Streaming game development: https://www.twitch.tv/stabyourself Image

Group Mappack: Short-Term Author

Mapping related threads and questions go in here!
alesan99
User avatar
Posts: 1635
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Reputation: 265
Contact:

Post » 15 Nov 2014, 18:35

PrincessKiller wrote:
Villager103 wrote:Use size 1 or 2 for screenshots so they don't take up half the universe.

Thank you for the unnecessary comment that I already heard from another person.

The only reason you got the same reply twice is because you haven't fixed it.
Here, I resized it for you:
Image

Edit your post and the problem will be solved

Automatik
User avatar
Posts: 1076
Joined: 20 Jul 2012, 17:54
Reputation: 8
Contact:

Post » 15 Nov 2014, 18:51

If we are actually restarting 1-4, I made the beginning :

Squidish
User avatar
Posts: 805
Joined: 05 Apr 2014, 04:04
Reputation: 211
Contact:

Post » 15 Nov 2014, 19:48

alesan99 wrote:The only reason you got the same reply twice is because you haven't fixed it.
Here, I resized it for you:
Image

Edit your post and the problem will be solved


Thank you. Edited.

MissingWorld
User avatar
Posts: 230
Joined: 06 Jan 2014, 01:45
Reputation: 9

Post » 20 Nov 2014, 01:10

Second section of Automatik's 1-4.
Image
Top portion leads to a secret area. Have at it.

HowToEatGirafes
User avatar
Posts: 599
Joined: 05 Feb 2014, 23:18
Reputation: 97
Contact:

Post » 20 Nov 2014, 09:19

[attempt to stay on topic] So , is a new 1-4 level restarting ?

Squidish
User avatar
Posts: 805
Joined: 05 Apr 2014, 04:04
Reputation: 211
Contact:

Post » 20 Nov 2014, 16:06

Automatik JUST SAID THAT, yes. Here's the next part.
Image

TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4635
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 713
Contact:

Post » 20 Nov 2014, 21:25

Villager103 wrote:Use size 1 or 2 for screenshots so they don't take up half the universe.

Or use [thumb] tags.

EDOT: Oh, okay (I guess I underestimated size 2)
But still you should use size 1 or thumb tags because it's smaller, the size 2 image still gets cut off a bit.

actually I'm dumb
Last edited by TurretBot on 27 Nov 2014, 22:40, edited 3 times in total.

Squidish
User avatar
Posts: 805
Joined: 05 Apr 2014, 04:04
Reputation: 211
Contact:

Post » 20 Nov 2014, 21:41

That's size 2, I can prove it.

Edit: Fine, I'll use Size 1.
Last edited by Squidish on 20 Nov 2014, 23:41, edited 1 time in total.

MM102
User avatar
Posts: 1015
Joined: 11 May 2012, 06:08
Reputation: 498

Post » 20 Nov 2014, 23:37

Turret said it was fine to use a warp pipe once when I messaged him over steam
so he made this quick edit:
Image

Original post:
Image
Actually interesting Bowser fight.
Yes this works.

Image
Also I'm posting the toad screen so you don't forget it and I doubt anyone else was going to do it.
Last edited by MM102 on 21 Nov 2014, 04:57, edited 3 times in total.

TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4635
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 713
Contact:

Post » 21 Nov 2014, 01:22

>Never actually get a bonus for going on the roof
Sure, why not. Also, here's a toad room as my 1-4 Contribution:
Image
yes I put the bullet bills in it

MM102
User avatar
Posts: 1015
Joined: 11 May 2012, 06:08
Reputation: 498

Post » 21 Nov 2014, 01:51

hmm. It works better with them loaded all at once. Can we use a warp pipe just this once then?

QwertymanO07
User avatar
Posts: 1279
Joined: 05 Oct 2012, 07:58
Reputation: 347
Contact:

Post » 21 Nov 2014, 01:54

Image
Despite the background, this is not a water level. EDIT: Nevermind, I missed the post that said that.
Last edited by QwertymanO07 on 21 Nov 2014, 02:11, edited 1 time in total.

TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4635
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 713
Contact:

Post » 23 Nov 2014, 21:17

Image
Excerpt:
TurretBot wrote:Rightclick values are also allowed, but please use an image editor rather than saying them in your post! You can do either, but putting it in the image makes my job a lot easier. If you don't put anything at all, the default value will be used.

Gel wasn't allowed for rightclickness, so this applies.

EDIT Response: Yeah, I've updated the main post 20 times since this post, I imagine most people missed something I've edited. So whatever. (Also, I just edited it but I only reworded the quote above.)

Automatik
User avatar
Posts: 1076
Joined: 20 Jul 2012, 17:54
Reputation: 8
Contact:

Post » 27 Nov 2014, 19:25

Image
That thing behind the IO of MARIO is a door, btw. And yes, that gel is blue gel.
Turret's level design make it kind of hard to get the cube, especially with all the fishs jumping around, though it's not a big deal. Ideally the bottom pipe could be 1 tile longer.

And keep in mind that you are supposed here to come out fullspeed (orange gel) from a portal on the wall behind the door to bounce on the mushroom. So ideally it would be cool if the next person place the next platform far enough ; so that it's not possible to avoid the whole puzzle and jump directly from the mushroom to the next platform.

QwertymanO07
User avatar
Posts: 1279
Joined: 05 Oct 2012, 07:58
Reputation: 347
Contact:

Post » 30 Nov 2014, 01:09

I think instead of being silent, portal themed maps should use a custom song, like Halls of Science 4.

HowToEatGirafes
User avatar
Posts: 599
Joined: 05 Feb 2014, 23:18
Reputation: 97
Contact:

Post » 30 Nov 2014, 14:23

The Creator's Will from The Sanbox is IMO a cool music for portal levels .

TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4635
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 713
Contact:

Post » 30 Nov 2014, 16:20

I've played the second song's game and would never have expected it to show up here. O.o
Love the song though, the only downside is that it's not 8-bit which isn't your fault, and I might use it anyway. But first I have some songs of my own to put on the table.
Think I might use this:
Though I also found this which is more of an ambiance tune (but not really one), which I think fits puzzle levels best.
So, uh, take your picks...I guess? Or suggest a different song if you want.

Automatik
User avatar
Posts: 1076
Joined: 20 Jul 2012, 17:54
Reputation: 8
Contact:

Post » 30 Nov 2014, 18:19

The 1st one doesn't fit the puzzle levels as you said, and the second music fit more prof layton than portal.
Maybe there is something worth using in the Shovel Knight soundtrack (just throwing a link here) : http://virt.bandcamp.com/album/shovel-knight-original-soundtrack
These are quality tracks in it, but most are more for an action game than a puzzle game.
This one is pretty good though : http://virt.bandcamp.com/track/flowers- ... i-matsumae

TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4635
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 713
Contact:

Post » 04 Dec 2014, 06:25

Could the item room music from Metoid work?

EDIT: Actually, Metroid series in general has a lot of songs that could work; Metroid Fusion comes to mind from the similar setting to Portal.
Metroid 2 was on the GameBoy, so it might have something as well.
Last edited by TurretBot on 05 Dec 2014, 02:20, edited 3 times in total.

Automatik
User avatar
Posts: 1076
Joined: 20 Jul 2012, 17:54
Reputation: 8
Contact:

Post » 04 Dec 2014, 21:32

That sound very... lonely.
Not that Portal wasn't lonely. But this almost feel scary. Not a bad choice though. It could work.

HowToEatGirafes
User avatar
Posts: 599
Joined: 05 Feb 2014, 23:18
Reputation: 97
Contact:

Post » 10 Dec 2014, 00:20

Samus wrote:That sound very... lonely.

From a game where you're alone in an alien planet and you try to kill a giant brain , yes it is :)

Wary
User avatar
Posts: 638
Joined: 03 Jun 2012, 14:30
Reputation: 57

Post » 10 Dec 2014, 02:09

So to help you guys out I decided to work on a little neat tool that automatically generate level files from images

Screenshot:
Image


I still didn't implemented entities finding and reordering level pictures (because I'm probably too lazy to do that. Also don't expect me to create an autolinker.)
The level pics must be size/scale 1 or else the block parser fucks up and starts to put tiles everywhere and destroys the whole level.
The block parser also has some errors a few times. During debugging it happened that the block parser considered the background as blocks and filled everything with SMB terrain.

TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4635
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 713
Contact:

Post » 10 Dec 2014, 02:26

Uh, thanks? I'm fine with doing it by hand though :P
Still pretty cool so I'mma say thanks twice: Thanks?

no really it is cool

Mari0_Player
User avatar
Posts: 414
Joined: 23 Sep 2013, 00:48
Reputation: 48

Post » 05 Feb 2015, 18:10

Image
bump
i shalt dub this building the castle of seeming legit

QwertymanO07
User avatar
Posts: 1279
Joined: 05 Oct 2012, 07:58
Reputation: 347
Contact:

Post » 05 Feb 2015, 18:32

Here's the start of 2-2:
Image
It's kind of hard to see, but there's a firebar next to the 3. It's counter-clockwise, I just forgot to put that in the image.

MagicPillow
User avatar
Posts: 1234
Joined: 20 Jul 2013, 04:59
Reputation: 296
Contact:

Post » 06 Feb 2015, 01:43

2-2 part 2. (2-2-2?)
Image

TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4635
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 713
Contact:

Post » 27 Feb 2015, 15:06

Image

Automatik
User avatar
Posts: 1076
Joined: 20 Jul 2012, 17:54
Reputation: 8
Contact:

Post » 28 Feb 2015, 19:34

Image
The thing behind "WORLD 1-1" is a [?] block with a 1-up in it.

MM102
User avatar
Posts: 1015
Joined: 11 May 2012, 06:08
Reputation: 498

Post » 03 Mar 2015, 11:34

Image
this may be a bit different
void level
no music
no time limit
no enemies
large jumps and light portal puzzles

Mari0_Player
User avatar
Posts: 414
Joined: 23 Sep 2013, 00:48
Reputation: 48

Post » 03 Mar 2015, 13:23

Image
Last edited by Mari0_Player on 06 Mar 2015, 14:57, edited 1 time in total.

QwertymanO07
User avatar
Posts: 1279
Joined: 05 Oct 2012, 07:58
Reputation: 347
Contact:

Post » 06 Mar 2015, 03:20

Image
Turret, do not forget to change the checkpoint region in the SE version.

TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4635
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 713
Contact:

Post » 06 Mar 2015, 04:52

Image
hi this level was very hard to build
i mean seriously this was hard to recreate
kthxbye

(also i currently have some not collidable pipe tiles in place of that one but thats just a temporary solution)

QwertymanO07
User avatar
Posts: 1279
Joined: 05 Oct 2012, 07:58
Reputation: 347
Contact:

Post » 06 Mar 2015, 05:11

And here's the castle:
Image
I wanted to do something different for it, so I went with pipes. (I swear, this will be the last level I start for a while.)

TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4635
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 713
Contact:

Post » 28 Mar 2015, 02:42

Image
EPIC BUILDUP????

Technochips
User avatar
Posts: 691
Joined: 12 Mar 2015, 16:05
Reputation: 189
Contact:

Post » 28 Mar 2015, 11:15

Image
The type of the platform is 3
EDIT: No i forget the emancipation grill!!
EDIT2: Just modified the image, so its have emancipation grills. Behind mario, there have a piranha plant.

TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4635
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 713
Contact:

Post » 28 Mar 2015, 19:45

I'm gonna assume you don't want that start point there and put a checkpoint instead

Technochips
User avatar
Posts: 691
Joined: 12 Mar 2015, 16:05
Reputation: 189
Contact:

Post » 28 Mar 2015, 20:03

TurretBot wrote:I'm gonna assume you don't want that start point there and put a checkpoint instead

I forget to remove the start point, and maybe yes about the checkpoint.

Mari0_Player
User avatar
Posts: 414
Joined: 23 Sep 2013, 00:48
Reputation: 48

Post » 25 Aug 2015, 03:47

Bumpity bump. Remember the cube?
Image

QwertymanO07
User avatar
Posts: 1279
Joined: 05 Oct 2012, 07:58
Reputation: 347
Contact:

Post » 25 Aug 2015, 18:33

How are you even supposed to get up there? The start of the level?

Mari0_Player
User avatar
Posts: 414
Joined: 23 Sep 2013, 00:48
Reputation: 48

Post » 26 Aug 2015, 00:01

QwertymanO07 wrote:How are you even supposed to get up there? The start of the level?

Yes. You can portal the highest space and then jump through.

HansAgain
User avatar
Posts: 1135
Joined: 03 Feb 2012, 18:51
Reputation: 265
Contact:

Post » 26 Aug 2015, 00:30

Mari0_Player wrote:
QwertymanO07 wrote:How are you even supposed to get up there? The start of the level?

Yes. You can portal the highest space and then jump through.


But how do you expect people to not just go that way and skip the entire puzzle?
And what's worse, you don't give any hints about the button (except for the cube that is not a good hint), and so the puzzle feels unfair and it would make you go for the lower way twice (go, return, put the button, go again).

QwertymanO07
User avatar
Posts: 1279
Joined: 05 Oct 2012, 07:58
Reputation: 347
Contact:

Post » 26 Aug 2015, 13:43

Just add a hole to ceiling over the highest pipe.

EDIT: And now for the Bowser scene:
Image
The bricks on the bottom are the non-solid version.

Mari0_Player
User avatar
Posts: 414
Joined: 23 Sep 2013, 00:48
Reputation: 48

Post » 26 Aug 2015, 16:47

Hans1998 wrote:
Mari0_Player wrote:
QwertymanO07 wrote:How are you even supposed to get up there? The start of the level?

Yes. You can portal the highest space and then jump through.


But how do you expect people to not just go that way and skip the entire puzzle?
And what's worse, you don't give any hints about the button (except for the cube that is not a good hint), and so the puzzle feels unfair and it would make you go for the lower way twice (go, return, put the button, go again).

Image

QwertymanO07
User avatar
Posts: 1279
Joined: 05 Oct 2012, 07:58
Reputation: 347
Contact:

Post » 26 Aug 2015, 17:46

But now what's the point of even doing the puzzle at all?

EDIT: I guess no one else wants to do it, so here's the Toad scene too:
Image
Ignore this if someone else posts one.

Murphmario
Posts: 53
Joined: 03 Feb 2014, 23:24
Reputation: 8

Post » 29 Aug 2015, 20:51

To World 3:
Image

Villager103
User avatar
Posts: 605
Joined: 31 Jan 2013, 14:50
Reputation: 53
Contact:

Post » 30 Aug 2015, 17:06

My contribution to World 3-1.
Image

faves3000
User avatar
Posts: 18
Joined: 22 Apr 2012, 18:01
Reputation: 7

Post » 31 Aug 2015, 12:43

Hey I did something

Image

Nothing special, but there also a storage cube up there. Wonder what that's for...

(Note: Width of the platform spawner up top is 2.00, with speed as 3.50 and delay as 2.18.
The falling platform's width is 1.50)

Murphmario
Posts: 53
Joined: 03 Feb 2014, 23:24
Reputation: 8

Post » 31 Aug 2015, 13:48

faves3000 wrote:Hey I did something

Image

Nothing special, but there also a storage cube up there. Wonder what that's for...

(Note: Width of the platform spawner up top is 2.00, with speed as 3.50 and delay as 2.18.
The falling platform's width is 1.50)


This is made with 1.6's content, and I'm pretty sure that Poison Mushrooms aren't 1.6. Probably going to have to remove that.

faves3000
User avatar
Posts: 18
Joined: 22 Apr 2012, 18:01
Reputation: 7

Post » 31 Aug 2015, 16:53

Murphmario wrote:This is made with 1.6's content, and I'm pretty sure that Poison Mushrooms aren't 1.6. Probably going to have to remove that.


I see. Yeah it can just be empty then

QwertymanO07
User avatar
Posts: 1279
Joined: 05 Oct 2012, 07:58
Reputation: 347
Contact:

Post » 31 Aug 2015, 22:22

Image
EDIT: I forgot a few other things too, namely background elements. Here's a new version. You will also definitely need to add a working flying red koopa in the SE version.
Last edited by QwertymanO07 on 05 Sep 2015, 03:26, edited 1 time in total.


Return to “Mapping”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron