Streaming game development: https://www.twitch.tv/stabyourself Image

Mari0 SE level converter

Mapping related threads and questions go in here!
alesan99
User avatar
Posts: 1682
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Reputation: 318
Contact:

Post » 05 Feb 2014, 20:40

Superjustinbros wrote:Now that Mario SE's beta version is available, has any progress been made to the level converter?

Sašo wrote:The level converter is accessible at the following links:

  • Single map converter - open the map txt file, paste the contents into the form and submit. You will receive the converted map.
  • Batch map converter - zip up all map txt files (NOT INSIDE A FOLDER) and upload it. Almost immediately you will be prompted to download a converted mappack. Unzip into mappack folder and you should be done.

The converter provides basic functionality (for now at least) Things may break or be fixed at random (but mostly break).
Use at your own risk.

Sašo
Stabyourself.net
User avatar
Posts: 1387
Joined: 06 Jan 2012, 12:07
Reputation: 343
Contact:

Post » 06 Feb 2014, 21:13

It's up to date.

WillWare
User avatar
Posts: 1222
Joined: 08 Mar 2012, 04:35
Reputation: 267
Contact:

Post » 07 Feb 2014, 05:36

You may want to add the "default off" flag for lasers and lightbridges.

gemwrecker
User avatar
Posts: 200
Joined: 16 Jun 2013, 22:30
Reputation: 9
Contact:

Post » 09 Feb 2014, 21:09

Anyone who is using the converter, avoid converting map packs that include loops. Yes, it crashes. And if Maurice or Saso read this, you gonna fix this. Because it makes the ordinary SMB maps impossible to finish too. As I've reported, loops crashes the game. So don't get pissed because I mensioned it here. I sent it to them before I even wrote this.

MagicPillow
User avatar
Posts: 1243
Joined: 20 Jul 2013, 04:59
Reputation: 305
Contact:

Post » 09 Feb 2014, 21:17

gemwrecker wrote:Anyone who is using the converter, avoid converting map packs that include loops. Yes, it crashes. And if Maurice or Saso read this, you gonna fix this. Because it makes the ordinary SMB maps impossible to finish too. As I've reported, loops crashes the game. So don't get pissed because I mensioned it here. I sent it to them before I even wrote this.

What is a loop?

Automatik
User avatar
Posts: 1076
Joined: 20 Jul 2012, 17:54
Reputation: 8
Contact:

Post » 09 Feb 2014, 21:20

Mazes, maybe.

bubba_nate
User avatar
Posts: 818
Joined: 02 Sep 2012, 23:22
Reputation: 30
Contact:

Post » 09 Feb 2014, 22:14

yes, that is what they mean, I believe.

Maurice
Stabyourself.net
Posts: 2142
Joined: 01 Feb 2012, 20:19
Reputation: 103

Post » 10 Feb 2014, 23:43

gemwrecker wrote:And if Maurice or Saso read this, you gonna fix this.

Is this a challenge

gemwrecker
User avatar
Posts: 200
Joined: 16 Jun 2013, 22:30
Reputation: 9
Contact:

Post » 13 Feb 2014, 21:11

Maurice wrote:
gemwrecker wrote:And if Maurice or Saso read this, you gonna fix this.

Is this a challenge

No, but it's crucial otherwise people can't play the map pack (It's build like this: Pipes are scattered across the world, and you can enter almost all of them. However, to make the player a bit confused I placed a loop causing the world to repeat (I didn't want them to meet a wall all of a sudden). Also, to progress, the player have to choose to enter one of the pipes. And the loops are used to make the player understand that he need to do that. Original map pack: http://forum.stabyourself.net/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=3980). That also goes to SMB. With other words: Report number 137, "Crash on 8-4_2" is invalid. It's the loops what's causing it and that's making it impossible to finish it and get the cheats without modifying the game (After experimenting a lot around it). So, I guess you have to fix it?

TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4686
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 719
Contact:

Post » 13 Feb 2014, 23:03

 Type the konami code  for cheats without modding.

BenMcLean
User avatar
Posts: 43
Joined: 04 Mar 2012, 00:43
Reputation: 1

Post » 14 Feb 2014, 05:40

A whole bunch of maps have been created for various Super Mario Bros rom hacks. Is there any automated way to convert that data into mari0's format? How hard would it be to accomplish that?

TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4686
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 719
Contact:

Post » 14 Feb 2014, 05:42

That post doesn't make any sense whatsoever... What are you asking for?

Mari0Maker
User avatar
Posts: 1347
Joined: 07 Apr 2012, 17:10
Reputation: 39
Contact:

Post » 14 Feb 2014, 05:59

BenMcLean wrote:A whole bunch of maps have been created for various Super Mario Bros rom hacks. Is there any automated way to convert that data into mari0's format? How hard would it be to accomplish that?

There's no way to convert a SMB ROM hack to a Mari0 map. You have to follow the hack and make it from scratch. This thread is dedicated completely to doing that. viewtopic.php?f=12&t=2383

Superjustinbros
User avatar
Posts: 2101
Joined: 29 Mar 2012, 20:39
Reputation: 132
Contact:

Post » 15 Feb 2014, 05:19

While there do exist programs (mainly editors like SMB Utility) that can read the data found inside ROM hacks and therefore generate the levels onscreen, there's no such program that not only does the above, but also reads the tiles placed and writes a level file based on the level data received from the ROM, placing tiles and entities ala how they're written in the ROM's level data.

I could go into more detail here, but I'd rather post it in the ROM porting thread since it'd be more on-topic.

MagicPillow
User avatar
Posts: 1243
Joined: 20 Jul 2013, 04:59
Reputation: 305
Contact:

Post » 21 Mar 2014, 04:13

I think the mappack converter is broken...

MissingWorld
User avatar
Posts: 230
Joined: 06 Jan 2014, 01:45
Reputation: 9

Post » 21 Mar 2014, 04:15

MagicPillow wrote:I think the mappack converter is broken...

Were you trying to convert an already converted mappack?

MagicPillow
User avatar
Posts: 1243
Joined: 20 Jul 2013, 04:59
Reputation: 305
Contact:

Post » 21 Mar 2014, 05:22

MissingWorld wrote:
MagicPillow wrote:I think the mappack converter is broken...

Were you trying to convert an already converted mappack?

I don't think so, as the map didn't work right in normal SE...

In case you're wondering, the level was 6-2 of Mario's Worlds.

bubba_nate
User avatar
Posts: 818
Joined: 02 Sep 2012, 23:22
Reputation: 30
Contact:

Post » 11 Apr 2014, 00:39

Some things are broken, such as mazes and some of the "zones"

Mari0_Player
User avatar
Posts: 415
Joined: 23 Sep 2013, 00:48
Reputation: 49

Post » 03 May 2014, 23:33

Image

What am I doing wrong?

WillWare
User avatar
Posts: 1222
Joined: 08 Mar 2012, 04:35
Reputation: 267
Contact:

Post » 03 May 2014, 23:37

Mari0_Player wrote:~image~

What am I doing wrong?

That's... uh... not normal.
You might try copying it anyway and putting it in Notepad++ or something, then removing all the modified A's (with the replace function). The other symbols are normal.

Mari0_Player
User avatar
Posts: 415
Joined: 23 Sep 2013, 00:48
Reputation: 49

Post » 03 May 2014, 23:48

WillWare wrote:
Mari0_Player wrote:~image~

What am I doing wrong?

That's... uh... not normal.
You might try copying it anyway and putting it in Notepad++ or something, then removing all the modified A's (with the replace function). The other symbols are normal.

What about the circles?

MagicPillow
User avatar
Posts: 1243
Joined: 20 Jul 2013, 04:59
Reputation: 305
Contact:

Post » 04 May 2014, 03:24

WillWare wrote:The other symbols are normal.

0>0
User avatar
Posts: 211
Joined: 06 Feb 2014, 00:06
Reputation: 3

Post » 15 May 2014, 23:53

will be or is there an old SE to new SE converter,because i need to convert my mappack because animated tiles problem.

MagicPillow
User avatar
Posts: 1243
Joined: 20 Jul 2013, 04:59
Reputation: 305
Contact:

Post » 17 May 2014, 01:13


0>0
User avatar
Posts: 211
Joined: 06 Feb 2014, 00:06
Reputation: 3

Post » 17 May 2014, 11:43

thank you. :D

GreenScreenBot
User avatar
Posts: 12
Joined: 02 Aug 2014, 15:30
Reputation: 0

Post » 02 Aug 2014, 16:50

Sašo wrote:The level converter is accessible at the following links:

  • Single map converter - open the map txt file, paste the contents into the form and submit. You will receive the converted map.
  • Batch map converter - zip up all map txt files (NOT INSIDE A FOLDER) and upload it. Almost immediately you will be prompted to download a converted mappack. Unzip into mappack folder and you should be done.

The converter provides basic functionality (for now at least) Things may break or be fixed at random (but mostly break).
Use at your own risk.

Old post below:
As you may already know, Mari0 SE release will bring some core changes to the save format to accommodate more entities and make editing easier, making old maps incompatible and likely to crash the game.

To make conversion of old levels easier, I'll be working on an online map converter. It will be released before SE is released so you'll be able to prepare your custom maps before the game is even released.

While it's planned to mimick exactly what the old format did, you MIGHT need to make small adjustments.



Once SE is out, this entire forum will be moved to archive subforums that will be created later. Once you'll convert maps, you'll create a new thread.

If you have any questions regarding the converter, post them here.

in which post should i go for download mari0 SE?

Sergione
Posts: 217
Joined: 07 May 2014, 16:02
Reputation: 4
Contact:

Post » 02 Aug 2014, 17:13

You have to go here for the beta 7: http://forum.stabyourself.net/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=4004

Or here for the beta 9: http://forum.stabyourself.net/viewtopic.php?p=97097#p97097

The difference between the beta 7fix and 9enemies and that 7fix has fewer bugs or crashes of 9enemies, but 9enemies has some little something extra! :D

Anyway, welcome to the forums!!! :P


Return to “Mapping”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest