:

Post » 22 Apr 2017, 02:21

If your still taking suggestions, Red/Purple coins and Power Stars would be nice additions.

Hyperfenix
User avatar
Posts: 14
Joined: 14 Apr 2017, 08:20
Reputation: 1

Post » 23 Apr 2017, 20:42

alesan99 wrote:
Hyperfenix wrote:This is was my image: Image
and it would give me the error, however I did make one update to that one. the spikes now have collision (I don't know why that would affect it)

It works just fine for me.
Are you sure you're adding it correctly? In the level editor go to the "custom" tab and click on "tiles". Drag the image file in the window and see if it works.


I did add it right, but see if disabling collision on the spikes would reproduce it.

alesan99
User avatar
Posts: 1615
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Reputation: 253
Contact:

Post » 23 Apr 2017, 21:21

Hyperfenix wrote:I did add it right, but see if disabling collision on the spikes would reproduce it.

It still works fine.
But looking at your previous post you said...
Hyperfenix wrote:So basically I just have to have a 17x(anything * 17) tileset.

Which is normal, tilesets are supposed to be sized in multiples of 17 so I don't really see anything I need to fix.

alesan99
User avatar
Posts: 1615
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Reputation: 253
Contact:

Post » 30 Apr 2017, 21:38

Android Port

I made a quick android version of the mod. Have fun.
Download: https://www.dropbox.com/s/art0pnsibz1bmyc/mari0_android.apk?dl=1

Notes
- The game should work fine aside from the *very* buggy controls. Sometimes the buttons register as 2 presses for some reason.
- If the portal gun annoys you, disable it in the cheats menu by changing the mode to "classic".
- You might need to change your permissions if you want the game to save or download dlc. It hasn't worked for me tho

EDIT 5/9/17: Uses external storage, save data (including dlc) now works.
Last edited by alesan99 on 10 May 2017, 00:56, edited 3 times in total.

UnderBound
User avatar
Posts: 45
Joined: 09 Apr 2016, 22:01
Reputation: 5

Post » 01 May 2017, 07:49

you are the greatest man to ever step foot on this planet, wait what's the package name?

alesan99
User avatar
Posts: 1615
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Reputation: 253
Contact:

Post » 01 May 2017, 22:51

UnderBound wrote:you are the greatest man to ever step foot on this planet, wait what's the package name?

The name is Game and then some random numbers.
I'll fix the name and the controls in a bit.

Edit: Fixed: https://www.dropbox.com/s/3b229zrgzg077 ... d.apk?dl=0

Áçé Syntax Áçé
User avatar
Posts: 101
Joined: 01 Dec 2013, 09:39
Reputation: 25

Post » 02 May 2017, 17:16

Does the "Mappacks made with this mod" list updated? I mean is there any other mappacks which are not listed in that list?

EDIT: I'm getting an OpenGL error when I run the game. How can I fix this? (I'm guessing this is because of the shaders)

alesan99
User avatar
Posts: 1615
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Reputation: 253
Contact:

Post » 02 May 2017, 23:03

Áçé Syntax Áçé wrote:Does the "Mappacks made with this mod" list updated? I mean is there any other mappacks which are not listed in that list?

I haven't updated it in a while. I'll be fixing that.
Áçé Syntax Áçé wrote:EDIT: I'm getting an OpenGL error when I run the game. How can I fix this? (I'm guessing this is because of the shaders)

I doesn't have to do with shaders actually. The newest update uses love2d 0.10.0 which does not support older versions of OpenGl. Try to google ways to update OpenGl and if you can't fix it you can use one of the old downloads (Which won't have all the new features).

Hatopher YeaH!
User avatar
Posts: 36
Joined: 10 May 2016, 20:18
Reputation: 5

Post » 03 May 2017, 00:48

So it's possible to make a link hero mod?

alesan99
User avatar
Posts: 1615
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Reputation: 253
Contact:

Post » 03 May 2017, 03:15

Hatopher YeaH! wrote:So it's possible to make a link hero mod?

I think there's a link character for Mari0 SE in the custom character thread.

Áçé Syntax Áçé
User avatar
Posts: 101
Joined: 01 Dec 2013, 09:39
Reputation: 25

Post » 03 May 2017, 18:04

Yow! That android port was dope! But sometimes, going to the level editor or cheat menu could disable the game's music. Would you mind fix it? (Oh, btw, you should put it on play store asap so many people would know of it's existence and to make this forum alive again :D) or maybe start a donation thing or somethin'

Also, this is only a suggestion but could you update some of the enemies sprites by using the Super Mario Maker sprites instead? (smb version) because for me, those sprites are more pretty than those old sprites (no offense). Take the fish bone as an example

EDIT: 100 posts!!! Woooooohooooooo!!!
Last edited by Áçé Syntax Áçé on 06 May 2017, 08:16, edited 2 times in total.

Technochips
User avatar
Posts: 681
Joined: 12 Mar 2015, 16:05
Reputation: 186
Contact:

Post » 03 May 2017, 19:17

pretty sure he wouldn't have the rights to put it in the play store, since it was created by maurice, with copyrighted content from nintendo & valve

Platinum_PLTM
Posts: 2
Joined: 27 Apr 2017, 16:44
Reputation: 0

Post » 03 May 2017, 21:40

I'm having trouble with custom characters. I put everything in the characters folder like I should, but when I play the game, Every character is just a hatless Mario and plays the same.

alesan99
User avatar
Posts: 1615
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Reputation: 253
Contact:

Post » 03 May 2017, 21:59

Platinum_PLTM wrote:I'm having trouble with custom characters. I put everything in the characters folder like I should, but when I play the game, Every character is just a hatless Mario and plays the same.

What are your image files named?
For example, small mario's sprites should be named "animations.png" NOT "marioanimations.png"

Platinum_PLTM
Posts: 2
Joined: 27 Apr 2017, 16:44
Reputation: 0

Post » 03 May 2017, 23:54

alesan99 wrote:
Platinum_PLTM wrote:I'm having trouble with custom characters. I put everything in the characters folder like I should, but when I play the game, Every character is just a hatless Mario and plays the same.

What are your image files named?
For example, small mario's sprites should be named "animations.png" NOT "marioanimations.png"


Most of the characters I have use multiple animations. For example, Super Mario World Mario has "animations1.png" "animations2.png" etc. RPG Mario and Super Mario Land 2 Mario both just have "animations.png" and "biganimations.png" but the sprites don't seem to be aligned properly in the .png, so they at least show up, but their sprites look bizarre.

Technochips
User avatar
Posts: 681
Joined: 12 Mar 2015, 16:05
Reputation: 186
Contact:

Post » 04 May 2017, 00:10

you might get confused with alesan's mod's character system and mari0 special edition's character system, pretty sure they aren't the same, and characters made for SE might not work with alesan's mod

alesan99
User avatar
Posts: 1615
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Reputation: 253
Contact:

Post » 04 May 2017, 02:31

Until I add more customization, the sprites have to align perfectly with the regular ones. You cannot change sizes or add frames.
As Technochips said, SE characters don't work.

Hyperfenix
User avatar
Posts: 14
Joined: 14 Apr 2017, 08:20
Reputation: 1

Post » 07 May 2017, 05:35

alesan99 wrote:
Hyperfenix wrote:So basically I just have to have a 17x(anything * 17) tileset.

Which is normal, tilesets are supposed to be sized in multiples of 17 so I don't really see anything I need to fix.

im saying it cant be (anything * 17)x17.

alesan99
User avatar
Posts: 1615
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Reputation: 253
Contact:

Post » 07 May 2017, 15:32

Hyperfenix wrote:im saying it cant be (anything * 17)x17.

I think this may be a problem on your computer since I can't replicate the bug. Try one of the old pre-0.10-0 versions and see if they work.
Also, have you already checked it if other peoples tilesets work? If they do, I recommend you just put your tiles in those.

Hatopher YeaH!
User avatar
Posts: 36
Joined: 10 May 2016, 20:18
Reputation: 5

Post » 09 May 2017, 02:20

How do I make megaman effect?

(Dialogue)

alesan99
User avatar
Posts: 1615
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Reputation: 253
Contact:

Post » 09 May 2017, 02:56

Hatopher YeaH! wrote:How do I make megaman effect?

(Dialogue)

You can't. There's a text entity though, if you want to do dialogue.

Hatopher YeaH!
User avatar
Posts: 36
Joined: 10 May 2016, 20:18
Reputation: 5

Post » 09 May 2017, 03:35

Can you make a tutorial How to make?

alesan99
User avatar
Posts: 1615
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Reputation: 253
Contact:

Post » 09 May 2017, 03:48

Hatopher YeaH! wrote:Can you make a tutorial How to make?

Use the text entity. Right click it and type your text. You can link it to buttons with the link tool.

espioner
User avatar
Posts: 116
Joined: 09 May 2015, 01:10
Reputation: 16
Contact:

Post » 14 May 2017, 04:52

Dear alesan99

I have a question,How do i make a good layer effect to mapacks?

alesan99
User avatar
Posts: 1615
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Reputation: 253
Contact:

Post » 14 May 2017, 20:43

espioner wrote:Dear alesan99

I have a question,How do i make a good layer effect to mapacks?

What do you mean by layer effect?
If you mean backgrounds with layers, there's a tutorial here: http://forum.stabyourself.net/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=3083#background


Return to “Modding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: FBI and 3 guests

cron