Streaming game development: https://www.twitch.tv/stabyourself Image

(Coming Soon) Mari0 SMB3

Mapping related threads and questions go in here!
trosh
User avatar
Posts: 1596
Joined: 03 Feb 2012, 08:36
Reputation: 8
Contact:

Post » 06 Apr 2012, 18:38

I have no idea what the lines mappack is about. game and watch (what am i supposed to call you) 's original mappack looks awesome - it just looks like you peed on your nes and corrupted the tilesets.

Mari0Lu1g1
User avatar
Posts: 347
Joined: 10 Mar 2012, 12:08
Reputation: 1

Post » 06 Apr 2012, 23:14

trosh wrote:I have no idea what the lines mappack is about. game and watch (what am i supposed to call you) 's original mappack looks awesome - it just looks like you peed on your nes and corrupted the tilesets.

It's supposed to be challenging :P. Anyways, working on some graphically better levels

Camewel
Posts: 2996
Joined: 02 Feb 2012, 21:32
Reputation: 35

Post » 06 Apr 2012, 23:32

It's not challenging at all though, it's confusing and stupid until you realise what's going on, when it becomes really easy. Also, 1-2 is super stupid as the flag is solid for some stupid reason of stupidness.

Mari0Lu1g1
User avatar
Posts: 347
Joined: 10 Mar 2012, 12:08
Reputation: 1

Post » 07 Apr 2012, 00:08

Camewel wrote:It's not challenging at all though, it's confusing and stupid until you realise what's going on, when it becomes really easy. Also, 1-2 is super stupid as the flag is solid for some stupid reason of stupidness.

What's going on? Anyways, I think I will start to remake these levels

trosh
User avatar
Posts: 1596
Joined: 03 Feb 2012, 08:36
Reputation: 8
Contact:

Post » 07 Apr 2012, 00:19

maybe you should try to use the lines tileset the way it was supposed to be used ? The graphics looks a bit random in your mappack

Mari0Lu1g1
User avatar
Posts: 347
Joined: 10 Mar 2012, 12:08
Reputation: 1

Post » 07 Apr 2012, 00:21

trosh wrote:maybe you should try to use the lines tileset the way it was supposed to be used ? The graphics looks a bit random in your mappack

Ok, since obivously my other mappack is looking like... crap... I will make a new version, with COMPLETELY different levels.

Camewel
Posts: 2996
Joined: 02 Feb 2012, 21:32
Reputation: 35

Post » 07 Apr 2012, 00:24

Okay, here's a tip. Don't just use tiles that have solidity as platforms in a haphazard fashion, actually try and make patterns and make the level look good.

Mari0Lu1g1
User avatar
Posts: 347
Joined: 10 Mar 2012, 12:08
Reputation: 1

Post » 07 Apr 2012, 00:31

Camewel wrote:Okay, here's a tip. Don't just use tiles that have solidity as platforms in a haphazard fashion, actually try and make patterns and make the level look good.

Thanks for the tip :D

Mari0Lu1g1
User avatar
Posts: 347
Joined: 10 Mar 2012, 12:08
Reputation: 1

Post » 07 Apr 2012, 00:55

Awesome Update!
Image

Is this good enough?

trosh
User avatar
Posts: 1596
Joined: 03 Feb 2012, 08:36
Reputation: 8
Contact:

Post » 07 Apr 2012, 00:57

yeah ! way better :D

WillWare
User avatar
Posts: 1217
Joined: 08 Mar 2012, 04:35
Reputation: 265
Contact:

Post » 07 Apr 2012, 01:04

Already looking quite good! Keep it up!

Mari0Lu1g1
User avatar
Posts: 347
Joined: 10 Mar 2012, 12:08
Reputation: 1

Post » 07 Apr 2012, 01:33

trosh wrote:yeah ! way better :D

Great! Always happy to hear criticism!
Also:
http://www.mediafire.com/?3ewwuvi60hu2q38
or
http://www.mediafire.com/?pbljp853h88bg08
If you don't what all the levels and just that (^) one.

EDIT:

Can somebody do a vid of the Mari0 Lines World 1-5?

supermarioportal
PERMABANNED
User avatar
Posts: 35
Joined: 11 Mar 2012, 17:07
Reputation: 0

Post » 07 Apr 2012, 10:05

i have just downloaded the mappack because i wanted the lines tiles

Mari0Lu1g1
User avatar
Posts: 347
Joined: 10 Mar 2012, 12:08
Reputation: 1

Post » 07 Apr 2012, 16:30

supermarioportal wrote:i have just downloaded the mappack because i wanted the lines tiles

You can't use them because game.in.watch14 said so:

mr.game.and.watch14 wrote:Although not complete, soon I will send you a PM with the full version.

Please, do not send anyone, unless I say.

Do not use them

Camewel
Posts: 2996
Joined: 02 Feb 2012, 21:32
Reputation: 35

Post » 07 Apr 2012, 16:36

Well you've just made them available for public download, so everyone can use them now.

Mari0Lu1g1
User avatar
Posts: 347
Joined: 10 Mar 2012, 12:08
Reputation: 1

Post » 07 Apr 2012, 16:45

Camewel wrote:Well you've just made them available for public download, so everyone can use them now.

Well if you could point to another way of me releasing my map, that'd be great. Unfortunately, there isn't, so I did the only logical thing to do other then abandoning it. You can use them for your own purposes just don't release your maps (using it) YET. When Lines first release is set out you may...

ERich935
User avatar
Posts: 35
Joined: 18 Mar 2012, 04:56
Reputation: 0

Post » 07 Apr 2012, 16:59

Pretty good job so far. But there's one small problem. In world 1-1, after where you placed the flag at the end, there was supposed to be 6 spaces after. You either went 4 or 5 as seen in the video, which is what caused Mario to stand still at then end. It was like a wall. But other than that, pretty good job so far!

Mari0Lu1g1
User avatar
Posts: 347
Joined: 10 Mar 2012, 12:08
Reputation: 1

Post » 07 Apr 2012, 17:39

ERich935 wrote:Pretty good job so far. But there's one small problem. In world 1-1, after where you placed the flag at the end, there was supposed to be 6 spaces after. You either went 4 or 5 as seen in the video, which is what caused Mario to stand still at then end. It was like a wall. But other than that, pretty good job so far!

Thanks! I will fix that also... Teaser Time!
Image
That's the new level 1

WillWare
User avatar
Posts: 1217
Joined: 08 Mar 2012, 04:35
Reputation: 265
Contact:

Post » 07 Apr 2012, 18:09

I'm trying to understand how this would work
Image
and all I can see is
Image

Superjustinbros
User avatar
Posts: 2101
Joined: 29 Mar 2012, 20:39
Reputation: 132
Contact:

Post » 07 Apr 2012, 19:42

WillWare wrote:I'm trying to understand how this would work
Image
and all I can see is
Image


Link the floor button to the timer, and link the timer to the door. Don't forget to link the link lights.

WillWare
User avatar
Posts: 1217
Joined: 08 Mar 2012, 04:35
Reputation: 265
Contact:

Post » 07 Apr 2012, 20:48

Superjustinbros wrote:Link the floor button to the timer, and link the timer to the door. Don't forget to link the link lights.

I'm not making it. I just don't understand what will happen.

Mari0Lu1g1
User avatar
Posts: 347
Joined: 10 Mar 2012, 12:08
Reputation: 1

Post » 08 Apr 2012, 01:32

WillWare wrote:
Superjustinbros wrote:Link the floor button to the timer, and link the timer to the door. Don't forget to link the link lights.

I'm not making it. I just don't understand what will happen.

It will disappear unless you press 'E' and place it

EDIT:

This level is insanely hard, so It's better to signify your ready by doing that

DiamondPhoenix
Posts: 107
Joined: 04 Mar 2012, 05:35
Reputation: 0

Post » 08 Apr 2012, 05:26

Back to Super Mario Bros 3!
Mari0Lu1g1, i have a question:
I have made my mod, and i wanted to know, since i am new to this, when i complete mods, do i send it to you via a private message, or i can send it (publicly) in the topic?

EDIT: Oh god, file size became so huge! D: D: D:

Mari0Lu1g1
User avatar
Posts: 347
Joined: 10 Mar 2012, 12:08
Reputation: 1

Post » 08 Apr 2012, 05:49

DiamondPhoenix wrote:Back to Super Mario Bros 3!
Mari0Lu1g1, i have a question:
I have made my mod, and i wanted to know, since i am new to this, when i complete mods, do i send it to you via a private message, or i can send it (publicly) in the topic?

EDIT: Oh god, file size became so huge! D: D: D:


Publicly! Remember to .zip it!

DiamondPhoenix
Posts: 107
Joined: 04 Mar 2012, 05:35
Reputation: 0

Post » 08 Apr 2012, 06:03

Yeah... Its like 45.8 MB... i will reduce the music lenght tomorrow (its getting late) Also, its in a .rar file (sorry! D: ), you will need Winrar for this!
But for those who are still interrested, here it is: Click here
MOST of the musics from SMB3 are in here, selectable from the "music" dropdown in the editor. (Plains, Hills, Ship, Bowser, Boss, Battle, etc.)
Also, the font is changed to SMB3's font.

Next time, i will .zip it and reduce the filesize!

NOTE: You may want to check all of the levels, like the castle level, it will not play the correct music!

Mari0Lu1g1
User avatar
Posts: 347
Joined: 10 Mar 2012, 12:08
Reputation: 1

Post » 08 Apr 2012, 21:32

http://www.mediafire.com/?givsev1pbfb4d1a
* Fixed pipe problem in World 1-4
* Remade World 1-1

Mari0Lu1g1
User avatar
Posts: 347
Joined: 10 Mar 2012, 12:08
Reputation: 1

Post » 09 Apr 2012, 17:56

Any feedback on World 1-1 and World 1-4 in the Lines mappack?

Camewel
Posts: 2996
Joined: 02 Feb 2012, 21:32
Reputation: 35

Post » 09 Apr 2012, 18:03

Protip for level design here: PLAY TEST YOUR LEVELS.

When you release a map-pack, I shouldn't have to go into the level editor and fix things. You need to start testing that what you made actually works before releasing it.

Mari0Lu1g1
User avatar
Posts: 347
Joined: 10 Mar 2012, 12:08
Reputation: 1

Post » 09 Apr 2012, 18:44

Camewel wrote:Protip for level design here: PLAY TEST YOUR LEVELS.

When you release a map-pack, I shouldn't have to go into the level editor and fix things. You need to start testing that what you made actually works before releasing it.

I did :I, btw you didn't tell me the problem.
But since this point is valid, why don't you do it? You can me my Tester/Editor!

Camewel
Posts: 2996
Joined: 02 Feb 2012, 21:32
Reputation: 35

Post » 09 Apr 2012, 19:02

You clearly didn't. Level 2 is impossible to beat, and none of your pipes work.

Mari0Lu1g1
User avatar
Posts: 347
Joined: 10 Mar 2012, 12:08
Reputation: 1

Post » 09 Apr 2012, 19:13

Camewel wrote:You clearly didn't. Level 2 is impossible to beat, and none of your pipes work.

I need to remake it lol, pipes fixed for 1-4. Also, how was World 1-1? In detail please...

Camewel
Posts: 2996
Joined: 02 Feb 2012, 21:32
Reputation: 35

Post » 09 Apr 2012, 20:42

Was the beginning of 1-1 meant to be a puzzle?

Mari0Lu1g1
User avatar
Posts: 347
Joined: 10 Mar 2012, 12:08
Reputation: 1

Post » 09 Apr 2012, 20:49

Camewel wrote:Was the beginning of 1-1 meant to be a puzzle?

Nope, it was meant to be the end point of your Home Castle. Was 1-1 hard?

Camewel
Posts: 2996
Joined: 02 Feb 2012, 21:32
Reputation: 35

Post » 09 Apr 2012, 21:13

Okay you really need to playtest.

Mari0Lu1g1
User avatar
Posts: 347
Joined: 10 Mar 2012, 12:08
Reputation: 1

Post » 09 Apr 2012, 22:30

Camewel wrote:Okay you really need to playtest.

I did for World 1-1, 2 and 3 are unplayable :3. That is why I am going to fix that...

sackboy7789
User avatar
Posts: 3
Joined: 10 Apr 2012, 01:25
Reputation: 0

Post » 10 Apr 2012, 02:59

Look this is ridiculous so I'll just post bugs riiiiiiiiiight now :3
Also here's a link so you can look at the bonuses and maps better (I suggest replacing red note blocks with invisible vines...)
http://www.mariouniverse.com/maps/nes/smb3
Also also , you may need to extend the exiting areas a little more for levels that get stuck when you try to exit.
WORLD 1-1:
-in the bonus 3 coin area there is no way out so you have to reset...
- Extend exit.
WORLD 1-2
-looks a little incomplete. you can extend the area and just finish it.
- make the red note a vine!
WORLD 1-3
-make the pipe so you could actually enter it...
World 1-4
-same thing(pipe)
-also, you can make a liitle path so mario doesn't get stuck after killing bowser.
WORLD 2-1
- nothin.
HOPE THAT HELPS!!!

Mari0Lu1g1
User avatar
Posts: 347
Joined: 10 Mar 2012, 12:08
Reputation: 1

Post » 11 Apr 2012, 01:34

sackboy7789 wrote:Look this is ridiculous so I'll just post bugs riiiiiiiiiight now :3
Also here's a link so you can look at the bonuses and maps better (I suggest replacing red note blocks with invisible vines...)
http://www.mariouniverse.com/maps/nes/smb3
Also also , you may need to extend the exiting areas a little more for levels that get stuck when you try to exit.
WORLD 1-1:
-in the bonus 3 coin area there is no way out so you have to reset...
- Extend exit.
WORLD 1-2
-looks a little incomplete. you can extend the area and just finish it.
- make the red note a vine!
WORLD 1-3
-make the pipe so you could actually enter it...
World 1-4
-same thing(pipe)
-also, you can make a liitle path so mario doesn't get stuck after killing bowser.
WORLD 2-1
- nothin.
HOPE THAT HELPS!!!

I'll fix all these problems when I have the time, ot if anyone would like to do that, go right ahead...

Mari0Lu1g1
User avatar
Posts: 347
Joined: 10 Mar 2012, 12:08
Reputation: 1

Post » 14 Apr 2012, 18:59

Teaser:
Image

MrCytosine
User avatar
Posts: 147
Joined: 01 Apr 2012, 01:17
Reputation: 14

Post » 16 Apr 2012, 22:48

Well, it took me a while, but I got it done: Image

Wow, my first commission. That felt gooooooood.
Last edited by MrCytosine on 22 Apr 2012, 22:23, edited 1 time in total.

Mari0Lu1g1
User avatar
Posts: 347
Joined: 10 Mar 2012, 12:08
Reputation: 1

Post » 16 Apr 2012, 23:47

MrCytosine wrote:Well, it took me a while, but I got it done: Image

Wow, my first commission. That felt gooooooood.

Thanks! If you need anything, just ask!

renhoek
User avatar
Posts: 4559
Joined: 11 Feb 2012, 10:04
Reputation: 214

Post » 17 Apr 2012, 02:33

sorry to bug you but I was wandering if the super mari0 bros 3 game is dead or simply on hold,
if it's dead then alot of people would be willing to take over,

anyway I like the looks of your lines mappack and all but I don't think I'd download it :P

Mari0Lu1g1
User avatar
Posts: 347
Joined: 10 Mar 2012, 12:08
Reputation: 1

Post » 17 Apr 2012, 03:03

xXxrenhoekxXx wrote:sorry to bug you but I was wandering if the super mari0 bros 3 game is dead or simply on hold,
if it's dead then alot of people would be willing to take over,

anyway I like the looks of your lines mappack and all but I don't think I'd download it :P

Not dead, hibernating...

EDIT:

Favor, can you add these tiles?:
http://www.nesmaps.com/maps/SuperMarioB ... Map2-2.png

Mari0Lu1g1
User avatar
Posts: 347
Joined: 10 Mar 2012, 12:08
Reputation: 1

Post » 30 Apr 2012, 13:55

Oh hai, sorry that I haven't released anything new in a long time, TF2 has dominated most of my free/game time (100+ hours). But don't worry, this is FAR from dead, I will start to get back to it as 3 'o clock today (in EST -5:00). Weekly and Daily Updates will be coming back soon, you stay tuned!

EDIT:

Newest Release!
http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?69ynp6oagv1qlpp

Whats been done:
Checkpoints
Bug Fixes
Pipe Fixes
Enemy Spawn Fixes

Mari0Lu1g1
User avatar
Posts: 347
Joined: 10 Mar 2012, 12:08
Reputation: 1

Post » 01 May 2012, 21:28

Teaser:
Image
Anyone going to respond ._.

Camewel
Posts: 2996
Joined: 02 Feb 2012, 21:32
Reputation: 35

Post » 01 May 2012, 21:54

Posting a teaser of a goomba inside a slope isn't going to make people all excited to play it.

Mari0Lu1g1
User avatar
Posts: 347
Joined: 10 Mar 2012, 12:08
Reputation: 1

Post » 02 May 2012, 00:23

Camewel wrote:Posting a teaser of a goomba inside a slope isn't going to make people all excited to play it.

Well Slopes are only visual, until my Mari0 1.7 comes out, you'll have to wait

Camewel
Posts: 2996
Joined: 02 Feb 2012, 21:32
Reputation: 35

Post » 02 May 2012, 00:26

By that you mean Mari0 SE right? (Mari0: Sarcastic Existence).

Mari0Lu1g1
User avatar
Posts: 347
Joined: 10 Mar 2012, 12:08
Reputation: 1

Post » 02 May 2012, 00:33

Camewel wrote:By that you mean Mari0 SE right? (Mari0: Sarcastic Existence).

What your trying to say is that you don't believe in the new update?
And yes I do mean Mari0: SE

Maurice
Stabyourself.net
Posts: 2142
Joined: 01 Feb 2012, 20:19
Reputation: 102

Post » 02 May 2012, 07:50

There's no guarantee slopes will be in SE.

Mari0Lu1g1
User avatar
Posts: 347
Joined: 10 Mar 2012, 12:08
Reputation: 1

Post » 02 May 2012, 21:12

Maurice wrote:There's no guarantee slopes will be in SE.

That made my day :I, hopefully they'll be added at some point, or you give the code out for people to finish


Return to “Mapping”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron