Streaming game development: https://www.twitch.tv/stabyourself Image

Super Mario Bros. +

Mods, guides how to use and install mods go right in here.
TripleXero
User avatar
Posts: 892
Joined: 08 Aug 2012, 00:23
Reputation: 27
Contact:

Post » 16 Mar 2013, 04:45

Renamed project to Super Mario Bros. + because it's probably a good idea to change the name to avoid confusion if anyone refers to it somewhere other than this thread. Nothing besides the title of the modification will be changed

Instead of being a combination of Super Mario Bros. and Portal, I've decided to make a modification, influenced by others creations and observations from the forum and my own additions, that tries to completely replicate the original game. This isn't just replacing the title screen and window size, much more has been done and much more will be done over time.

I am not asking anyone to do any modding for me (at least I'll try not to), but if you are willing to help I won't refuse. I'm going to attempt to learn how to code and do these things myself (I've had some assistance from Qcode and ucenna so far)

Here is a list of things that I have already accomplished (that I can remember):
Built off the modification Classic Mode (by Lawnboy & idiot9.0) that removes portal guns and backwards scrolling
Replaced the small Mario sprites that were in the Classic Mode mod because they were stretched slightly
Resized the game window to the same width as the original game
Replaced all of the original graphics to a lighter color scheme and fixed incorrect palettes (with help from a mod that I got from Superjustinbros)
Fixed various messed up sprites such as Buzzy Beetle shells and font
Changed the coding and graphic for Goombas so that the stomped versions are 1px lower
Luigi has his Super Mario Bros. Deluxe color scheme
Fixed HUD spacing along with spacing of level start screen stuff
Recentered loading and intro screen
Fixed brick debris pointed out by SuperJustinBros
Removed falling portal thing in options
New pause menu resembling Super Mario Bros. Deluxe
Each player has individual fire colors
Changed title screen and font for Super Mario Bros. 2 mappack
Changed physics for Luigi (for the time being, not optional and only player two)

Here's a few things that I've noticed that I plan on fixing or at least attempting (there's more than what's on the list, look around the thread):
Slightly modifying physics for Mario and enemies
Adding additional color schemes for graphics that only have one
Fixing some sprite placement
Fixing Mario's behaviors to more fit the original game (flipping directions in midair)
Fixing levels to their original state (non-widescreen)
Fixing Star behavior
Replacing DLC with others mappacks that use that game's graphics (2, Special, DX VS)

Some pictures and videos:
Image Image
Image Image


Image
Last edited by TripleXero on 17 Jul 2013, 10:57, edited 12 times in total.

Mari0Maker
User avatar
Posts: 1347
Joined: 07 Apr 2012, 17:10
Reputation: 39
Contact:

Post » 16 Mar 2013, 04:49

Nice job, Xero!
Can't wait to see this done! :D

TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4690
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 719
Contact:

Post » 16 Mar 2013, 05:50

>Gets Mari0 to play SMB with portals.
>Mods it to be just like the original.
Wow.

TheJonyMyster
User avatar
Posts: 1873
Joined: 03 Sep 2012, 05:12
Reputation: 24
Contact:

Post » 16 Mar 2013, 05:52

Turret Opera wrote:>Gets Mari0 to play SMB with portals.
>Mods it to be just like the original.
Wow.


Well, yeah. Who wants to have a rom when you can do something that will give you coding experience?
Everyone. I don't get it either, Turret.

TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4690
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 719
Contact:

Post » 16 Mar 2013, 05:55

Not sure if sarcasm or serious but if I want to play the original I'd rather not mod a game to achieve it...

renhoek
User avatar
Posts: 4559
Joined: 11 Feb 2012, 10:04
Reputation: 215

Post » 16 Mar 2013, 06:00

someone beat you to this mod but now that I'm not as much as a dip shit I can understand why people would want to play without the gun,
it's for the maps and all the other things that are possible in mari0, plus I read that originally the game wasn't even going to have the gun in the first place the focus was going to make it like new super mario bros wiis co-op in super mario brothers.

TheJonyMyster
User avatar
Posts: 1873
Joined: 03 Sep 2012, 05:12
Reputation: 24
Contact:

Post » 16 Mar 2013, 06:02

xXxrenhoekxXx wrote:I read that originally the game wasn't even going to have the gun in the first place the focus was going to make it like new super mario bros wiis co-op in super mario brothers.


Where did you read that?

Legend_of_Kirby
User avatar
Posts: 754
Joined: 14 Oct 2012, 05:37
Reputation: 14
Contact:

Post » 16 Mar 2013, 06:12

I heard about that as well.

TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4690
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 719
Contact:

Post » 16 Mar 2013, 06:15

I read it in Wikipedia.

Qcode
User avatar
Posts: 1466
Joined: 05 Feb 2012, 18:00
Reputation: 72
Contact:

Post » 16 Mar 2013, 17:56

TheJonyMyster wrote:
xXxrenhoekxXx wrote:I read that originally the game wasn't even going to have the gun in the first place the focus was going to make it like new super mario bros wiis co-op in super mario brothers.


Where did you read that?

https://love2d.org/forums/viewtopic.php ... 115#p28115
Maurice wrote:The main goal in the rewriting was to come as close to the original as possible. I think it's even better than "Super Mario Crossover".
Then, I first tried to find an artist to make "HD" versions of the sprites but nobody likes me so I am doing multiplayer (like new super mario bros) instead.


TripleXero, did you change the maxyspeed variable? It's in variables.lua, line 40.

Code: Select all

maxyspeed = 100 --SMB: 14

TripleXero
User avatar
Posts: 892
Joined: 08 Aug 2012, 00:23
Reputation: 27
Contact:

Post » 16 Mar 2013, 22:31

After you brought it up I changed it, thank you. Also, download link is up along with some pictures

Qcode
User avatar
Posts: 1466
Joined: 05 Feb 2012, 18:00
Reputation: 72
Contact:

Post » 17 Mar 2013, 04:07

Have you thought of altering the screen size back to default Mari0 when going to the editor? Also you should recenter the paused game GUI.

Superjustinbros
User avatar
Posts: 2101
Joined: 29 Mar 2012, 20:39
Reputation: 133
Contact:

Post » 17 Mar 2013, 05:22

If you don't mind, I went in and made a correction to the block debris.
Image

TripleXero
User avatar
Posts: 892
Joined: 08 Aug 2012, 00:23
Reputation: 27
Contact:

Post » 17 Mar 2013, 05:42

Is it possible to do that only for the editor? And what do you mean by the paused game GUI?

I see I screwed up on the castle one, but why is the underwater one grey?

I just finished re-positioning the HUD on the title screen, next for the rest of the game

Image

Superjustinbros
User avatar
Posts: 2101
Joined: 29 Mar 2012, 20:39
Reputation: 133
Contact:

Post » 17 Mar 2013, 07:19

TripleXero wrote:I see I screwed up on the castle one, but why is the underwater one grey?


The brick debris in SMB1 uses the same palette as the Goombas, Buzzy Beetles, etc so that they didn't appear to swap colors when hit/broken. Of course most would never find this out since you couldn't place breakable brick blocks underwater in SMB1; they'd become the solid underwater tiles.

TripleXero
User avatar
Posts: 892
Joined: 08 Aug 2012, 00:23
Reputation: 27
Contact:

Post » 17 Mar 2013, 07:25

I guess that makes sense, but since the only actual visual bricks you can make appear in SMB1 though level hacking are ones with power-ups and those are green, shouldn't the debris match it?

All areas in which the HUD show up now are in the same spacing as the original game. At the moment I am working on the title screen text positions

Superjustinbros
User avatar
Posts: 2101
Joined: 29 Mar 2012, 20:39
Reputation: 133
Contact:

Post » 17 Mar 2013, 15:33

That's just how they're programmed in SMB1. Trust me, I've done my research.

Qcode
User avatar
Posts: 1466
Joined: 05 Feb 2012, 18:00
Reputation: 72
Contact:

Post » 17 Mar 2013, 16:07

TripleXero wrote:Is it possible to do that only for the editor?

Totally. Just use love.graphics.setMode( width, height, fullscreen, vsync, fsaa ), where fullscreen, vsync, and fsaa are boolean values. You can change it to the normal one when loading the editor, and back to the old SMB when loading up the menu or game.
TripleXero wrote:And what do you mean by the paused game GUI?

For some reason I thought it was offset. Looks like I'm going crazy. Maybe I was thinking about the intro being uncentered or something. I don't know.

TripleXero
User avatar
Posts: 892
Joined: 08 Aug 2012, 00:23
Reputation: 27
Contact:

Post » 17 Mar 2013, 23:12

I might do that with the editor then, but I need to make room on the title screen because I'm thinking of adding an option to play with Luigi's SMB2JP physics, but that's far from happening

Anyways, I updated the download with the newer version that has the fixed HUD, fixed loading and intro, and fixed brick debris. I decided to wait off on the title screen text placement for now and just put it back to how it was before. Download Here or in main post

Flutter Skye
User avatar
Posts: 1718
Joined: 08 Apr 2012, 17:54
Reputation: 789
Contact:

Post » 18 Mar 2013, 11:29

That's truly amazing , it feels like it's the original SMB . Keep up the good work .

mindnomad
User avatar
Posts: 367
Joined: 21 Mar 2012, 14:43
Reputation: 351
Contact:

Post » 19 Mar 2013, 03:42

Maybe fix the fall speed if you haven't already, and make Goombas bump into each other while in the jumped-on state

TripleXero
User avatar
Posts: 892
Joined: 08 Aug 2012, 00:23
Reputation: 27
Contact:

Post » 19 Mar 2013, 07:31

I believe the falling speed was changed with the maxyspeed thing Qcode posted about. And when I figure out how to do it, that goomba thing will be changed right away

Here's a better video where I can actually hit the ? box and shows the new HUD

mindnomad
User avatar
Posts: 367
Joined: 21 Mar 2012, 14:43
Reputation: 351
Contact:

Post » 19 Mar 2013, 20:00

I guess another thing you want to fix is the "changing direction while in mid-air" thing. That doesn't happen in the original game.

TripleXero
User avatar
Posts: 892
Joined: 08 Aug 2012, 00:23
Reputation: 27
Contact:

Post » 19 Mar 2013, 23:59

I've also noticed the mid-air thing, it's not something I currently know how to do

What I want to do next:
Image

idiot9.0
User avatar
Posts: 1713
Joined: 09 Mar 2012, 10:28
Reputation: 198
Contact:

Post » 20 Mar 2013, 01:48

WaryLouka wrote:I found some stuff:

When you jump and move, the position of Mario change. ( If you jump, for example, forward, then in mid-air you move backward, Mario will face backward and vice-versa )

This do NOT happens in original SMB.

TripleXero wrote:I've also noticed the mid-air thing, it's not something I currently know how to do


Also if you want to use the level editor just use the vanilla Mari0. The mappacks work in this mod just the same.

TripleXero
User avatar
Posts: 892
Joined: 08 Aug 2012, 00:23
Reputation: 27
Contact:

Post » 20 Mar 2013, 07:13

I made some progress on the pause screen. I have the Mario and life count in the correct spot, made the pause all black, and renamed the basic functions. A lot still needs to be done, though

Image

EDIT: Worked a little more on it, all there's left to do is move around the original options and remove unneeded ones (volume, quit to desktop). Played to 1-2 to show it actually works

Image

Superjustinbros
User avatar
Posts: 2101
Joined: 29 Mar 2012, 20:39
Reputation: 133
Contact:

Post » 20 Mar 2013, 07:33

To quote Wary, SMBUtility while it does allow for some things Mari0 doesn't have, is quite confusing since it's not a tile-based editor and it's not possible to place certain tiles freely like the castle tiles, clouds, or the ground blocks, but this isn't about SMBUtility, so I'll stop.

I'm glad Triple is adding acknowledgement to SMBDX in this mod.

TripleXero
User avatar
Posts: 892
Joined: 08 Aug 2012, 00:23
Reputation: 27
Contact:

Post » 20 Mar 2013, 07:38

I was going to say that I do use it, but Idiot explained everything else I was gonna say basically and ninja'd me so I left it out

idiot9.0
User avatar
Posts: 1713
Joined: 09 Mar 2012, 10:28
Reputation: 198
Contact:

Post » 20 Mar 2013, 10:34

Superjustinbros wrote:I'm glad Triple is adding acknowledgement to SMBDX in this mod.

I like that too. I always liked SMB Deluxe. It'd be cool if he incorporated more of the Deluxe stuff as well. Challenge stages anyone?

Superjustinbros
User avatar
Posts: 2101
Joined: 29 Mar 2012, 20:39
Reputation: 133
Contact:

Post » 20 Mar 2013, 14:50

idiot9.0 wrote:
Superjustinbros wrote:I'm glad Triple is adding acknowledgement to SMBDX in this mod.

I like that too. I always liked SMB Deluxe. It'd be cool if he incorporated more of the Deluxe stuff as well. Challenge stages anyone?

I'd be more up for seeing DX content in core Mari0 so it can be shared universally with all mods and players. But seeing that Maurice only cares about SMB1 and not these official sequels/remakes.

Back on topic, I do have sprites for he SMBDX, colored so they match with the rest of the SMB1 palette.

TripleXero
User avatar
Posts: 892
Joined: 08 Aug 2012, 00:23
Reputation: 27
Contact:

Post » 21 Mar 2013, 01:55

For the most part, the pause menu is now completed. There's a few things that could be changed such as: no sound effects when scrolling through choices, loop scrolling, reworking of save and exit prompts. Here's a download to the new version: http://www.mediafire.com/?jxbnggrgkjck9r9

Also, new ideas to add: Menus controlled by gamepad configuration keys

EDIT: Image

TheJonyMyster
User avatar
Posts: 1873
Joined: 03 Sep 2012, 05:12
Reputation: 24
Contact:

Post » 21 Mar 2013, 02:05

What about the glitch (Mostly used in custom level romhacks) where mushrooms let you jump in mid air?

TripleXero
User avatar
Posts: 892
Joined: 08 Aug 2012, 00:23
Reputation: 27
Contact:

Post » 21 Mar 2013, 02:06

I believe that is in SE

TheJonyMyster
User avatar
Posts: 1873
Joined: 03 Sep 2012, 05:12
Reputation: 24
Contact:

Post » 21 Mar 2013, 02:08

But this mod isn't in SE. This mod is here, now.
You know that nobody likes waiting for SE for any reason.

Qcode
User avatar
Posts: 1466
Joined: 05 Feb 2012, 18:00
Reputation: 72
Contact:

Post » 21 Mar 2013, 02:34

Most of us deal with it without complaining. It's mostly just you and Turret who whine.

TheJonyMyster
User avatar
Posts: 1873
Joined: 03 Sep 2012, 05:12
Reputation: 24
Contact:

Post » 21 Mar 2013, 02:49

I DON'T WHINE! I DON'T WHINE I DON'T WHINE I DON'T WHINE I DON'T WHINE
Really, I don't. Second, I swear I saw some others who didn't like waiting.
And If you thought that post was whining, you should've seen what I was going to post originally.

TripleXero
User avatar
Posts: 892
Joined: 08 Aug 2012, 00:23
Reputation: 27
Contact:

Post » 21 Mar 2013, 04:15

I don't think the mushroom thing with be added because of the SE thing, I don't know how to do it, and it's a glitch (I think). If I do end up doing it, it won't be soon

Also, pause menu worked on a bit more. More sound effects, no more prompts for saving and exiting, and saving no longer closes the game: http://www.mediafire.com/?9gbmr6oy3kopdpa

mindnomad
User avatar
Posts: 367
Joined: 21 Mar 2012, 14:43
Reputation: 351
Contact:

Post » 21 Mar 2013, 22:06

I realized that the power-up sound doesn't play and you don't get the 1000 number hovering above you when you get the starman. Sorry for being such a nitpick :S

Danfun64
Posts: 9
Joined: 09 Mar 2013, 22:37
Reputation: 0

Post » 23 Mar 2013, 19:21

I have a request. Can you make a special version of this with scrolling and the widescreen feature intact? I would like to play SMB coop without portals, and this seems like the best option, except for those two issues. (Restoring scrolling is more important of those 2 listed issues btw)

Superjustinbros
User avatar
Posts: 2101
Joined: 29 Mar 2012, 20:39
Reputation: 133
Contact:

Post » 23 Mar 2013, 23:47

mindnomad wrote:I realized that the power-up sound doesn't play and you don't get the 1000 number hovering above you when you get the starman. Sorry for being such a nitpick :S


That's something that's never been fixed in core Mari0, but there is a mod that causes Stars to play the powerup pickup sound effect and adds 1,000 points upon collecting it. There is a glitch where it adds 2,000 points instead of 1,000 on some occasions, but it's more accurate to the source material.

Danfun64
Posts: 9
Joined: 09 Mar 2013, 22:37
Reputation: 0

Post » 23 Mar 2013, 23:55

The reason I ask, there is the original Mari0,"Classic Mod", which is Mari0 with portal gun but without scrolling, and this mod, which is Mario without portal gun or scrolling. I simply want Mari0 with scrolling but without the portal gun. I can't code, so I don't know how to do it myself.

TripleXero
User avatar
Posts: 892
Joined: 08 Aug 2012, 00:23
Reputation: 27
Contact:

Post » 24 Mar 2013, 02:35

I can probably make a version that's widescreen when everything is finished, but at the moment, I positioned things on the pause menu in ways that only work with the smaller screen. You can manually edit it yourself though in main.lua, line 38. I don't know how the scrolling lock even works, though, sorry

I've added the moving cursor sound effect to the pause menu and fixed music not playing after saving and resuming. I'm going to add the 1000 points for the star, but I'm on the edge about the powerup sound while collecting it. In SMBDX, it doesn't play, which is (for the most part) an improved SMB, so I'm not sure if I should or not

TheJonyMyster
User avatar
Posts: 1873
Joined: 03 Sep 2012, 05:12
Reputation: 24
Contact:

Post » 24 Mar 2013, 02:52

Danfun64 wrote:I can't code

TripleXero wrote:You can manually edit it yourself though in main.lua, line 38.

Wow, TripleXero, you're so helpful.

TripleXero
User avatar
Posts: 892
Joined: 08 Aug 2012, 00:23
Reputation: 27
Contact:

Post » 24 Mar 2013, 02:56

Changing "width = 16" to "width = 25" isn't really coding

TheJonyMyster
User avatar
Posts: 1873
Joined: 03 Sep 2012, 05:12
Reputation: 24
Contact:

Post » 24 Mar 2013, 03:08

sorry

TripleXero
User avatar
Posts: 892
Joined: 08 Aug 2012, 00:23
Reputation: 27
Contact:

Post » 24 Mar 2013, 03:15

Another "good enough" attempt, and showing the pause menu

TheJonyMyster
User avatar
Posts: 1873
Joined: 03 Sep 2012, 05:12
Reputation: 24
Contact:

Post » 24 Mar 2013, 03:59

I like it with the ∞ points. Can you mod it so that it always does that, star or no star?

Qcode
User avatar
Posts: 1466
Joined: 05 Feb 2012, 18:00
Reputation: 72
Contact:

Post » 24 Mar 2013, 04:21

Anywhere in game_update

Code: Select all

addpoints(1000, objects["player"][1].x, objects["player"][1].y)

TripleXero
User avatar
Posts: 892
Joined: 08 Aug 2012, 00:23
Reputation: 27
Contact:

Post » 24 Mar 2013, 04:30

Superjustinbros wrote:there is a mod that causes Stars to play the powerup pickup sound effect and adds 1,000 points upon collecting it. There is a glitch where it adds 2,000 points instead of 1,000 on some occasions, but it's more accurate to the source material.


Looking at the unmodded Mari0, it does give you points, just doesn't present them scrolling up, it also sometimes adds 2000 instead as well, so whatever mod your talking about probably only adds the text

TheJonyMyster
User avatar
Posts: 1873
Joined: 03 Sep 2012, 05:12
Reputation: 24
Contact:

Post » 24 Mar 2013, 04:33

Qcode wrote:Anywhere in game_update

Code: Select all

addpoints(1000, objects["player"][1].x, objects["player"][1].y)


game_update? I couldn't find it. Do I have to make a new lua?


Return to “Modding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron