Streaming game development: https://www.twitch.tv/stabyourself Image

[SHADER] Kexaihami's Shaders (FTFY!)

Mods, guides how to use and install mods go right in here.
Kexaihami
User avatar
Posts: 376
Joined: 10 Jun 2013, 10:09
Reputation: 1

Post » 07 Jul 2013, 02:28

The NES has different palettes for every game. That would be pointless, as Mari0 is not Super Mario Bros, a different game, thus a different palette.

TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4645
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 718
Contact:

Post » 07 Jul 2013, 02:41

there's a nes palette in the spriting contest thread

Kexaihami
User avatar
Posts: 376
Joined: 10 Jun 2013, 10:09
Reputation: 1

Post » 07 Jul 2013, 03:14

Well, it's either to a specific game, or /wrong/.

Turtley3
User avatar
Posts: 651
Joined: 28 Mar 2013, 16:16
Reputation: 22

Post » 07 Jul 2013, 03:57

Kexaihami wrote:Well, it's either to a specific game, or /wrong/.
Turret Opera wrote:True NES shader, which makes the game only use colors the NES could use.
I think we need that shader because the NES is awesome.

Assasin-Kiashi
User avatar
Posts: 652
Joined: 07 May 2012, 10:21
Reputation: 267
Contact:

Post » 07 Jul 2013, 04:09

Kexaihami wrote:Well, it's either to a specific game, or /wrong/.

Yes, each game had a different pallette you could say, but all of those colours aren't specific to that game, as the NES only had hardware for a specific amount of colours: Image

Kexaihami
User avatar
Posts: 376
Joined: 10 Jun 2013, 10:09
Reputation: 1

Post » 07 Jul 2013, 04:37

I'm aware, the problem is, it wouldn't be a True NES shader if I made it go immediately to the nearest colour on the palette. It would have to be done with the nearest colour on the Mari0 Palette, which does not exist.

((And it's spelled with a single L))

Gramanaitor
User avatar
Posts: 175
Joined: 24 May 2013, 14:34
Reputation: 2
Contact:

Post » 07 Jul 2013, 14:30

Is it possible you could make a lightning shader where every few seconds the screen goes bright then it goes back to dark?

Jackostar10000
User avatar
Posts: 416
Joined: 17 Jun 2012, 12:06
Reputation: 14

Post » 07 Jul 2013, 15:20

Gramanaitor wrote:Is it possible you could make a lightning shader where every few seconds the screen goes bright then it goes back to dark?

ME WANT

TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4645
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 718
Contact:

Post » 07 Jul 2013, 16:45

Gramanaitor wrote:Is it possible you could make a lightning shader where every few seconds the screen goes bright then it goes back to dark?

storm shader should have done this

Kexaihami wrote:Mari0 Palette, which does not exist.

SMB palette

Superjustinbros
User avatar
Posts: 2101
Joined: 29 Mar 2012, 20:39
Reputation: 132
Contact:

Post » 07 Jul 2013, 17:15

I'd go anyday for PC88, Sharp X1, and 4-color CGA shaders.

Kexaihami
User avatar
Posts: 376
Joined: 10 Jun 2013, 10:09
Reputation: 1

Post » 07 Jul 2013, 17:21

Turret Opera wrote:
Gramanaitor wrote:Is it possible you could make a lightning shader where every few seconds the screen goes bright then it goes back to dark?

storm shader should have done this
It does.
Kexaihami wrote:Mari0 Palette, which does not exist.

SMB palette
Wouldn't fit with the portals put into play

Automatik
User avatar
Posts: 1076
Joined: 20 Jul 2012, 17:54
Reputation: 8
Contact:

Post » 07 Jul 2013, 17:25

I don't see what's the problem. The portals will just get recolorised to the SMB palette.

TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4645
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 718
Contact:

Post » 07 Jul 2013, 17:42

okay fine a NOT TRUE  F-BOMB ING NES SHADER mama mia you sure are picky aren't you

Kexaihami
User avatar
Posts: 376
Joined: 10 Jun 2013, 10:09
Reputation: 1

Post » 11 Jul 2013, 04:18

So, I did FalNES and it lags like shit. I'm working on fixing it.

BobTheLawyer
User avatar
Posts: 2240
Joined: 01 May 2012, 21:00
Reputation: 55

Post » 12 Jul 2013, 00:35

Make one with marios running through the screen

Kexaihami
User avatar
Posts: 376
Joined: 10 Jun 2013, 10:09
Reputation: 1

Post » 12 Jul 2013, 02:12

Guise, I found something better to code. Uploading IBM 5153 Color Graphics Adapter...

EDIT: Fixed, thanks for telling me you three.

TheJonyMyster
User avatar
Posts: 1873
Joined: 03 Sep 2012, 05:12
Reputation: 24
Contact:

Post » 12 Jul 2013, 03:12

CGA doesn't do anything for me.
Also, try sexy + heavy contrast.

Kexaihami
User avatar
Posts: 376
Joined: 10 Jun 2013, 10:09
Reputation: 1

Post » 12 Jul 2013, 04:01

1. Redownload
2. KK Try Sexy + night vision
3. Uploading sharpx1.frag

TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4645
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 718
Contact:

Post » 12 Jul 2013, 04:11

Can you make one where the top half of the screen is on the bottom, and vice versa?

TheJonyMyster
User avatar
Posts: 1873
Joined: 03 Sep 2012, 05:12
Reputation: 24
Contact:

Post » 12 Jul 2013, 04:17

And same for left and right.
and make it scroll down left infinitely.

Kexaihami
User avatar
Posts: 376
Joined: 10 Jun 2013, 10:09
Reputation: 1

Post » 12 Jul 2013, 04:22

Turret Opera wrote:Can you make one where the top half of the screen is on the bottom, and vice versa?

I must've forgot to upload cray

TheJonyMyster wrote:And same for left and right.
and make it scroll down left infinitely.

Huh? ((The second line))

TheJonyMyster
User avatar
Posts: 1873
Joined: 03 Sep 2012, 05:12
Reputation: 24
Contact:

Post » 12 Jul 2013, 04:34

Make it a separate shader, sorry.
Imagine that off screen, the screen just loops again. Like this.

Visible on screen|not on screen---->
Mario this that.....Mario this that.....Mario this that.....Mario this that........

Same going up.

Then, make the screen pan right and up diagonally forever.

Also, try the
Sexy
Edges
Combo. It looks really cool. (Order matters)

TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4645
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 718
Contact:

Post » 12 Jul 2013, 04:35

TheJonyMyster wrote:Then, make the screen pan right and up diagonally forever.

No, just do right and left, up/down/dianagol would be confusing as hell.

TheJonyMyster
User avatar
Posts: 1873
Joined: 03 Sep 2012, 05:12
Reputation: 24
Contact:

Post » 12 Jul 2013, 04:36

Make two separate shaders, one horizontal, one vertical. Pro players can use both.

Kexaihami
User avatar
Posts: 376
Joined: 10 Jun 2013, 10:09
Reputation: 1

Post » 12 Jul 2013, 04:42

TheJonyMyster wrote:Make two separate shaders, one horizontal, one vertical. Pro players can use both.

Gotcha.

Turtley3
User avatar
Posts: 651
Joined: 28 Mar 2013, 16:16
Reputation: 22

Post » 12 Jul 2013, 14:27

Image
Lol. Sharp X1 is almost close like........
Things Off: Goomba shoes are not red, Mario's overralls are supposed to be yellow, Mario's gloves are meant to be white and the colors are off. Also, fix Mario's hair and eyes and mounstache to be black.
We also need a PC88 shader!

Superjustinbros
User avatar
Posts: 2101
Joined: 29 Mar 2012, 20:39
Reputation: 132
Contact:

Post » 12 Jul 2013, 14:44

It's a shader, not an actual mod to the graphics, so there will be some inaccuries between the shader and SMBS.

copy
User avatar
Posts: 475
Joined: 17 Apr 2012, 16:29
Reputation: 28
Contact:

Post » 12 Jul 2013, 15:47

I'm suprised that I've never ventured to this thread before... Everything here is so beautiful! *grabs all the shaders*
My life is now complete. Thank you, Kexaihami for these wonderful gifts. 555 Posts.
Last edited by copy on 12 Jul 2013, 22:43, edited 1 time in total.

Superjustinbros
User avatar
Posts: 2101
Joined: 29 Mar 2012, 20:39
Reputation: 132
Contact:

Post » 12 Jul 2013, 16:51

I should have mentioned I'd like 4-color CGA, not just 16color CGA.

Kexaihami
User avatar
Posts: 376
Joined: 10 Jun 2013, 10:09
Reputation: 1

Post » 12 Jul 2013, 19:00

aveond wrote:I'm suprised that I've never ventured to this thread before... Everything here is so beautiful! *grabs all the shaders*
My life is now complete. Thank you, Hexaihami for these wonderful gifts. 555 Posts.

You're welcome. And call me Kex.

TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4645
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 718
Contact:

Post » 12 Jul 2013, 19:11

Kexaihami wrote:
aveond wrote:I'm suprised that I've never ventured to this thread before... Everything here is so beautiful! *grabs all the shaders*
My life is now complete. Thank you, Hexaihami for these wonderful gifts. 555 Posts.

You're welcome. And call me Kex.

I think Hex was a typo.

Kexaihami
User avatar
Posts: 376
Joined: 10 Jun 2013, 10:09
Reputation: 1

Post » 13 Jul 2013, 00:15

I realize. Kex is my nickname ((I am Kexaihami Zedd Vectorial)).

BobTheLawyer
User avatar
Posts: 2240
Joined: 01 May 2012, 21:00
Reputation: 55

Post » 13 Jul 2013, 01:49

Wow. My name has no K's, V's, or Z's, and there you go having each of them as a first letter (in addition to having an l and an x in your name)

Kexaihami
User avatar
Posts: 376
Joined: 10 Jun 2013, 10:09
Reputation: 1

Post » 13 Jul 2013, 03:52

That's because my parents know how to make badass surnames.

Mari0Maker
User avatar
Posts: 1347
Joined: 07 Apr 2012, 17:10
Reputation: 39
Contact:

Post » 15 Jul 2013, 02:32

How about a Lens Flare shader?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lensflare
If that dosen't make sense, then this should. Just make something like this.
Image

Kexaihami
User avatar
Posts: 376
Joined: 10 Jun 2013, 10:09
Reputation: 1

Post » 15 Jul 2013, 02:33

I know what Lens Flare is, there are just no light sources in mari0.

Qcode
User avatar
Posts: 1466
Joined: 05 Feb 2012, 18:00
Reputation: 72
Contact:

Post » 15 Jul 2013, 02:37

How are you meant to determine where the lens flare is coming from, he can't access any game code from the shader, just current pixels.
The only way I see it being possible is to mark a specific rgb value as a light source, then if a block contains that then it would mark a light source. Then it would be even harder creating a lens flare on top of that. Possible, but damn hard.
Ninja'd.

Kexaihami
User avatar
Posts: 376
Joined: 10 Jun 2013, 10:09
Reputation: 1

Post » 15 Jul 2013, 03:36

However, I thank you, Mari0Maker, as your lens flare idea, and my tendency to digress upon a train of thought has given me an idea. If I do not return within a few hours with a shader, call the police.

Goomba98
Posts: 9
Joined: 10 Jul 2013, 13:13
Reputation: 0

Post » 16 Jul 2013, 22:49

The Let there be light shader is linked incorrectly.

Kexaihami
User avatar
Posts: 376
Joined: 10 Jun 2013, 10:09
Reputation: 1

Post » 16 Jul 2013, 22:51

No, I'm fairly certain that's the right file.

Flutter Skye
User avatar
Posts: 1718
Joined: 08 Apr 2012, 17:54
Reputation: 789
Contact:

Post » 16 Jul 2013, 22:54

Please log in to access Box

Use the login form to the right to access your files. Don't have a Box account yet? Sign up for free.

This happens.

Kexaihami
User avatar
Posts: 376
Joined: 10 Jun 2013, 10:09
Reputation: 1

Post » 16 Jul 2013, 23:01

Whoops. Fixing.

Camewel
Posts: 2996
Joined: 02 Feb 2012, 21:32
Reputation: 35

Post » 21 Jul 2013, 16:18

You know on old TVs when you knocked the input out a bit and the picture starts to move down with a big black bar showing up? That happening at random could be a pretty cool shader.

zorua7551
User avatar
Posts: 194
Joined: 10 Jul 2013, 04:23
Reputation: 5

Post » 21 Jul 2013, 16:23

Camewel wrote:You know on old TVs when you knocked the input out a bit and the picture starts to move down with a big black bar showing up? That happening at random could be a pretty cool shader.

i wouldent be so sure cuz id be hard to see what you were doing

idiot9.0
User avatar
Posts: 1713
Joined: 09 Mar 2012, 10:28
Reputation: 198
Contact:

Post » 21 Jul 2013, 16:23

That's the point. It's meant to replicate when old TV's did that.

renhoek
User avatar
Posts: 4559
Joined: 11 Feb 2012, 10:04
Reputation: 215

Post » 21 Jul 2013, 16:26

zorua7551 wrote:
Camewel wrote:You know on old TVs when you knocked the input out a bit and the picture starts to move down with a big black bar showing up? That happening at random could be a pretty cool shader.

i wouldent be so sure cuz id be hard to see what you were doing

Have you looked at most of the shaders in this?

Kexaihami
User avatar
Posts: 376
Joined: 10 Jun 2013, 10:09
Reputation: 1

Post » 21 Jul 2013, 21:11

Camewel wrote:You know on old TVs when you knocked the input out a bit and the picture starts to move down with a big black bar showing up? That happening at random could be a pretty cool shader.

I'm sorry, I'm only 15, and I don't have that good of memory. You'll have to give me a picture.

HugoBDesigner
User avatar
Posts: 2121
Joined: 19 Sep 2012, 02:23
Reputation: 673
Contact:

Post » 22 Jul 2013, 02:18

Kexaihami wrote:I'm sorry, I'm only 15, and I don't have that good of memory. You'll have to give me a picture.


I'm 16 and I know very well what he's talking about. But, just in case:



I think that's what he was talking about :)

Kexaihami
User avatar
Posts: 376
Joined: 10 Jun 2013, 10:09
Reputation: 1

Post » 22 Jul 2013, 03:45

Oh, I see. I apologize: I meant to emphasise the fact that I do not have very good memory on the nostalgia side of things.

HugoBDesigner
User avatar
Posts: 2121
Joined: 19 Sep 2012, 02:23
Reputation: 673
Contact:

Post » 22 Jul 2013, 04:10

Kexaihami wrote:Oh, I see. I apologize: I meant to emphasise the fact that I do not have very good memory on the nostalgia side of things.

All right then... But that wouldn't be something I'd forgot, since even in real life it's awesome (mostly)!


Return to “Modding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron