Streaming game development: https://www.twitch.tv/stabyourself Image

Better Level Editor v1.4: Undo/redo, copy/paste tiles...

Mods, guides how to use and install mods go right in here.
BobTheLawyer
User avatar
Posts: 2240
Joined: 01 May 2012, 21:00
Reputation: 53

Post » 13 Aug 2012, 13:28

Gemgamer wrote:How to install?

Go to the .love source code of Mari0 (you can get it on the stabYourself website)
Rename the .love to .zip
Unzip,
Replace the old editor.lua with the new one, (you can ctrl.+a on the current one if you are looking at it in Notepad++, definetly something you want, then paste everything in)
Drag the folder into love itself which you downloaded yesterday.
Should work.

Gemgamer
Posts: 25
Joined: 01 Aug 2012, 14:25
Reputation: 0

Post » 13 Aug 2012, 13:47

hmm, just found a bug. Not a big one but just a bit of a nuisance. If you paste a non-collidable block on top of a collidable block, then undo it, the collidable block is still there, but it becomes non-collidable until you test the map. Cant make a video, but im sure that you will find it on your own at one point. Same thing happens vice versa btw, paste a block in the air, then undo it, you cant go in that air block until you test the map. :/ it saves too much data, not sure how to fix it.

Gemgamer
Posts: 25
Joined: 01 Aug 2012, 14:25
Reputation: 0

Post » 13 Aug 2012, 13:49

Oh, sorry i got it installed, just dragged the folder into the mari0 folder.

Gemgamer
Posts: 25
Joined: 01 Aug 2012, 14:25
Reputation: 0

Post » 13 Aug 2012, 14:00

bigger bug, every time i scroll in the mappack selection, my game crashes!!! Plz helP!!!

pbalazs
Posts: 105
Joined: 27 Apr 2012, 23:33
Reputation: 0

Post » 13 Aug 2012, 16:05

1. There's a button for editing posts.
2. Regarding the first bug: I know about it. It also happens in the unmodded level editor, when you "clear" the map by setting it's width to 1 or so and then increase it back.
3. I think the "bigger bug" is caused by one of your mappacks. Try removing all downloaded mappacks and resetting the original maps to their default version.
4. I won't work on this mod anymore, sorry. The best features will be included in SE.

Gemgamer
Posts: 25
Joined: 01 Aug 2012, 14:25
Reputation: 0

Post » 13 Aug 2012, 16:28

ok, thx i will try all that

Superjustinbros
User avatar
Posts: 2101
Joined: 29 Mar 2012, 20:39
Reputation: 132
Contact:

Post » 21 Aug 2012, 12:13

pbalazs wrote:4. I won't work on this mod anymore, sorry. The best features will be included in SE.


Have you discussed this with Maurice?

FaycalMenouar
Posts: 1076
Joined: 11 May 2012, 18:00
Reputation: 2
Contact:

Post » 21 Aug 2012, 12:31

Superjustinbros wrote:
pbalazs wrote:4. I won't work on this mod anymore, sorry. The best features will be included in SE.


Have you discussed this with Maurice?

he is working with Maurice . He personally asked him to , i guess

Chris0neilson
Posts: 30
Joined: 04 Mar 2012, 15:02
Reputation: 0

Post » 27 Aug 2012, 00:25

Download
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/100685609/Editor1.zip
Here is both .lua and .txt on zipfiles.
> Level Editor
> Level Test player
> Read info.

That best editor so easy fast build own level.

Turtle95
User avatar
Posts: 1275
Joined: 21 Mar 2012, 21:48
Reputation: 122
Contact:

Post » 01 Sep 2012, 05:22

Could you possibly add a common selection tool? Like the SE one. You select a group of entities which are the same and can change all their rightclick values at once.

BobTheLawyer
User avatar
Posts: 2240
Joined: 01 May 2012, 21:00
Reputation: 53

Post » 03 Sep 2012, 13:49

Turtle95 wrote:Could you possibly add a common selection tool? Like the SE one. You select a group of entities which are the same and can change all their rightclick values at once.

Dude. This is the SE one. Except he joined up with Maurice and all updates to this feed right into SE.

cbailey78
Posts: 27
Joined: 12 Sep 2012, 18:11
Reputation: 0

Post » 16 Sep 2012, 07:27

Will the SE have the RGB sliders in the background color just like I've seen on the SE trailer video? It would be awesome to be able to change the background color with the RGB sliders!

Superjustinbros
User avatar
Posts: 2101
Joined: 29 Mar 2012, 20:39
Reputation: 132
Contact:

Post » 19 Sep 2012, 02:07

One thing I have to mention, aside from the moving of a group of tiles not deleting but moving selected entities as well as tiles, would be when you use Cut, Copy and Paste, what is saved to the clipboard (what is Cut or Copied) can be carried over and placed in another level of the same map pack without having to add the set of tiles to the list of objects.

wulf&crazy
Posts: 22
Joined: 27 Sep 2012, 01:23
Reputation: 0

Post » 30 Sep 2012, 16:02

can i use in mod i would give you credit

Freeman
User avatar
Posts: 1
Joined: 07 Oct 2012, 10:15
Reputation: 0

Post » 07 Oct 2012, 10:31

Thanks! It is realy need for Mapping!

Dark[Ol(U23)leneri]
Posts: 221
Joined: 09 Apr 2012, 20:26
Reputation: 0

Post » 24 Oct 2012, 19:42

I request ability to create move all map with all links to right onto one vertical line of blocks. Sometimes i need to reedit map in start or mid but i need to move all block and links for it. It's annoying.

Thank you

BobTheLawyer
User avatar
Posts: 2240
Joined: 01 May 2012, 21:00
Reputation: 53

Post » 14 Dec 2012, 00:31

Just wondering, was there a reason behind the pointless variable, resetedit?

SonicStalker
User avatar
Posts: 21
Joined: 30 Jan 2013, 02:33
Reputation: 0

Post » 18 Feb 2013, 14:36

This is soo helpful! It really makes making maps way easier. Thanks a ton!

bubba_nate
User avatar
Posts: 817
Joined: 02 Sep 2012, 23:22
Reputation: 30
Contact:

Post » 20 Feb 2013, 22:20

Sonic, please don't bump. (And no, I did not bump, that was sonic that bumped.)

depkata
Posts: 5
Joined: 21 Feb 2013, 19:48
Reputation: 0

Post » 21 Feb 2013, 19:53

how do i install this ? im new in this LOVE files thingy... thanks in advance

Mr.Q.Marx?
User avatar
Posts: 849
Joined: 15 May 2012, 18:35
Reputation: 27

Post » 21 Feb 2013, 21:40

depkata wrote:how do i install this ? im new in this LOVE files thingy... thanks in advance

Rename the source code / mod you're using from .love to .zip, drag the editor.lua into the zip file, rename to .love and run with Love 0.8.0

Maurice
Stabyourself.net
Posts: 2142
Joined: 01 Feb 2012, 20:19
Reputation: 102

Post » 22 Feb 2013, 01:19

bubba_nate wrote:Sonic, please don't bump. (And no, I did not bump, that was sonic that bumped.)

What he did was not bumping.

depkata
Posts: 5
Joined: 21 Feb 2013, 19:48
Reputation: 0

Post » 22 Feb 2013, 17:21

Mr.Q.Marx? wrote:
depkata wrote:how do i install this ? im new in this LOVE files thingy... thanks in advance

Rename the source code / mod you're using from .love to .zip, drag the editor.lua into the zip file, rename to .love and run with Love 0.8.0


so ur trying to tell me to RENAME the mod file from edit0r.love to edit0r.zip in order to import the editor.lua file into the archive and than rename it back to LOVE to run them as 1? ok i think i get it , let me try

qaisjp
Posts: 12
Joined: 09 Mar 2013, 14:18
Reputation: 0

Post » 09 Mar 2013, 23:29

What's the Special Edition? and I've made a commit request: https://github.com/Stabyourself/mari0/pull/2

Qcode
User avatar
Posts: 1464
Joined: 05 Feb 2012, 18:00
Reputation: 72
Contact:

Post » 09 Mar 2013, 23:31

SE is the next version of Mari0. Includes tons of new stuff, biggest being online play.

qaisjp
Posts: 12
Joined: 09 Mar 2013, 14:18
Reputation: 0

Post » 09 Mar 2013, 23:35

Wow that'll be awesome :D
Is there a forum topic dedicated to it?

SuperScourge
User avatar
Posts: 37
Joined: 20 Mar 2013, 23:55
Reputation: 3

Post » 23 Mar 2013, 00:46

With this Mod on my Mari0 it saves me a lot of time when I need to make a castle, bush, cloud, or the most hardest of all making Bowser's Castle by scratch on every 1-3 level so using this mod I now have a saved Object which is Bowser's Castle. now I can release my map pack in no time!

BobTheLawyer
User avatar
Posts: 2240
Joined: 01 May 2012, 21:00
Reputation: 53

Post » 23 Mar 2013, 02:36

SuperScourge wrote:With this Mod on my Mari0 it saves me a lot of time when I need to make a castle, bush, cloud, or the most hardest of all making Bowser's Castle by scratch on every 1-3 level so using this mod I now have a saved Object which is Bowser's Castle. now I can release my map pack in no time!

You sound like a cheesy advertiser.

SuperScourge
User avatar
Posts: 37
Joined: 20 Mar 2013, 23:55
Reputation: 3

Post » 23 Mar 2013, 03:49

BobTheLawyer wrote:
SuperScourge wrote:With this Mod on my Mari0 it saves me a lot of time when I need to make a castle, bush, cloud, or the most hardest of all making Bowser's Castle by scratch on every 1-3 level so using this mod I now have a saved Object which is Bowser's Castle. now I can release my map pack in no time!

You sound like a cheesy advertiser.

Well I had nothing else to say and just posted this since it helps me a lot with the objects section now.

Jackostar10000
User avatar
Posts: 416
Joined: 17 Jun 2012, 12:06
Reputation: 14

Post » 04 May 2013, 11:26

wait. how do we download it all i get is code.
edit tryed doing it cant get it can someone put the final .love product for me to download

sonicthehaxghog
User avatar
Posts: 38
Joined: 17 May 2013, 04:49
Reputation: 0

Post » 21 May 2013, 02:54

May i use this in my mod? id love to give you credit! i mean my mod may become a modpack more then to make it like cave story!

CrisZ03
Posts: 4
Joined: 18 Mar 2015, 13:26
Reputation: 0

Post » 21 Mar 2015, 21:37

How to install mod?

Mr.Q.Marx?
User avatar
Posts: 849
Joined: 15 May 2012, 18:35
Reputation: 27

Post » 21 Mar 2015, 22:06

Mr.Q.Marx? wrote:Rename the source code / mod you're using from .love to .zip, drag the editor.lua into the zip file, rename to .love and run with Love 0.8.0

Superjustinbros
User avatar
Posts: 2101
Joined: 29 Mar 2012, 20:39
Reputation: 132
Contact:

Post » 04 Apr 2015, 16:51

The day this mod gets ported to SE will be (for me at least) one of the best moments in Mari0 history.

Because bigger brushes and the "Replace All" feature work so great with Mari0's editor.

TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4634
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 713
Contact:

Post » 04 Apr 2015, 16:55

thanks for bumping the thread for that for no reason

Lettuce_Goat
Posts: 2
Joined: 14 Oct 2015, 02:41
Reputation: 1
Contact:

Post » 14 Oct 2015, 02:48

There is no editor.lua file anywhere in the Mari0 File

HansAgain
User avatar
Posts: 1133
Joined: 03 Feb 2012, 18:51
Reputation: 265
Contact:

Post » 14 Oct 2015, 02:54

(Hi, welcome to the forums, it's rare to find a reply this quick, so don't expect it to happen so often)
The game is coded on .lua, and it allows you to put files in the game folder to replace the ones the game uses, the source file does have an editor.lua file, but when you put the file with the same name in the game folder (%appdata%/LOVE2D/Mari0 if i recall correctly) it uses that one instead.
Also i'd suggest you to not bump threads like this, but your question was important, so i see no problem.

Technochips
User avatar
Posts: 689
Joined: 12 Mar 2015, 16:05
Reputation: 189
Contact:

Post » 02 Jan 2017, 19:06

wha-no

first, you are bumping a one year old thread

second, it's lua, not assembly, so why using a assembly debugger? with your info, OP won't fix it, because it isn't assembly, and because he's not on the forums anymore


Return to “Modding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron