Streaming game development: https://www.twitch.tv/stabyourself Image

Super Mario Bros. +

Mods, guides how to use and install mods go right in here.
Qcode
User avatar
Posts: 1466
Joined: 05 Feb 2012, 18:00
Reputation: 72
Contact:

Post » 24 Mar 2013, 04:56

game_update is a function in game.lua.

TheJonyMyster
User avatar
Posts: 1873
Joined: 03 Sep 2012, 05:12
Reputation: 24
Contact:

Post » 24 Mar 2013, 19:38

Oh, thanks.
(I played it and it was hilarious)
Last edited by TheJonyMyster on 25 Mar 2013, 04:49, edited 1 time in total.

TripleXero
User avatar
Posts: 892
Joined: 08 Aug 2012, 00:23
Reputation: 27
Contact:

Post » 25 Mar 2013, 03:50

I had to remove the Star modification I made because for some reason something I did was making Mario's jump stop upon hitting a mushroom. I'll fix it later. I have added separate fire colors for each character, at the moment they are just the star colors, but I'll change that. Now for the reason I haven't modified the colors yet:

What colors should I make the third and fourth characters, I feel like the current ones don't fit

Mari0Maker
User avatar
Posts: 1347
Joined: 07 Apr 2012, 17:10
Reputation: 39
Contact:

Post » 25 Mar 2013, 04:01

TripleXero wrote:What colors should I make the third and fourth characters, I feel like the current ones don't fit

Wario and Waluigi.

TripleXero
User avatar
Posts: 892
Joined: 08 Aug 2012, 00:23
Reputation: 27
Contact:

Post » 25 Mar 2013, 04:35

I'm not sure that really fits with the theme of trying to get a closer feel of Super Mario Bros., but I thought of that, too. I also thought of using star colors, which is what player three's actual color is, but four's is just a blue Mario from what I have seen. There's only one star color that fits and that's what was previously said. Others are used already, don't have actual colors, or clash with brick colors

Also, because videos are fun

TheJonyMyster
User avatar
Posts: 1873
Joined: 03 Sep 2012, 05:12
Reputation: 24
Contact:

Post » 25 Mar 2013, 04:50

What about a top score? That's in SMB.

TripleXero
User avatar
Posts: 892
Joined: 08 Aug 2012, 00:23
Reputation: 27
Contact:

Post » 25 Mar 2013, 05:08

Possibly, that might be another thing that's out of reach for me at the moment

TheJonyMyster
User avatar
Posts: 1873
Joined: 03 Sep 2012, 05:12
Reputation: 24
Contact:

Post » 25 Mar 2013, 05:17

Here are some recolors that can be accessed through Game Genie:
http://imgur.com/nKA0MfK,6WcEf4h,KQ3xLmB
The code is YEAAAA and it only works on SMB + Duck hunt.
(SMB, nonetheless)

TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4680
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 719
Contact:

Post » 25 Mar 2013, 19:46

YEAAAA! nice find

Superjustinbros
User avatar
Posts: 2101
Joined: 29 Mar 2012, 20:39
Reputation: 132
Contact:

Post » 25 Mar 2013, 21:41

Here are my recolors. Go nuts with them as you please.
Image

TripleXero
User avatar
Posts: 892
Joined: 08 Aug 2012, 00:23
Reputation: 27
Contact:

Post » 25 Mar 2013, 21:51

I was going to keep the black one, but then I thought the color blended into underground and castle too well, so I used gray like you said Jony. I also replaced blue with the underground-ish looking one you posted, Justin

Image

Superjustinbros
User avatar
Posts: 2101
Joined: 29 Mar 2012, 20:39
Reputation: 132
Contact:

Post » 25 Mar 2013, 22:56

Looking good. Yea I didn't like the brown myself that I did anyways, the grey looks a lot better.

TripleXero
User avatar
Posts: 892
Joined: 08 Aug 2012, 00:23
Reputation: 27
Contact:

Post » 25 Mar 2013, 23:14

Right now I'm looking into fixing big Mario's hat color not being correct on the front, not having much luck, but I think I'll get it soon

Would anyone object to the removal of hats? It'd be easier to fix this and the original SMB didn't have hats, so, yeah

BobTheLawyer
User avatar
Posts: 2240
Joined: 01 May 2012, 21:00
Reputation: 55

Post » 26 Mar 2013, 00:56

It's called use no hat in options.

Dilster3k
User avatar
Posts: 66
Joined: 21 Apr 2012, 19:53
Reputation: 9

Post » 26 Mar 2013, 02:02

Why waste your time with this? The Internet is full of NES Mario emulators.

Qcode
User avatar
Posts: 1466
Joined: 05 Feb 2012, 18:00
Reputation: 72
Contact:

Post » 26 Mar 2013, 02:06

TripleXero wrote:I'm going to try to learn how to code and do these things myself (Qcode has helped me along the way)

This is a good mod to start learning coding with. He didn't dive into something too complicated, he's been figuring out things by himself. Plus this way maps are easily installed and created, rather than using separate programs that wouldn't be compatible on different systems.

HAPPYFACES
Posts: 521
Joined: 02 Jun 2012, 03:40
Reputation: 25

Post » 26 Mar 2013, 03:13

On that note, do you think you could replicate the mini fire Mario glitch? That was one of my favorites on the original SMB :3

Camewel
Posts: 2996
Joined: 02 Feb 2012, 21:32
Reputation: 35

Post » 26 Mar 2013, 03:24

It seemed like a really good idea up to the point where he started removing features.
Leave all the options of standard Mari0 intact, just take out the portal stuff.

BobTheLawyer
User avatar
Posts: 2240
Joined: 01 May 2012, 21:00
Reputation: 55

Post » 26 Mar 2013, 03:26

Or, add a new option to the option menu. No portal. You can change to gel gun, why not no portal gun?

TheJonyMyster
User avatar
Posts: 1873
Joined: 03 Sep 2012, 05:12
Reputation: 24
Contact:

Post » 26 Mar 2013, 03:46

TripleXero wrote:I used gray like you said Jony.

I DID A GUD JAB! YEY!
Good.

TripleXero
User avatar
Posts: 892
Joined: 08 Aug 2012, 00:23
Reputation: 27
Contact:

Post » 26 Mar 2013, 03:57

I'll see what I can do. I don't think I have actually removed anything non-Portal yet, and I will try not to. The thing about readding Portal stuff is the screen locks, if I can end up removing that along with choosing a Portal mode, will do, but since this was in the Classic mod and it's not something I changed, I don't know where to look first

TheJonyMyster
User avatar
Posts: 1873
Joined: 03 Sep 2012, 05:12
Reputation: 24
Contact:

Post » 26 Mar 2013, 04:02

On a slightly related note, I have an NES now.
"YEAH!"
"GOOD JOB, JONY."
"WOOHOO!"
I can check SMB for how the game works.

Superjustinbros
User avatar
Posts: 2101
Joined: 29 Mar 2012, 20:39
Reputation: 132
Contact:

Post » 26 Mar 2013, 04:43

TheJonyMyster wrote:On a slightly related note, I have an NES now.


You could always have used an emulator, though nothing beats having the original. (^v^)

JohnnyM21
User avatar
Posts: 147
Joined: 09 Mar 2012, 13:26
Reputation: 0

Post » 26 Mar 2013, 13:59

TripleXero wrote:
Superjustinbros wrote:there is a mod that causes Stars to play the powerup pickup sound effect and adds 1,000 points upon collecting it. There is a glitch where it adds 2,000 points instead of 1,000 on some occasions, but it's more accurate to the source material.


Looking at the unmodded Mari0, it does give you points, just doesn't present them scrolling up, it also sometimes adds 2000 instead as well, so whatever mod your talking about probably only adds the text


In addition to showing the 1000 points scrolling up, the mod also plays the powerup pickup sound effect.

TheJonyMyster
User avatar
Posts: 1873
Joined: 03 Sep 2012, 05:12
Reputation: 24
Contact:

Post » 26 Mar 2013, 17:06

Superjustinbros wrote:
TheJonyMyster wrote:On a slightly related note, I have an NES now.


You could always have used an emulator, though nothing beats having the original. (^v^)


Oh you thought I had the original? I wish. I have battle chess and that's it.
I have the emulator for smb. Those were two separate notes.

Reminds me, is it possible to have game genie in this mod?

ucenna
Posts: 615
Joined: 11 Jan 2013, 20:06
Reputation: 44

Post » 26 Mar 2013, 17:29

Yeah, no. Game Genie works by modifying/importing code into the game, since the code in Mari0 is different than the code in smb. So if you were to modify the code using Game Genie in Mari0 the same way as in smb you will get vastly different results. That said you can still modify the code of mari0 by unzipping it. that said you could duplicate the effect of it by modifying the code to cause certain things to happen if a game genie like code is entered. But I doubt TripleXero will spend time doing that since it's not a part of vanilla mario but a modification done by editing/importing code.

TheJonyMyster
User avatar
Posts: 1873
Joined: 03 Sep 2012, 05:12
Reputation: 24
Contact:

Post » 26 Mar 2013, 17:39

Deleted.
Last edited by TheJonyMyster on 26 Mar 2013, 17:40, edited 1 time in total.

TheJonyMyster
User avatar
Posts: 1873
Joined: 03 Sep 2012, 05:12
Reputation: 24
Contact:

Post » 26 Mar 2013, 17:39

Maybe instead of editing the way mari0 works, you could make a new game genie...
Probably not.

Automatik
User avatar
Posts: 1076
Joined: 20 Jul 2012, 17:54
Reputation: 8
Contact:

Post » 26 Mar 2013, 18:24

Zipped lua code don't work like compiler assembly.
If you randomly change parts of the zip, 99.999% of the time, the zip will simply be corrupt.

TheJonyMyster
User avatar
Posts: 1873
Joined: 03 Sep 2012, 05:12
Reputation: 24
Contact:

Post » 26 Mar 2013, 18:44

Maybe it can just change random values and change colors?
Kinda like how I made the unrealistic flight simulator.

Automatik
User avatar
Posts: 1076
Joined: 20 Jul 2012, 17:54
Reputation: 8
Contact:

Post » 26 Mar 2013, 18:52

Ah, yeah, that's possible

TripleXero
User avatar
Posts: 892
Joined: 08 Aug 2012, 00:23
Reputation: 27
Contact:

Post » 25 Apr 2013, 04:42

I'm starting to work on this again after finishing up on other projects. Does anyone have any suggestions on what they feel should be changed?

idiot9.0
User avatar
Posts: 1713
Joined: 09 Mar 2012, 10:28
Reputation: 198
Contact:

Post » 25 Apr 2013, 09:04

The only things I really see that need to be changed are things that have been suggested already:
-Fix the turning in mid-air
-Making the star give points

Also, I've noticed that when you use the save option in the pause menu the game music stops. It will fix itself when another music track is activated (i.e. star is grabbed, going to a sub-level), but the fact that it stops is something that needs to be looked at. Don't know if you knew this or someone pointed it out, but felt like mentioning it.

Other than these things I find this mod to be a great replication of the original SMB. What I'd like to see is, once you call this mod "complete", is you go beyond it and try incorporating more of SMB DX's features, seeing as you already included the pause screen. I'm not saying it'd be easy but it'd be a great continuation of this mod.

TripleXero
User avatar
Posts: 892
Joined: 08 Aug 2012, 00:23
Reputation: 27
Contact:

Post » 27 Apr 2013, 06:21

I'm trying to to fix the midair thing at the moment, but not having any luck. As with the star points, in an unmodded Mari0, it gives the points still, just doesn't show them upon contact, but there's a glitch that if you hit it on the corner I believe, it give you 2000 instead of 1000, and when you have it show the point upon contact and it does this, it shows two 1000s next to each other. And the music stopping is fixed, I think I just didn't upload that yet

Superjustinbros
User avatar
Posts: 2101
Joined: 29 Mar 2012, 20:39
Reputation: 132
Contact:

Post » 06 May 2013, 20:52

Finally decided to give this mod a whirl.

The first thing I noticed was Mario's cap doesn't have the emblem like it did in the original SMB.
Image

You should also edit it so the camera stays centered on Mario when moving right.

EDIT: In the original game, whenever Mario jumps (standing or crouching), his sprite does not flip horizontally. And the controls for launching off a crouch-jump are awkward, where you have to press down, then the Jump key while still holding down, then release down to crouch-jump. In the original, you could just hit Jump while crouching and not having to let go of the D-Pad.

TripleXero
User avatar
Posts: 892
Joined: 08 Aug 2012, 00:23
Reputation: 27
Contact:

Post » 07 May 2013, 03:12

I'll look into those things, but as for the hat, I attempted it once (not a very hard attempt), but it's not just editing an image like I'd hoped

Also, update, now in LOVE not ZIP because it's easier: http://www.mediafire.com/?hu2zc4jcn2b0300

Includes music pause screen fix, changing the width to 16 on rooms that they were originally 16 wide (haven't changed normal level width, but will soon), fixed main smbtiles a bit, and changed underground pipes to the green outline

renhoek
User avatar
Posts: 4559
Joined: 11 Feb 2012, 10:04
Reputation: 215

Post » 07 May 2013, 04:18

TripleXero wrote:I'll look into those things, but as for the hat, I attempted it once (not a very hard attempt), but it's not just editing an image like I'd hoped

Also, update, now in LOVE not ZIP because it's easier: http://www.mediafire.com/?hu2zc4jcn2b0300

Includes music pause screen fix, changing the width to 16 on rooms that they were originally 16 wide (haven't changed normal level width, but will soon), fixed main smbtiles a bit, and changed underground pipes to the green outline

can you just edit the emblem to be the same layer as Mario's skin?
or am I an idiot and it's more then just that. (great mod by the way)

TripleXero
User avatar
Posts: 892
Joined: 08 Aug 2012, 00:23
Reputation: 27
Contact:

Post » 07 May 2013, 06:03

I could, but then if you have hats other than the normal it'd just be floating there

EDIT: So, I'm dumb and didn't add the modified levels to the mod so nothing was changed with widths and tiles before, but now they actually are: http://www.mediafire.com/?udpw5nwbpn0i3dg

Superjustinbros
User avatar
Posts: 2101
Joined: 29 Mar 2012, 20:39
Reputation: 132
Contact:

Post » 07 May 2013, 18:16

So;.. Any plans on adding support for the Infinite Worlds mod? I'd like to play my SMB Extended map pack with this mod.

TripleXero
User avatar
Posts: 892
Joined: 08 Aug 2012, 00:23
Reputation: 27
Contact:

Post » 08 May 2013, 00:49

I can try soon. Not that it's a big deal, but I added the Better Editor on the last update. Also, different title screen for SMB2J. Only shows up when that map is selected, otherwise it's the other one. It's only cut off at the moment because the SMB2J is longer and I haven't changed things around yet

Image

Qcode
User avatar
Posts: 1466
Joined: 05 Feb 2012, 18:00
Reputation: 72
Contact:

Post » 08 May 2013, 01:13

Infinite worlds mod isn't just in editor.lua, you've got to edit in the other parts from mario.lua and game.lua too

TripleXero
User avatar
Posts: 892
Joined: 08 Aug 2012, 00:23
Reputation: 27
Contact:

Post » 08 May 2013, 03:12

I was just saying that I had added the Better Editor, I hadn't looked into adding the Infinite Worlds yet

EDIT: Another small update, added the title screen change for SMB2J and a skidding sound. I want some feedback on how the skidding sounds compared the the original in SMB2J. I think it might be a bit too loud

http://www.mediafire.com/?sfms0905b8ux6w1

EDIT 2: Also added font changing upon switching to SMB2J. The font isn't complete though and only is numbers and letters, so I haven't uploaded that yet. Also added something else that didn't really work right that loads different entity.png depending on SMB2J or any other mappack. It works, but only if SMB2J is loaded upon the game loading, and switching to it will not switch the images, and switching from it will keep the previous. Again, this stuff isn't uploaded yet

renhoek
User avatar
Posts: 4559
Joined: 11 Feb 2012, 10:04
Reputation: 215

Post » 08 May 2013, 08:38

TripleXero wrote:I can try soon. Not that it's a big deal, but I added the Better Editor on the last update. Also, different title screen for SMB2J. Only shows up when that map is selected, otherwise it's the other one. It's only cut off at the moment because the SMB2J is longer and I haven't changed things around yet

Image

I love you.

TripleXero
User avatar
Posts: 892
Joined: 08 Aug 2012, 00:23
Reputation: 27
Contact:

Post » 09 May 2013, 02:28

renhoek wrote:I love you.

I only like you as a friend, sorry :P

I finished the font, but the issue I'm encountering at the moment is that the SMB2J font changes color depending on level type (overworld, underground, castle). I know how to change it for each, but the problem is I don't know how to check what type of level it is. I can do "if underwater" because that's already there and works through the checkbox in the editor, but I can't seem to find an existing function to use or figure out how to make one. If anyone could assist me with that, or just put me in the right direction at the least, that would be awesome! If not, I might get it eventually
I figured it out with random guessing

Image

Superjustinbros
User avatar
Posts: 2101
Joined: 29 Mar 2012, 20:39
Reputation: 132
Contact:

Post » 09 May 2013, 17:23

There's one thing I wanted to bring up;

Would it be possible to make the settings file for this mod different from the vanilla Mari0 settings mod, like what the 16bit Mari0 mod did?

I'd also recommend changing the physics of Koopa/Beetle shells so they keep the original speed and (along with other enemies) can't stand atop other enemies.

EDIT: Yea I know I'm dwelling on "lol let's add some more mods to make this mod more authentic to the original", but if there's one thing this mod could have, it's this:
viewtopic.php?f=8&t=1951
Because it's awkward for a white block in an overworld level to suddenly have brown debris. :B
Last edited by Superjustinbros on 09 May 2013, 22:07, edited 1 time in total.

mindnomad
User avatar
Posts: 367
Joined: 21 Mar 2012, 14:43
Reputation: 351
Contact:

Post » 09 May 2013, 19:11

Do you think you can fix the bouncing height of the Starman and Koopa Paratroopas? I've realized after playing NES SMB for the last 5 weeks that the bouncing height in Mari0 is WAY too low.

TripleXero
User avatar
Posts: 892
Joined: 08 Aug 2012, 00:23
Reputation: 27
Contact:

Post » 10 May 2013, 02:48

I'll attempt these things once I finish the font issue I'm having, but I'll have a go at the separate settings now since it seems simple enough

TripleXero
User avatar
Posts: 892
Joined: 08 Aug 2012, 00:23
Reputation: 27
Contact:

Post » 10 May 2013, 05:01

Double post, but update: I haven't accomplished anything new with the fonts, but in-game it basically works, my issue was menus while having the SMB2J font. I made the options separate from Mari0 now (I don't know how this is possible, but mappacks are loaded from Mari0's and the new folder I think), as well as changed the scrolling the center Mario better and start earlier

http://www.mediafire.com/?ljub7i51ih9vq6r

TripleXero
User avatar
Posts: 892
Joined: 08 Aug 2012, 00:23
Reputation: 27
Contact:

Post » 12 May 2013, 06:31

Another small update on some things to come. I tend to want to show off and explain everything I do on this mod, not sure if that's bad or good. Anyways, GREEN SPRINGS



I have also added physics for Luigi that are similar to SMB2J (while trying to get the jump height, I slightly modified Mari0's jump as well). At the moment, it's not optional, but I will make it eventually. Also, just to make sure there's no confusion, this version isn't up yet

Superjustinbros
User avatar
Posts: 2101
Joined: 29 Mar 2012, 20:39
Reputation: 132
Contact:

Post » 13 May 2013, 03:43

I'd say the green springs are a plus, but I don't want certain map packs crashing when all I want to do is play a SMB+ level in Mari0.

Still the ideal way to play Super Mario Bros. Special before SMBC v3 is released.

EDIT: Here's the Castle Music that starts and loops properly.
http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?aajjrg7abbcfisg


Return to “Modding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest