Better Level Editor v1.4: Undo/redo, copy/paste tiles...

Mods, guides how to use and install mods go right in here.
pbalazs
Posts: 105
Joined: 27 Apr 2012, 23:33
Reputation: 0

Post » 17 Jun 2012, 19:53

By replacing the original editor.lua file with the modded one you can:

    NEW Undo/redo with CTRL+Z / CTRL+Y - up to 5 steps!
    Image
    Tilewheel: select tiles with mousewheel more easily
    Hotkey for testing mode: F5
    Switch between tiles & entites: Q key
    Stay in testing mode after dying (get the modded levelscreen.lua!)
    Easily assign hotkeys to tiles and entities: press number key while mouse is over the selected tile in the menu
    Select the whole map with CTRL + A
    Move selected tiles by clicking on the selection with left mouse button
    Select multiple tiles by holding CTRL and clicking with the left mouse button
    Delete selected tiles with delete/backspace keys
    Copy and paste selected tiles by clicking on the selection with right mouse button
    Cut, copy, paste selected tiles: CTRL+X / CTRL+C / CTRL+V
    Save selected tile region for later use: CTRL + S. You can then select it from the level editor menu > tiles > objects. The data is saved to objects.txt in the mappack folder. To change object names, you have to edit the file directly. Objects.txt file can be shared along with tilesets to get predefined multitile objects ready for use in Better Level Editor.
    Keyboard shortcuts for your objects: hold CTRL and press the number keys.
    • Set paste mode dropdown to opaque to make empty tiles "overwrite" other tiles when pasting.
    • Change brush size with shift + mouse wheel and change brush width/height individually with shift + arrow keys
    • Scroll the map with ctrl + mouse wheel
    Replace all X tiles with Y tile by holding E + left click

Mappacks created with this mod are fully compatible with the unmodded version of the game.

DOWNLOAD v1.4:
Get the modded files: (Right click on link, then Save link or similar)
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/5831485/5/editor.lua
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/5831485/4/levelscreen.lua Get this too if you do NOT want to return to editor after dying in testing mode

(There may be bugs in it - save your map regularly!)

Loading previously saved multitile objects, then cutting and pasting back:
Image

Copy & paste:
Image

Brush size, tile switcher:
Image
Last edited by pbalazs on 18 Jul 2012, 20:56, edited 42 times in total.

DiamondPhoenix
Posts: 107
Joined: 04 Mar 2012, 05:35
Reputation: 0

Post » 17 Jun 2012, 20:17

Thats pretty nice!

How about an option to remove the bottom ground,
or a Replace feature that will replace grouped blocks when only a button is held + click
And replace EVERY blocks when shift+*button*+click. (It should replace evry single block that we want to replace in the entire level)

Maurice
Stabyourself.net
Posts: 2142
Joined: 01 Feb 2012, 20:19
Reputation: 101

Post » 18 Jun 2012, 01:49

pbalazs wrote:- scroll the map with ctrl + mouse wheel

You can use left and right arrow keys for that, too.

pbalazs
Posts: 105
Joined: 27 Apr 2012, 23:33
Reputation: 0

Post » 18 Jun 2012, 09:48

Maurice wrote:
pbalazs wrote:- scroll the map with ctrl + mouse wheel

You can use left and right arrow keys for that, too.


No shit?

It's just that while I'm using the level editor, my right hand is on the mouse and the left on the left part of the keyboard. It's uncomfortable to use the arrow keys for scrolling. At least for me.

Mari0Lu1g1
User avatar
Posts: 347
Joined: 10 Mar 2012, 12:08
Reputation: 1

Post » 18 Jun 2012, 13:59

pbalazs wrote:I started to use the level editor and thought it was missing some features.
By replacing the original editor.lua file with the modded one you can:

- change "brush size" with shift + mouse wheel and change brush width/height individually with shift + arrow keys
- scroll the map with ctrl + mouse wheel
+ PROTIP :D Looking at the code I realized that you can "clone tile" by clicking on it with middle mouse button. Maybe it's a known feature, but I didn't know about it.

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/5831485/m/editor.lua

Any ideas to make it better?

What if you have a laptop? :I

Mr.Q.Marx?
User avatar
Posts: 849
Joined: 15 May 2012, 18:35
Reputation: 27

Post » 18 Jun 2012, 15:21

Mari0Lu1g1 wrote:What if you have a laptop? :I

Plug in a mouse? I practically had to if I wanted to work on 3DS Max or even GTA: San Andreas (to stop the auto aiming bugging up) so it seems like a standard peripheral to use.

FaycalMenouar
Posts: 1076
Joined: 11 May 2012, 18:00
Reputation: 2
Contact:

Post » 20 Jun 2012, 10:28

what annoys the most in the level editor is that when you want to edit the castle you have to pick tile by tiles and it takes too much time . so maybe if you can take the hole castle and just put it in the level ? this also mids pipes and other "multi tiles" objects

Mr.Q.Marx?
User avatar
Posts: 849
Joined: 15 May 2012, 18:35
Reputation: 27

Post » 20 Jun 2012, 18:22

FaycalMenouar wrote:what annoys the most in the level editor is that when you want to edit the castle you have to pick tile by tiles and it takes too much time . so maybe if you can take the hole castle and just put it in the level ? this also mids pipes and other "multi tiles" objects

I personally NEVER use a castle at the end of a level so this idea doesn't appeal to me. I'm sure it's a standard enough thing to want though.

pbalazs
Posts: 105
Joined: 27 Apr 2012, 23:33
Reputation: 0

Post » 20 Jun 2012, 18:42

FaycalMenouar wrote:what annoys the most in the level editor is that when you want to edit the castle you have to pick tile by tiles and it takes too much time . so maybe if you can take the hole castle and just put it in the level ? this also mids pipes and other "multi tiles" objects


Good idea, thanks. It would be fairly easy to implement by hard coding these multi-tile objects, but then it won't work for custom tiles. A better way would be to let the users define these objects - either in a file (like in the settings file of the mappack, or a separate file for it), or in game, in the level editor (e.g. you select a region and then save those tiles as an object). I'll think about it.

pbalazs
Posts: 105
Joined: 27 Apr 2012, 23:33
Reputation: 0

Post » 21 Jun 2012, 02:26

Updated the mod with the replace function: CTRL + click switches all tiles identical to the tile under the cursor to the currently selected tile.

I'm working on the objects thing.

pbalazs
Posts: 105
Joined: 27 Apr 2012, 23:33
Reputation: 0

Post » 22 Jun 2012, 11:21

Tile selection:

Image

FaycalMenouar
Posts: 1076
Joined: 11 May 2012, 18:00
Reputation: 2
Contact:

Post » 22 Jun 2012, 11:58

pbalazs wrote:Tile selection:

Image

what about that multi tileselection thing ?

pbalazs
Posts: 105
Joined: 27 Apr 2012, 23:33
Reputation: 0

Post » 22 Jun 2012, 12:19

FaycalMenouar wrote:what about that multi tileselection thing ?


That's what I'm working on. You'll be able to select tiles like that and save them as a multitile object for later use.

FaycalMenouar
Posts: 1076
Joined: 11 May 2012, 18:00
Reputation: 2
Contact:

Post » 22 Jun 2012, 15:06

ok , but after we build a level , and when we launch normal mario1.6.exe , there won't be any glitches right ?

pbalazs
Posts: 105
Joined: 27 Apr 2012, 23:33
Reputation: 0

Post » 22 Jun 2012, 22:47

Of course it'll be fully compatible. I just change the way you build the level, not the level itself.

Also:
Image

FaycalMenouar
Posts: 1076
Joined: 11 May 2012, 18:00
Reputation: 2
Contact:

Post » 22 Jun 2012, 22:52

pbalazs wrote:Image


Holy shit man ! nice job

rokit
User avatar
Posts: 2108
Joined: 03 Feb 2012, 00:47
Reputation: 98

Post » 23 Jun 2012, 12:13

Maurice, add this!

FaycalMenouar
Posts: 1076
Joined: 11 May 2012, 18:00
Reputation: 2
Contact:

Post » 23 Jun 2012, 12:35

is there any way to do that from the custom tiles selection and not from elements that are already installed ?

pbalazs
Posts: 105
Joined: 27 Apr 2012, 23:33
Reputation: 0

Post » 23 Jun 2012, 13:49

FaycalMenouar wrote:is there any way to do that from the custom tiles selection and not from elements that are already installed ?

No, you can only copy existing tiles... well you could also edit the new objects.txt file directly. It'll be added to the mappack when you save a tile object (saving a tile object = selecting it, then ctrl + s)

Image

FaycalMenouar
Posts: 1076
Joined: 11 May 2012, 18:00
Reputation: 2
Contact:

Post » 23 Jun 2012, 14:19

wtf dude ! with this i can finish my Enc=hanced SMB 50 times faster , you are AWSome

pbalazs
Posts: 105
Joined: 27 Apr 2012, 23:33
Reputation: 0

Post » 23 Jun 2012, 14:25

aaaand updated!

LightningFire
User avatar
Posts: 1907
Joined: 10 Mar 2012, 17:24
Reputation: 133
Contact:

Post » 23 Jun 2012, 16:08

I wonder how would SE look if pbalazs made some stuff....



*mindblown*

pbalazs
Posts: 105
Joined: 27 Apr 2012, 23:33
Reputation: 0

Post » 23 Jun 2012, 16:57

Small update:
Added a dropdown to the level editor menu to select "paste mode". "Transparent" means empty tiles won't override other tiles when pasting. I've set this as the default mode.

Chris0neilson
Posts: 30
Joined: 04 Mar 2012, 15:02
Reputation: 0

Post » 23 Jun 2012, 17:49

Good Work.

pbalazs
Posts: 105
Joined: 27 Apr 2012, 23:33
Reputation: 0

Post » 23 Jun 2012, 19:08

Mod in action:

Image

FaycalMenouar
Posts: 1076
Joined: 11 May 2012, 18:00
Reputation: 2
Contact:

Post » 23 Jun 2012, 20:44

pbalazs wrote:Mod in action:

Image

WTF ? ; how do you get that objects list ? it's empty , do i have to make it ? how ?

pbalazs
Posts: 105
Joined: 27 Apr 2012, 23:33
Reputation: 0

Post » 23 Jun 2012, 20:52

FaycalMenouar wrote:WTF ? ; how do you get that objects list ? it's empty , do i have to make it ? how ?

pbalazs wrote:• Save selected tile region for later use: CTRL + S. You can then select it from the level editor menu > tiles > objects. The data is saved to objects.txt in the mappack folder. To change object names, you have to edit the file directly. Objects.txt file can be shared along with tilesets to get predefined multitile objects ready for use in Better Level Editor.


EDIT: here's the one I used in that gif, 0Brothers tiles and a few objects taken from the city-themed levels:
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/5831485/2/tiles.png
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/5831485/2/objects.txt

Create a new mappack and drop these files into its folder. The objects.txt files will only work with the associated tileset.

FaycalMenouar
Posts: 1076
Joined: 11 May 2012, 18:00
Reputation: 2
Contact:

Post » 23 Jun 2012, 21:15

and how do i use this option ?

Image

edit : never mind , i just found out how .

Superjustinbros
User avatar
Posts: 2101
Joined: 29 Mar 2012, 20:39
Reputation: 132
Contact:

Post » 25 Jun 2012, 07:58

I hope this enhanced editor makes it into Special Edition.

pbalazs
Posts: 105
Joined: 27 Apr 2012, 23:33
Reputation: 0

Post » 25 Jun 2012, 15:51

Superjustinbros wrote:I hope this enhanced editor makes it into Special Edition.

According to Maurice, it's not useful enough, and the keybinds are confusing.

jmv3597
User avatar
Posts: 198
Joined: 03 Feb 2012, 00:43
Reputation: 0

Post » 25 Jun 2012, 15:51

May i ask, if you build a level in this, is it completely compatible with an unmodded version of the game?

pbalazs
Posts: 105
Joined: 27 Apr 2012, 23:33
Reputation: 0

Post » 25 Jun 2012, 15:53

jmv3597 wrote:May i ask, if you build a level in this, is it completely compatible with an unmodded version of the game?

Yes, it was already mentioned that it's fully compatible.

LightningFire
User avatar
Posts: 1907
Joined: 10 Mar 2012, 17:24
Reputation: 133
Contact:

Post » 25 Jun 2012, 15:54

pbalazs wrote:Of course it'll be fully compatible. I just change the way you build the level, not the level itself.

Too bad this isn't getting in SE.

EDIT: NINJA!!

NickIAm
User avatar
Posts: 142
Joined: 02 Feb 2012, 22:49
Reputation: 0

Post » 25 Jun 2012, 15:55

Pretty cool idea, sure your idea is the best i've ever saw...

LightningFire
User avatar
Posts: 1907
Joined: 10 Mar 2012, 17:24
Reputation: 133
Contact:

Post » 25 Jun 2012, 15:59

What about if you can select the 'objects' by mapping them into letters and numbers. Example: 1=Castle, 2=Building, etc.

pbalazs
Posts: 105
Joined: 27 Apr 2012, 23:33
Reputation: 0

Post » 25 Jun 2012, 16:02

LightningFire wrote:What about if you can select the 'objects' by mapping them into letters and numbers. Example: 1=Castle, 2=Building, etc.

You mean keybinds for the objects? Good idea, but the keys are limited, while the number of objects isn't. Maybe only 0-9 for the first 10 objects and find a way to change the order of the objects in the list...

pbalazs
Posts: 105
Joined: 27 Apr 2012, 23:33
Reputation: 0

Post » 26 Jun 2012, 00:22

Update: "highlight effect" when saving tiles, more details in the default names for the objects, delete object button, keyboard shortcuts for objects 1-9 (press number key while holding CTRL), and you can rearrange the objects list to get desired shortcuts.

Renaming objects is still only possible by editing objects.txt file.

Image

I've had to use "U", "D" letters for the buttons because I didn't find up/down arrows in the graphics and I want to keep the mod a single file.

pbalazs
Posts: 105
Joined: 27 Apr 2012, 23:33
Reputation: 0

Post » 26 Jun 2012, 00:38

Any more ideas? :D

How about configurable shortcuts for single tiles? What do you think, would it be useful? You could assign the 1-9 number keys without CTRL to quickly select the most used tiles. But maybe it's not worth working on it, I don't really know, I'm not a big map creator.

FaycalMenouar
Posts: 1076
Joined: 11 May 2012, 18:00
Reputation: 2
Contact:

Post » 26 Jun 2012, 01:15

pbalazs wrote:Any more ideas? :D

How about configurable shortcuts for single tiles? What do you think, would it be useful? You could assign the 1-9 number keys without CTRL to quickly select the most used tiles. But maybe it's not worth working on it, I don't really know, I'm not a big map creator.

you should do it , since some us ( BobTheLawyer ) are lacking time to bluid levels , this should help out .
once again excellent work .
i'm learning how to code in lua & c++ with my couzin which is a specialist on c++ and knows few things about lua , i might help you out with some things , sooner or later .

Cake
User avatar
Posts: 1436
Joined: 06 Mar 2012, 03:29
Reputation: 286

Post » 26 Jun 2012, 06:03

And that's why I have a folder full of many Mari0s; 0'Brothers, Mari0 MS, Mari0 XT, Mari0, and this amazing mod- which *would* replace Mari0, but it's a collection, eh?

pbalazs
Posts: 105
Joined: 27 Apr 2012, 23:33
Reputation: 0

Post » 26 Jun 2012, 18:45

Configurable hotkeys for tiles and entities:

Image

Mariobros2
User avatar
Posts: 308
Joined: 03 May 2012, 20:10
Reputation: 3
Contact:

Post » 26 Jun 2012, 21:07

Maybe add a "clear level" button(with a warning sign)?

pbalazs
Posts: 105
Joined: 27 Apr 2012, 23:33
Reputation: 0

Post » 26 Jun 2012, 21:22

mari0bros2 wrote:Maybe add a "clear level" button(with a warning sign)?

I already added CTRL + A = select all. Then you can hit delete and done.
With this feature you can easily move or copy the whole map to another level too.
It'll be in the next release.

Mariobros2
User avatar
Posts: 308
Joined: 03 May 2012, 20:10
Reputation: 3
Contact:

Post » 26 Jun 2012, 22:54

pbalazs wrote:
mari0bros2 wrote:Maybe add a "clear level" button(with a warning sign)?

I already added CTRL + A = select all. Then you can hit delete and done.
With this feature you can easily move or copy the whole map to another level too.
It'll be in the next release.

Thanks! That will be very helpfull.

pbalazs
Posts: 105
Joined: 27 Apr 2012, 23:33
Reputation: 0

Post » 27 Jun 2012, 01:07

Mod updated: added tile hotkey and select all features.

WillWare
User avatar
Posts: 1216
Joined: 08 Mar 2012, 04:35
Reputation: 264
Contact:

Post » 27 Jun 2012, 04:52

This. Is. EPIC.
Can I say more? No.

pbalazs
Posts: 105
Joined: 27 Apr 2012, 23:33
Reputation: 0

Post » 27 Jun 2012, 16:06

v1.21: few small bugfixes and improvements, and a new feature: move selected tiles with left click

samkostka
User avatar
Posts: 302
Joined: 17 Feb 2012, 04:42
Reputation: 3

Post » 29 Jun 2012, 16:26

Electrical engineering: Pretty Smart
Gerneral Relativity: Pretty Fucking Smart
This: FUCKING GENIUS

too bad it's not in SE (at least it looks that way)

pbalazs
Posts: 105
Joined: 27 Apr 2012, 23:33
Reputation: 0

Post » 29 Jun 2012, 22:20

In the next release:

Tilewheel extending the default mousewheel function.

Image

DiamondPhoenix
Posts: 107
Joined: 04 Mar 2012, 05:35
Reputation: 0

Post » 30 Jun 2012, 21:21

This really great!
I have a suggestion:
Special object extention...
Mushroom platforms, pipes, and probably also also other custom objects can be extended specially... For example, the mushroom platform; You can extend the stem height, and the platform's lenght.
I amnot really sure how to explain this, but if you want me to do a video, then i will make one, since the NSMB editor uses this method in the tileset/objects editor.


Return to “Modding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest