Streaming game development: https://www.twitch.tv/stabyourself Image

Not Dr Mario v1

Feel free to showcase your own projects!
renhoek
User avatar
Posts: 4559
Joined: 11 Feb 2012, 10:04
Reputation: 215

Post » 16 Jul 2015, 05:50

So I spent about a week working on doing something I'm surprised no one else has yet.
Image

Download
https://www.dropbox.com/s/yxd4poxieab18 ... o.zip?dl=1
Enjoy, there's information in the read me.
Last edited by renhoek on 16 Jul 2015, 14:10, edited 2 times in total.

TurretBot
User avatar
Posts: 4636
Joined: 15 Mar 2012, 23:18
Reputation: 716
Contact:

Post » 16 Jul 2015, 06:28

renhoek wrote:no one else has yet.

rude

anyway here's my critisism
  • why is it widescreened?
  • why does the speed option also effect everything? aka low speed = moon physics
  • minor thing but there's no way to get out of the game other than losing or closing it
  • the physics in general are a bit off, i assume this isn't your fault
  • if you press backspace you win

renhoek
User avatar
Posts: 4559
Joined: 11 Feb 2012, 10:04
Reputation: 215

Post » 16 Jul 2015, 14:34

TurretBot wrote:
renhoek wrote:no one else has yet.

rude

anyway here's my critisism
  • why is it widescreened?
  • why does the speed option also effect everything? aka low speed = moon physics
  • minor thing but there's no way to get out of the game other than losing or closing it
  • the physics in general are a bit off, i assume this isn't your fault
  • if you press backspace you win

1.) When I started working on the game I wanted it support widescreen, in the next version I'll add a an option to switch between the two. (pressing F4 goes to full screen in case people missed it in the readme)
2.) the speed's the gravity, I don't really have an issue with this because in my opinion it adds to the physics aspect of the game, if enough people think otherwise I'll look into changing it.
3.) if you mean in game you can press R to go back to the title, in retrospect I should have probably made this go to the menu screen, my bad.
4.) Physics are wrong how? I am using a physics engine so if it's a problem with hitboxes I can take a look if something's not working correctly.
5.) Fixed.

I made a new version in the first post, it doesn't fix all your issues, just some of them since it's late right now where I am and because I don't feel like doing it right now.
if fixes an oversight and now you can quit the game by pressing esc.

alesan99
User avatar
Posts: 1651
Joined: 30 May 2013, 21:42
Reputation: 278
Contact:

Post » 16 Jul 2015, 14:56

This is great!
Almost finished it on my first try but the yellow virus got buried.

Also I heard the "chill" music fade out so you should trim it with audacity so it loops properly.

FuriousHedgehog
User avatar
Posts: 783
Joined: 31 May 2014, 02:14
Reputation: 297
Contact:

Post » 17 Jul 2015, 02:11

Well, I edited some sprites for the title:
Image
In the game:
Image
I hope you serve Ren.

renhoek
User avatar
Posts: 4559
Joined: 11 Feb 2012, 10:04
Reputation: 215

Post » 17 Jul 2015, 05:33

@alesan yeah sorry about the music looping issue, it's more to do with the limitation of the sound system in gamemaker so I gotta look into finding a sound system that'll let me loop music properly.

@Furious Those are pretty cool, I appreciate the effort but I'll be doing my own thing for the title screen. Later on.

GreenCo
User avatar
Posts: 32
Joined: 17 Aug 2015, 09:11
Reputation: 0

Post » 20 Aug 2015, 00:21

THIS IS NOT TETRIS 2'S ROTATION ON DR MARIO OMG

Mari0_Player
User avatar
Posts: 415
Joined: 23 Sep 2013, 00:48
Reputation: 48

Post » 25 Aug 2015, 13:20

GreenCo wrote:THIS IS NOT TETRIS 2'S ROTATION ON DR MARIO OMG

Thanks for helping us out there, Captain Obvious.

TheDarkerTheLighter
User avatar
Posts: 21
Joined: 25 Jan 2015, 04:15
Reputation: 0
Contact:

Post » 26 Aug 2015, 06:00

Mari0_Player wrote:
GreenCo wrote:THIS IS NOT TETRIS 2'S ROTATION ON DR MARIO OMG

Thanks for helping us out there, Captain Obvious.

He's very helpful, I must say.

renhoek
User avatar
Posts: 4559
Joined: 11 Feb 2012, 10:04
Reputation: 215

Post » 18 Mar 2016, 06:28

Been forever since I've done anything with this.

if you hold Up, Down, A and Start will activate a cheat menu. Have fun.


Return to “Game development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron